French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Francoise Huguier

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2017

It's not logical, but it's normal © Françoise Huguier, for Planche (s) Contact 2017
It's not logical, but it's normal © Françoise Huguier, for Planche (s) Contact 2017

It's not logical but it's normal

Françoise Huguier crosses Africa from East to West in the footsteps of Michel Leiris in 1988. In 1992, she discovered Malian photographers Seydou Keita and Malick Sidibé and in 1994 created the first Biennial of African photography in Bamako.
The adventure of fashion, backstage and in workshops for 25 years, earned him publications in 1983 in Liberation, then Vogue, The New York Times magazine, ID Women's wear, Marie Claire…
From 2001 to 2007, she photographed community apartments in Saint Petersburg. A book on this work entitled Kommunalki was released at Actes Sud in 2008. Then a film behind closed doors: Kommunalka (production Les films d'Ici, presented at Cannes in 2008) and a homonymous exhibition at the Rencontres d'Arles in the same year.
In 2014 a monographic exhibition was dedicated to him at the European House of Photography, Pinch me I dream. In the same year, she published her autobiography: Finger and Eye - Portrait of a Photographer - Sabine Wespieser Editor.

Françoise Hugier about her exhibition, It's not logical but it's normal :
"Since 2010, the Festival Planche (s) Contact has declined the theme of Deauville, so I proposed to photograph in social housing, in line with my research around Paris for the society of Greater Paris. This means meeting a family for a day, listening to it and photographing it in its interior environment. Thanks to the communal social action center and the town hall teams, I was able to photograph four families in four apartments. This interested me all the more since we were in the midst of elections, presidential and legislative, and that no candidate really spoke of this population, which is still abandoned.

The important thing is to gain confidence before taking pictures. First in a casual conversation, I ask the locals about their life, their family ... I too am engaged in an exchange. While I speak, I look everywhere, to anticipate what I will frame, to take a picture. After a while, the women offer to visit their apartment, and tell me about their difficulties, their joys, their struggles. When I made portraits of directors for Liberation, I attended the interview, which allowed me to know the body language of the character and imagine the photo. I practice in the same way today, except that I also do "interviews". Then it becomes a game between the person I photograph, and me. I propose a situation, she suggests another, it is a collaboration.

I want to continue this photographic research to go beyond the clichés on Deauville, to show another facet. Maybe also with a documentary, like I did on the community apartments in Saint Petersburg."

My travel book

Françoise Huguier

Photographe invitée au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2017

C'est pas logique, mais c'est normal ©Françoise Huguier, pour Planche(s) Contact 2017
C'est pas logique, mais c'est normal ©Françoise Huguier, pour Planche(s) Contact 2017

C'est pas logique mais c'est normal

Françoise Huguier traverse l’Afrique d’Est en Ouest sur les traces de Michel Leiris en 1988. En 1992, elle découvre les photographes maliens Seydou Keita et Malick Sidibé et crée en 1994 la première Biennale de la photographie africaine à Bamako.
L’aventure de la mode, backstage et dans les ateliers pendant 25 ans, lui vaut des parutions dès 1983 dans Libération, puis Vogue, The New York Times magazine, ID Women’s wear, Marie Claire…
De 2001 à 2007, elle photographie les appartements communautaires à Saint-Pétersbourg. Un livre sur ce travail intitulé Kommunalki sort chez Actes Sud en 2008. Puis un film en huis clos : Kommunalka (production Les films d’Ici, présenté à Cannes en 2008) et une exposition homonyme aux Rencontres d’Arles en cette même année.
En 2014 une exposition monographique lui est consacrée à la Maison européenne de la photographie, Pince moi je rêve. Elle publie la même année son autobiographie : Au doigt et à l’œil – Portrait d’une photographe – Sabine Wespieser Editeur.

Françoise Hugier à propos de son exposition, C'est pas logique mais c'est normal
"Depuis 2010, le Festival Planche(s) Contact décline la thématique de Deauville, j'ai donc proposé de photographier dans les logements sociaux, dans la lignée de mes recherches autour de Paris pour la société du Grand Paris. C'est à dire rencontrer pendant une journée une famille, l'écouter et la photographier dans son environnement intérieur. Grâce au centre communal d'action social et aux équipes de la Mairie, j'ai pu photographier quatre familles, dans quatre appartements. Cela m'intéressait d'autant plus qu'on était en pleine période d'élections, présidentielles et législatives, et qu'aucun candidat ne parlait vraiment de cette population, qui est toujours l'abandonnée. 

L'important est de gagner la confiance avant les prises de vue. D'abord dans une conversation à bâtons rompus, je questionne les habitants sur leur vie, leur famille... Moi aussi je me livre, c'est un échange. Pendant que je parle, je regarde partout, pour anticiper ce que je vais cadrer, prendre en photo. Au bout de quelque temps, les femmes me proposent de visiter leur appartement, et me racontent leurs difficultés, leurs joies, leurs luttes. Quand je faisais des portraits de réalisateurs pour Libération, j'assistais à l'interview, ce qui me permettait de connaître la gestuelle du personnage et d'imaginer la photo. Je pratique de la même manière aujourd'hui, sauf que je fais aussi les "interviews". Ensuite, ça devient un jeu entre la personne que je photographie, et moi. Je propose une situation, elle m'en suggère une autre, c'est une collaboration. 

J'ai envie de continuer cette recherche photographique pour aller au-delà des clichés sur Deauville, en montrer une autre facette. Peut-être aussi avec un documentaire, comme je l'ai fait sur les appartements communautaires de Saint-Pétersbourg."