French Dutch English German Spanish
Story 19: Listening to nature
Sunrise over the Blonville-Villers marshBruno Juignet

On the paths of a forest,
in the wetlands of a swamp
or in the heart of a protected natural site,
we gain height, savor the silence,
listen to birdsong for a return to basics.

The Marsh of
Blonville-Villers
______________

 

By the sea, the Blonville-Villers Marsh lends a magical setting to an extremely rich flora and fauna. On its 110 hectares of wet meadows, canals and ditches grow hygrophilic plants such as phragmites, rushes and sedges. This environment provides shelter, food and "resting places" to more than 150 species of birds, permanent residents or passing through to their breeding or wintering grounds. Birds, white storks, amphibians and reptiles are some of the species that can be observed in their natural environment during a walk.

The flora and fauna of the Marais de Blonville-Villers, to discover on foot, by bike or on horsebackEtienne Chognard / Marc Chazelle
The flora and fauna of the Marais de Blonville-Villers, to discover on foot, by bike or on horseback © Etienne Chognard / Marc Chazelle
Mont-Canisy
______________

 

Located on the heights of Deauville, in Bénerville-sur-Mer, the Mont-Canisy offers an exceptional panorama, overlooking the Côte Fleurie at a height of 110 meters. Its strategic position, on a hill facing the bay of the Seine, has earned it several times to be transformed into a coastal artillery position. Today it is a natural site protected by the Coastal Conservatory which watches over its flora and fauna. It is home to over 200 species of plants, many of which are protected. Kingdom of orchids, 13 species also flourish there from April to July. Among its fauna reside three species of birds protected regionally (nightingale, spotted locustelle, polyglot hypolaïs), several families of butterflies and a nationally protected snake (smooth crown). With its military works and natural caves, the site also favors the presence of bats.

The batteries of Mont-CanisyEtienne Chognard
The batteries of Mont-Canisy © Etienne Chognard
The forest of
Saint-Gatien-des-Bois
______________

 

With an area of ​​3500 hectares and a perimeter of 28 km, the forest of Saint-Gatien-des-Bois is the largest in Calvados. It has known many owners over the centuries, passing into the royal domain, belonging to the nobility, sometimes divided up and sold to various buyers. Ulrich Guttinger, Swiss writer, also found a haven of peace in his chalet and invited the great names of literature: Victor and Adèle Hugo, Alfred de Musset, Charles-Augustin Sainte-Beuve, Alexandre Dumas, Gustave Flaubert, Charles Baudelaire. .. Today, several private owners share the forest, mainly for wood production or as a hunting area.

Hiking in the forest of Saint-Gatien-des-BoisEtienne Chognard
Hike in the Forest of Saint-Gatien-des-Bois © Etienne Chognard
Address Book

______________

 

Blonville-Villers Marsh
14640 VILLERS-SUR-MER
The Marais de Blonville-Villers is freely accessible all year round. ❤ To do: a hike on the 7,5 km pedestrian circuit to discover the flora and fauna of Blonville-sur-Mer, between marshes and countryside. See theitinerary by clicking here.

 LEARN MORE 

Mont-Canisy
Chemin de Touques, 14910 BENERVILLE-SUR-MER
Mont-Canisy is free access all year round.
Access to the level of the Bénerville-sur-Mer church, follow "Batteries du Mont-Canisy" ​​(entry at the level of the Chemin du Mont-Canisy from the Chemin de la Touques). Park at the barrier and walk up to the belvedere (250 meters).
Other entrance: Chemin de la Fontaine Marie from Chemin des Enclos.
❤ To do: historical tours are organized by the Friends of Mont-Canisy; all dates here. Also, a 3,6 km walking circuit linking Blonville-sur-Mer and Bénerville-sur-Mer from Mont-Canisy awaits nature lovers.
Ask for the circuit on sale in Tourist Information Offices inDeauville or see theitinerary by clicking here.

 LEARN MORE 

Forest of Saint-Gatien-des-Bois
14130 SAINT-GATIEN-DES-BOIS
❤ To do: start of the 9,5 km hiking trail near the Town Hall, accessible outside the hunting season, which allows you to discover a small plot. Ask for the circuit on sale in Tourist Information Offices inDeauville or see theitinerary by clicking here.

 LEARN MORE 

21 essentials

to share

Histoire 19 : Ecouter la nature
Lever de soleil sur le marais de Blonville-VillersBruno Juignet

Sur les sentiers d’une forêt,
dans les terres humides d’un marais
ou au cœur d’un site naturel protégé,
on prend de la hauteur, savoure le silence,
écoute le chant des oiseaux pour un retour aux sources.

