French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Thomas hobbs

Musician

Thomas Hobbs is one of the leading baroque tenors of his generation. Regularly performing in Europe and North America as a soloist in key works from the 2018th, 19th and XNUMXth centuries, Hobbs frequently works with, among others, Philippe Herreweghe and his famous ensemble Collegium Vocale Gent, and the Netherlands Bach Society. Among the highlights of the XNUMX/XNUMX season are Vespers by Monteverdi with RIAS Kammerchor in Japan, Polish baroque music by GG Gorczyck with Wrocław Baroque ensemble, Passion according to Saint John of Bach with Le Banquet Celeste, as well as several concerts with Collegium Vocale Gent and Gli Angeli Geneva.

Born in Exeter, Thomas Hobbs studied at the Royal College of Music under the tutelage of Neil Mackie, where he received the Peter Pears and Mason scholarships from the MRC, and at the Royal Academy of Music under Ryland Davies, where he received a Kohn Bach scholarship in addition to a full scholarship. He also received a Susan Chilcott Fellowship, was named a young artist by the Royal Philharmonic Society, and was an associate artist with the Classical Opera Company. He is also a member of the prestigious Academy of the Aix-en-Provence Festival, where he performs in concert with Louis Langrée and the Camerata Salzburg.

His other concerts include Haydn Creation with Israel Camerata in Jerusalem and with the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Cantatas of Bach, the Mass in B minor and the Easter Oratorio with Nederlandse Bachvereniging, Bach with the Musikpodium Stuttgart, Vespers by Monteverdi with the Academy of Ancient Music. Highlights from the past include Damon Acis and Galatea with Dunedin Consort, Bach cantatas with De Nederlandse Bachverenigning and Ensemble Pygmalion, Bach's Christmas Oratorio with Tonkünstler-Orchester Niederösterreich, Tonhalle Orchester Zürich and Le Concert Lorrain .

Hobbs' lyrical roles include a critically-acclaimed Telemachus in The Return of Ulysses in a new production for the English National Opera directed by Jonathan Cohen, Apollo and Shepherd in Monteverdi's Orfeo, in semi-staged performance with Richard Egarr and AAM, the title role in Albert Herring and Ferrando Così fan tutte. A passionate recitalist, among the best, we can mention Brett Dean Winter Songs at the Cheltenham Festival, Vaughan Williams On Wenlock Edge with the Edinburgh Quartet, Schubert Die Schöne Müllerin and Schumann LiederkreisOp. 39, a recital of songs by Mozart at Kings Place in London, a recital of English songs and German lieder for the Festival Accademia delle Crete Senesi in Tuscany, and, more recently, songs of Wolf at the Oxford Lieder Festival and a recital at Ryedale Festival with Christopher Glynn.

Hobbs' discography continues to grow: Bach Mass in B minor with CVG and Dunedin Consort, Bach Motets, Leipzig cantatas and Christmas Oratorio with CVG, Christmas Oratorio with Dunedin Consort, Handel Acis and Galatea and Esther with Dunedin Consort and Beethoven Mass in C with Stuttgart Kammerchor. His hymn recordings of Handel Chandos with Stephen Layton and the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment and Mozart's Requiem with John Butt and the Dunedin Consort were unanimously praised, the latter receiving the 2014 Gramophone Prize for best choral recording. More recently, he released a CD with Herreweghe / Collegium Vocale Gent - Bach, 'Sonn und Child' on the PHI label.

My travel book

Thomas Hobbs

Musicien

Thomas Hobbs est l'un des ténors baroque marquant de sa génération. Se produisant régulièrement en Europe et en Amérique du Nord comme soliste dans des œuvres clés des XVIe, XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles, Hobbs travaille fréquemment avec, entre autres, Philippe Herreweghe et son célèbre ensemble Collegium Vocale Gent, et la Netherlands Bach Society. Parmi les temps forts de la saison 2018/19 figurent les Vêpres de Monteverdi avec RIAS Kammerchor au Japon, musique baroque polonaise de G.G. Gorczyck avec Wrocław Ensemble baroque, Passion selon saint Jean de Bach avec Le Banquet Celeste, ainsi que plusieurs concerts avec Collegium Vocale Gent et Gli Angeli Genève.

Né à Exeter, Thomas Hobbs a étudié au Royal College of Music sous la tutelle de Neil Mackie, où il a reçu les bourses Peter Pears et Mason de la MRC, et à la Royal Academy of Music sous Ryland Davies, où il a reçu une bourse Kohn Bach en plus d'une bourse complète. Il a également reçu une bourse Susan Chilcott, a été nommé jeune artiste par la Royal Philharmonic Society et a été artiste associé de la Classical Opera Company. Il est également membre de la prestigieuse Académie du Festival d'Aix-en-Provence, où il se produit en concert avec Louis Langrée et la Camerata Salzburg.

Parmi ses autres concerts, citons Haydn Creation avec Israel Camerata à Jérusalem et avec le London Philharmonic Orchestra, les Cantates de Bach, la Messe en si mineur et l'Oratorio de Pâques avec Nederlandse Bachvereniging, Bach avec le Musikpodium Stuttgart, les Vêpres de Monteverdi avec l'Academy of Ancient Music. Parmi les temps forts du passé, citons Damon Acis et Galatea avec Dunedin Consort, les cantates de Bach avec De Nederlandse Bachverenigning et Ensemble Pygmalion, l'Oratorio de Noël de Bach avec le Tonkünstler-Orchester Niederösterreich, le Tonhalle Orchester Zürich et Le Concert Lorrain.

Parmi les rôles lyriques de Hobbs, mentionnons un Telemachus dans The Return of Ulysses, acclamé par la critique, dans une nouvelle production pour le English National Opera dirigée par Jonathan Cohen, Apollo and Shepherd dans Orfeo de Monteverdi, en représentation semi-stagée avec Richard Egarr et AAM, le rôle-titre dans Albert Herring et Ferrando Così fan tutte. Un récitaliste passionné, parmi les meilleurs, on peut citer Brett Dean Winter Songs au Cheltenham Festival, Vaughan Williams On Wenlock Edge avec le Edinburgh Quartet, Schubert Die Schöne Müllerin et Schumann LiederkreisOp. 39, un récital de chansons de Mozart au Kings Place de Londres, un récital de chansons anglaises et de lieder allemands pour le Festival Accademia delle Crete Senesi en Toscane, et, plus récemment, des chansons de Wolf au Oxford Lieder Festival et un récital au Ryedale Festival avec Christopher Glynn.

La discographie de Hobbs ne cesse de s'agrandir : Bach Messe en si mineur avec CVG et Dunedin Consort, Bach Motets, cantates de Leipzig et Oratorio de Noël avec CVG, Oratorio de Noël avec Dunedin Consort, Handel Acis et Galatea et Esther avec Dunedin Consort et Beethoven Mass en do avec Stuttgart Kammerchor. Ses enregistrements d'hymnes de Handel Chandos avec Stephen Layton et l'Orchestre du Siècle des Lumières et de Requiem de Mozart avec John Butt et le Dunedin Consort ont été unanimement salués, ce dernier ayant reçu le Prix Gramophone 2014 du meilleur enregistrement choral. Plus récemment, il a sorti un CD avec Herreweghe/Collegium Vocale Gent - Bach,'Sonn und Child' sur le label PHI.