Le
December 02, 2019

Tribute to André Hamburg

A few months before the opening of the André Hamburg Museum in June 2020 in the heart of the Franciscans, the City of Deauville paid tribute to the life and work of the artist.

The White Chira

Sunday, December 1, the City of Deauville dedicated the day to André Hambourg, starting with a three-part conversation with Lydia Harambourg (historian, art critic and writer, specialist in XNUMXth and XNUMXth century painting), Lynda Frenois ( director of the Musée des Franciscaines) and Cécile Le Brenne (conservation assistant and collections manager). and previewed the work written by Nicole Hamburg, wife of the painter, entitled André Hambourg, his canvas stories… The book covers the intimate life of this humanist and invites us to get as close as possible to the creative process of the artist, Norman by adoption who installed his easel on the boards and made Deauville one of its privileged home ports in from the 50s. This day is a tribute to the exceptional donation of 539 paintings, made in 2011 by Nicole Hambourg to the City of Deauville, composed of 539 paintings. Since then, this collection has continued to grow with the donation of numerous drawings (3155 inventoried today) and 657 works from the artist's personal collection, thus enabling the André Hamburg Museum to be created.

 

 

 

This work, presented in preview, is a great meeting with an artist whose intense creativity takes us through the XNUMXth century. Each canvas is a reflection of a moment in the life of the painter, of a story steeped in history.
Official painter of the Navy, André Hambourg traveled around the world while being portrayed as a man faithful to Normandy, adopted region which inspired hundreds of paintings, and especially Deauville where he installed his easel in front of the beach cabin n ° 181.
André Hambourg's "Canvas Stories" also show us the importance of his meetings with people whose faces are sometimes immortalized in his paintings. This humanist artist has always been close and inspired by all the people he meets, throughout his life. We constantly feel the sympathy of the painter who leaves in the memory of those who knew him the image of a cordial and warm man. His many friends, described in these pages, also testify to the friendly loyalty he has shown throughout his existence.

Enlarge
Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Lynda Frenois

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Lydia Harambourg

Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Nicole Hamburg and Admiral François Bellec

Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Cecile Le Brenne

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Nicole Hamburg

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Nicole Hamburg

Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Lower

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Know everything

on the future museum

André Hamburg
Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices:

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Residence of the Clock
Empress Eugenie wharf
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean-Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

ANY TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Toques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Louis Delamare Promenade
(behind the aid station)
14800 Tourgeville
See opening hours

Hommage à André Hambourg

A quelques mois de l’ouverture du Musée André Hambourg en juin 2020 au cœur des Franciscaines, la Ville de Deauville a rendu hommage à la vie et l’Œuvre de l'artiste.

La Chira Blanche

Dimanche 1er décembre, la Ville de Deauville a dédié la journée à André Hambourg en commançant par une conversation à trois voix avec Lydia Harambourg (historienne, critique d'art et écrivain, spécialiste de la peinture du XIXe et XXe siècle), Lynda Frenois (directrice du Musée des Franciscaines) et Cécile Le Brenne (assistante de conservation et chargée des collections). et a dévoilé en avant-première l’ouvrage écrit par Nicole Hambourg, épouse du peintre, intitulé André Hambourg, ses histoires de toiles… Le livre parcourt la vie intime de cet humaniste et invite à entrer au plus près du processus créatif de l’artiste, normand d’adoption qui installa son chevalet sur les Planches et fit de Deauville l’un de ses ports d’attache privilégiés à partir des années 50. Cette journée est un hommage à la donation exceptionnelle de 539 peintures, faite en 2011 par Nicole Hambourg à la Ville de Deauville, composée de 539 peintures. Depuis, cette collection n’a cessé de s’enrichir avec la donation de nombreux dessins (3155 inventoriés aujourd’hui) et de 657 œuvres de la collection personnelle de l’artiste, permettant ainsi la réalisation du Musée André Hambourg.

 

 

 

Cet ouvrage, présenté en avant-première, est une formidable rencontre avec un artiste dont l’intense créativité nous fait parcourir tout le XXe siècle. Chaque toile est le reflet d’un instant de la vie du peintre, d’une histoire ancrée dans l’Histoire.
Peintre officiel de la Marine, André Hambourg a voyagé à travers le monde tout en étant dépeint comme un homme fidèle à la Normandie, région d’adoption qui lui a inspiré des centaines de toiles, et tout particulièrement Deauville où il installait son chevalet devant la cabine de plage n°181.
Les « Histoires de toiles » d’André Hambourg nous font prendre également la mesure de l’importance de ses rencontres avec des personnes dont les visages sont parfois immortalisés dans ses tableaux. Cet artiste humaniste s’est toujours montré proche et inspiré de tous les gens qu’il rencontre, tout au long de sa vie. On ressent en permanence la sympathie du peintre qui laisse dans le souvenir de ceux qui l’ont connu l’image d’un homme cordial et chaleureux. Ses nombreux amis, décrits dans ces pages, témoignent également de la fidélité amicale dont il a fait preuve durant toute son existence.

Agrandir
Sandrine Boyer Engel

Lynda Frenois

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Lydia Harambourg

Sandrine Boyer Engel
Sandrine Boyer Engel

Nicole Hambourg et l'Amiral François Bellec

Sandrine Boyer Engel
Sandrine Boyer Engel
Sandrine Boyer Engel

Cécile Le Brenne

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Nicole Hambourg

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Nicole Hambourg

Sandrine Boyer Engel
Réduire

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Sandrine Boyer Engel

Tout savoir

sur le futur musée

André Hambourg