Le Marais de
Blonville-Villers
______________

 

Au bord de la mer, le Marais de Blonville-Villers prête un décor magique à une faune et une flore d’une extrême richesse. Sur ses 110 hectares de prairies humides, de canaux et de fossés poussent des plantes hygrophiles telles que des phragmites, joncs et carex. Ce milieu fournit abris, nourriture et "aires de repos" à plus de 150 espèces d’oiseaux, résidents permanents ou de passage vers leur lieu de reproduction ou d’hivernage. Oiseaux, cigognes blanches, amphibiens et reptiles sont quelques-unes des espèces que l’on peut observer dans leur milieu naturel lors d’une balade.

La faune et la flore du Marais de Blonville-Villers, à découvrir en balade à pied, à vélo ou à chevalEtienne Chognard / Marc Chazelle
La faune et la flore du Marais de Blonville-Villers, à découvrir en balade à pied, à vélo ou à cheval © Etienne Chognard / Marc Chazelle
Le Mont-Canisy
______________

 

Situé sur les hauteurs de Deauville, à Bénerville-sur-Mer, le Mont-Canisy offre un panorama exceptionnel, dominant la Côte Fleurie à 110 mètres de hauteur. Sa position stratégique, sur une colline face à la baie de Seine, lui valut à plusieurs reprises d’être transformé en position d’artillerie côtière. C’est aujourd’hui un site naturel protégé par le Conservatoire du littoral qui veille sur sa flore et sa faune. Il abrite plus de 200 espèces de plantes, dont plusieurs sont protégées. Royaume des orchidées, 13 espèces s’y épanouissent également d’avril à juillet. Parmi sa faune résident trois espèces d’oiseaux protégées régionalement (rossignol philomèle, locustelle tachetée, hypolaïs polyglotte), plusieurs familles de papillons et une couleuvre (coronelle lisse) protégée nationalement. Avec ses ouvrages militaires et grottes naturelles, le site favorise aussi la présence de chauves-souris.

Les batteries du Mont-CanisyEtienne Chognard
Les batteries du Mont-Canisy © Etienne Chognard
La forêt de
Saint-Gatien-des-Bois
______________

 

Avec une superficie de 3500 hectares et un périmètre de 28 km, la forêt de Saint-Gatien-des-Bois est la plus grande du Calvados. Elle connut de nombreux propriétaires au fil des siècles, passant dans le domaine royal, appartenant à la noblesse, tantôt morcelée et revendue à divers acquéreurs. Ulrich Guttinger, écrivain suisse, y trouva également un havre de paix dans son chalet et invita les grands noms de la littérature : Victor et Adèle Hugo, Alfred de Musset, Charles-Augustin Sainte-Beuve, Alexandre Dumas, Gustave Flaubert, Charles Baudelaire... Aujourd’hui, plusieurs propriétaires privés se partagent la forêt, essentiellement pour la production de bois ou comme domaine de chasse.

Randonnée dans la Forêt de Saint-Gatien-des-BoisEtienne Chognard
Randonnée dans la Forêt de Saint-Gatien-des-Bois © Etienne Chognard
Carnet d'adresses

__________________

 

Marais de Blonville-Villers
14640 VILLERS-SUR-MER
Le Marais de Blonville-Villers est en accès libre toute l’année. ❤ A faire : une randonnée sur le circuit pédestre de 7,5 km pour découvrir la faune et la flore de Blonville-sur-Mer, entre marais et campagne. Voir l'itinéraire en cliquant ici.

 En savoir plus 

Mont-Canisy
Chemin de Touques, 14910 BENERVILLE-SUR-MER
Le Mont-Canisy est en accès libre toute l’année.
Accès au niveau de l’église de Bénerville-sur-Mer, suivre "Batteries du Mont-Canisy" (entrée au niveau du Chemin du Mont-Canisy depuis le Chemin de la Touques). Se garer au niveau de la barrière et monter à pied jusqu’au belvédère (250 mètres).
Autre entrée : Chemin de la Fontaine Marie depuis le Chemin des Enclos.
❤ A faire : des visites historiques sont organisées par les Amis du Mont-Canisy ; toutes les dates ici. Également, un circuit pédestre de 3,6 km reliant Blonville-sur-Mer et Bénerville-sur- Mer depuis le Mont-Canisy attend les amoureux de la nature.
Demander le circuit en vente dans les Bureaux d’Information Touristique inDeauville ou voir l’itinéraire en cliquant ici.

 En savoir plus 

Forêt de Saint-Gatien-des-Bois
14130 SAINT-GATIEN-DES-BOIS
❤ A faire : départ du sentier de randonnée de 9,5 km près de la Mairie, accessible hors période de chasse, qui permet d’en découvrir une petite parcelle. Demander le circuit en vente dans les Bureaux d’Information Touristique inDeauville ou voir l’itinéraire en cliquant ici.

 En savoir plus 

21 incontournables

à partager
Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture