French Dutch English German Spanish

In the footsteps of the film "Monkey in Winter"

Walking tour

Shot in 1962, the film "Un Singe en Hiver" by Henri Verneuil with Jean Gabin and Jean-Paul Belmondo was mostly filmed in Villerville. The filming locations are still visible today, symbolized by totems in the center of Villerville, renamed Tigreville for the occasion.

Distance:

1 km
The Normand Cabaret
Cabaret Normand is the cafe where Jean-Paul Belmondo (Fouquet) orders a Picon-beer after arriving in Tigreville (Villerville). After having drunk several, he becomes drunk and a conversation begins with the regulars of the cafe come together and praise the merits of their village.
Cabin Street
VILLERVILLE
Stella Hotel
The Stella Hotel is run by Albert Quentin (played by Jean Gabin), a former rifleman, with his wife Suzanne (played by Suzanne Flon). Alcoholic, Albert Quentin promises his wife that if the hotel resists the bombings of the Second World War he quits alcohol. The hotel is spared and he must keep his promise.
Street of Maréchal Foch
VILLERVILLE
Gendarmerie of Tigreville
It is in front of the gendarmerie of Tigreville (Villerville) that Gabriel Fouquet (Jean-Paul Belmondo), slightly drunk, plays bullfighters in the middle of the cars with his jacket. This unconscious game brings him before the gendarmerie.
Street of Maréchal Foch
VILLERVILLE
Race
The bullfighting scene features Gabriel Fouchet (Jean-Paul Belmondo) who, drunk, lives a waking dream in Spain. He takes himself for a bullfighter and plays a bullfight with his jacket in the middle of the cars on Rue du Général Leclerc.
General Leclerc Street
VILLERVILLE
Lookout
The lookout is located at the end of the Rue de la Cabine, at the corner of the Cabaret Normand and gives access, by stairs, to the beach dike. Gabriel Fouquet and Suzanne Quentin come to discuss there because Suzanne fears that Gabriel is a bad influence for her husband.
Cabin Street
VILLERVILLE
At Chic Parisien
After his discussion with Suzanne Quentin (Suzanne Flon) at the level of the lookout, Fouquet (Jean-Paul Belmondo) runs along the beach, goes up the Rue des Bains and arrives at the boutique "Au Chic Parisien," a clothing store to find a garment warm for little girl.
Abel Mahu Street
VILLERVILLE
Villerville Beach
The sandy beach of Villerville stretches for several kilometers towards Honfleur and is only accessible at low tide. For swimming, the beach is unsupervised.
The beach on the side of the Parc des Graves, which is more wild, brings you closer to the cliffs of the Roches Noirs. That of the baths, further east, offers a pleasant promenade, bordered on one side by a long sandy beach, and on the other Villerville dominating the sea from the cliff.

Access to the center of Villerville is difficult by car, we recommend that you reach the beach on foot via Rue de la Cabine (Plage des Bains) and Chemin des Fondrières (Plage des Graves)
The beach is unsupervised throughout the year, be careful when swimming.
Dogs are prohibited from July 1 to August 31 on the beach and on the Villerville promenade between 9 a.m. and 18 p.m. They are only authorized on the so-called grave beach, from the access to the beach at the end of the graves pedestrian path and only on the cliffs side. For horses, a tolerance is granted by a specific access located in Parc des Graves, chemin des Fondrières. At low tide only.
Shellfish fishing is prohibited all year round in the town of Villerville.
VILLERVILLE
Dike tower
The tower at the end of the Villerville dike, facing the sea, appears at the start of the film when Tigreville (Villerville) is under occupation. When the village was bombed, the tower was in flames as well as the facades of Rue Foch.
Rue des Bains
VILLERVILLE

My travel book

Sur les pas du film "Singe en Hiver"

Circuit Pédestre

Tourné en 1962, le film "Un Singe en Hiver" de Henri Verneuil avec Jean Gabin et Jean-Paul Belmondo a été filmé en grande partie à Villerville. Les lieux du tournage sont encore visibles aujourd'hui, symbolisés par des totems dans le centre de Villerville, renommé Tigreville pour l'occasion.

Distance :

1 km
Le Cabaret Normand
Le Cabaret Normand c'est le café où Jean-Paul Belmondo (Fouquet) commande un Picon-Pierre après son arrivée à Tigreville (Villerville). Après en avoir bu plusieurs il devient ivre et une conversation débute avec les habitués du café se rejoignent et vantent les mérites de leur village.
Rue de la Cabine
VILLERVILLE
Hôtel Stella
L'Hôtel Stella est tenu par Albert Quentin (joué par Jean Gabin), un ancien fusilier-marin, avec sa femme Suzanne (jouée par Suzanne Flon). Alcoolique, Albert Quentin promet à sa femme que si l'hôtel résiste aux bombardements de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale il quitte l'alcool. L'hôtel est épargné et il doit alors tenir sa promesse.
Rue du Maréchal Foch
VILLERVILLE
Gendarmerie de Tigreville
C'est devant la gendarmerie de Tigreville (Villerville) que Gabriel Fouquet (Jean-Paul Belmondo), légèrement ivre, joue les toréadors au milieu des voitures avec sa veste. Ce jeu inconscient l'amène devant la gendarmerie.
Rue du Maréchal Foch
VILLERVILLE
Corrida
La scène de la corrida met en scène Gabriel Fouchet (Jean-Paul Belmondo) qui, ivre, vit un rêve éveillé en Espagne. Il se prend pour un toréador et joue une corrida avec sa veste au milieu des voitures de la Rue du Général Leclerc.
Rue du Général Leclerc
VILLERVILLE
Guettoir
Le guettoir se situe au bout de la Rue de la Cabine, à l'angle du Cabaret Normand et donne accès, par des escaliers, à la digue de la plage. Gabriel Fouquet et Suzanne Quentin viennent y discuter car Suzanne craint que Gabriel soit d'une mauvaise influence pour son mari.
Rue de la Cabine
VILLERVILLE
Au Chic Parisien
Après sa discussion avec Suzanne Quentin (Suzanne Flon) au niveua du guettoir, Fouquet (Jean-Paul Belmondo) longe la plage, remonte la Rue des Bains et arriver à la boutique "Au Chic Parisien," un magasin de vêtements pour trouver un vêtement chaud pour fillette.
Rue Abel Mahu
VILLERVILLE
Plage de Villerville
La plage de sable de Villerville s’étend sur plusieurs kilomètres en direction de Honfleur et est seulement accessible à marée basse. Pour la baignade, la plage est non surveillée.
La plage du côté du Parc des Graves, plus sauvage, permet de se rapprocher des falaises des Roches noires. Celle des bains, plus à l'est, offre une agréable promenade, bordée d'un côté d'une longue plage de sable fin, et de l'autre Villerville dominant la mer depuis la falaise.

L’accès dans le centre de Villerville est difficile en voiture, nous vous conseillons de rejoindre la plage à pied par la Rue de la Cabine (plage des Bains) et Chemin des Fondrières (plage des Graves)
La plage est non surveillée tout au long de l'année, soyez prudents en vous baignant.
Les chiens sont interdits du 1er juillet au 31 août sur la plage et sur la promenade de Villerville entre 9h et 18h. Ils sont uniquement autorisés sur la plage dite des graves, depuis l’accès à la plage à l’extrémité du chemin piéton des graves et uniquement côté falaises. Pour les chevaux, une tolérance est accordée par un accès spécifique situé Parc des Graves, chemin des Fondrières. A marée basse uniquement.
La pêche de coquillages est interdite toute l'année sur la commune de Villerville.
VILLERVILLE
Tour de la digue
La tour située au bout de la digue de Villerville, face à la mer, apparaît au début du film lorsque Tigreville (Villerville) est sous l'occupation. Lorsque le village est bombardé la tour est en flammes ainsi que les façades de la Rue Foch.
Rue des Bains
VILLERVILLE