French Dutch English German Spanish

Villerville, discovery tour in 1 hour

Walking tour

Villerville, a small village with character, has a rich and varied history that spans time. Initially a fisherman's village, the village quickly developed with the arrival of the railroad, thus becoming a landmark for artists. Discover the artistic and tourist highlights of Villerville in an hour-long itinerary.

Distance:

2,5 km

Duration:

01:00
Visit of Villerville - Le Calvaire
Le Calvaire de Villerville overlooks Villerville and gave reference to the sailors who went to sea. It was in 1885 that Father Heudier had the idea of ​​building the Calvary. Built in 1888, it offers a clear view of the coast. He has also been the subject of many painters such as Valère Lefebvre, Moutier, Daubigny, Butin or Mozin.
Broken in 1928 by a great storm, it was rebuilt in 1930 in the same place where it is still visible today, opposite the Parc des Graves.
Coastal Route
VILLERVILLE
Visit of Villerville - The Castle
The castle is at the origin of the village, built even before the church. The first castle belonged to Richard de Villerville in the 1195s. It was destroyed during the Hundred Years War and was rebuilt in the 1450s with turrets and loopholes under the orders of Lord Robert de Grente. It was destroyed in 1767 by Louis Jacques Labbey in order to reconstruct a more up-to-date castle in a Louis XIII style.
Since the death of Lord Labbey the castle has passed into the hands of the Legges, Landals and Nétumières, related to Richard de Villerville. It has therefore remained in the same family through the centuries.
Since 1946 the castle has been renamed La Ferme du Château and belongs to the De la Porte des Vaux family which produces biodynamic organic fruit and vegetables.
Castle path
VILLERVILLE
Visit of Villerville - The Parc des Graves
Protected and landscaped, the departmental natural area of ​​Parc des Graves offers 800 meters of footpaths, rest benches, picnic tables, games for children and a gazebo which offers a very beautiful view of the sea.
There are wild plant species, vestiges of the pleasure gardens of yesteryear, as well as recent plantations and ponds. The "Hôtel des Graves" today houses ducks and water hens. The Park is also home to six goats, known as ditch goats, nicknamed "bramble-eaters" for their ability to eat all kinds of plants. Their objective: clear the entire surface and stop the proliferation of brambles and invasive plants on the site. More recently, five Warré hives, inhabited by black bees from Calvados, have been installed in the park in order to help repopulate them.
Before being a nature reserve, the Parc des Graves was a place of habitation for fifteen houses. In 1982 a major landslide forced residents to evacuate the premises.
Coastal Route
VILLERVILLE
Visit of Villerville - Le Lavoir
Today place of life where everyone likes to meet, the washhouse of Villerville dates from the end of the XIXth century, when the borough develops thanks to the arrival of tourists via the rise of the train.
Until the years 1830-1840, Villerville was only a small town with half-timbered houses, bordered by a stream called the Douet. Running water did not exist and it was not until 1892, when the Countess of Landal gave up a plot of land to build the market place and a washhouse that the first hygiene measures appeared.
The washhouse has a typical architecture typical of the nineteenth with a frame covered with slate resting on large cast iron feet. The roof goes around the washhouse and is open on the central part, thus allowing to collect rainwater.
Lavoir Square
VILLERVILLE
Visit of Villerville - Notre-Dame de l'Asomption church
Built after the Castle, the first church in Villerville dates from the 2th century, of which today the massive bell tower, the slatted roof (sloped roof) still exist; and the building choir, in pure Romanesque style. This first building was enlarged in 1871 with two new chapels and the sacristy. New enlargement works occurred in 1900, giving it its particular and unique current form.
The church houses beautiful statues from the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries and a wooden statue of the local Patron Saint Saint-Roch, who, according to legend, treated patients suffering from the plague, a particularly virulent disease at the time, before contracting him. - even this disease, this is why we see him regularly represented with his dog licking his wounds.
It also houses the relics of the local martyr Thomas Jean Montsaint, priest martyr executed on September 2, 1792 at the Abbey of Saint Germain des Prés, for having, during the Terror, refused to take the oath to the Republic (which meant no longer recognizing the authority of the pope). To salute his courage and his faith, he was beatified by Pius XI in 1926. A commemorative plaque sealed in the bell tower of the church recalls his sacrifice and his name was attributed to the first part of "bout du haut".

The church of Villerville also experienced its hour of musical glory. Indeed Gabriel Fauré composed the "Mass of Fishermen of Villerville" which will be performed in the church a first time, without instrument in September 1, then a second time in September 1881.
Church Street
VILLERVILLE
Visit of Villerville - Place du Bouloir
Until 1830 Villerville was only a fishing hamlet with half-timbered houses, the only street of which had no sidewalk or lighting. It was in 1850 that everything changed when the railway moved to Normandy between Paris-Lisieux and then to Trouville-sur-Mer in 1963. It was then easy for Parisians to come and discover the coast and Villerville developed then, especially with the opening of the Hôtel des Bains and the sea bathing establishments. The typical and authentic side of Villerville seduces many artists-painters including Ulysse Butin, Charles François Daubigny and Edouard Jospeh Dantan.
All three have produced numerous paintings on Villerville with the subject of cliffs, the beach, fishermen, Graves and even local folklore. All three stayed in the heart of the village and Dantan lived on Place du Bouloir.
Bouloir Square
VILLERVILLE
Visit of Villerville - The Carrefour du Singe in Winter
In 1962 Henri Verneuil came to Villerville, renamed Tigreville, to shoot the film "A Monkey in Winter" based on the adaptation of the novel by Antoine Blondin. Among the actors Jean-Paul Belmondo, Jean Gabin and Suzanne Flon play the main roles.
The Cabaret Normand is the café where Jean-Paul Belmondo (Fouquet) orders a Picon beer after his arrival in Tigreville (Villerville). After having drunk several he becomes drunk and a conversation begins with the regulars of the cafe meet and extol the merits of their village.
Daubigny Street
VILLERVILLE
Visit of Villerville - The Hôtel des Parisiens
Built in the middle of the 1897th century by the same architect of the Hôtel Flaubert in Trouville-sur-Mer, the Grand Hôtel des Parisiens was a Mecca in Villerville. Deauvillais and locals rushed there for the "five o'clock" and sometimes linger there until dinner, sometimes in the hope of meeting Mistinguett or the Duke of Windsor. Very aside, Oscar Wilde also stayed there in XNUMX.
In the 20s, Abel Mahu, a villager opened a restaurant within the hotel. Classified two stars in the Michelin Guide, the restaurant is one of the best in the department and all of Normandy is thronging its doors. An emblematic figure of Villerville, and also mayor in 1945, the rue des Bains will take its name from his death0
Abel Mahu Street
VILLERVILLE
Visit of Villerville - Le Guettoir
Place du Guettoir is located at the end of rue de la Cabine, the place where fishermen's wives watched their husbands when they returned from fishing. Important place in Villerville, it was featured in several paintings including "Le Guettoir" by Valère Lefèbvre in 1887 or "Pêcheurs à Villerville" by Ferdinand Moutier in 1912 before appearing on the screens in the film "Un Singe en Hiver" by Henri Verneuil in 1962.
Cabin Street
VILLERVILLE
Visit of Villerville - La Digue du Casino
The current dike was built in 1920 in place of the wooden boom, it allows you to walk along the sea even at high tide.
At the end of the dike is the Petit Manoir, a manor that belonged in the middle of the 1939th century to Alexis Godillot, a manufacturing entrepreneur known for his creations of famous military shoes "godillots". Next to it is the old casino built in 1886 in place of the old wooden casino dating from XNUMX.
La Digue
VILLERVILLE
Visit of Villerville - The Pavilion of the Flots
At the end of the dike after the old casino is the Pavillon des Flots, also called La Tour. Resistant to all storms and wars, the tower is present on all the old postcards of Villerville. She also appeared in flames in the film "A Monkey in Winter" by Henri Verneuil.
Rue des Bains
VILLERVILLE
Visit of Villerville - The Allée du Jardin Madame
When Villerville developed with the arrival of the train, many villas emerged in the city center where artists, men of letters or musicians came to stay each summer.
Gabriel Fauré, Charles Gounod or the Queen of Naples come to the villa "Beauregard", Georges Feydeau settles in the villa "Jardin Madame", Mistinguett chooses the villa "des Marmousets" while the actress Paule Andral opts for the villa "The Jasmines".
The Hotel Le Bellevue, located higher, also emerged during this period, in 1910, more modern and comfortable than the first hotels on the coast. This hotel-restaurant, still open today, has a clear view of the sea and the coastline.
Alley of the Jardin Madame
VILLERVILLE
Visit of Villerville - The Town Hall
The Town Hall of Villerville is installed in the buildings of the old presbytery of the city. Before 2000 it was located in the current dormitory of the school.
General Leclerc Street
VILLERVILLE

My travel book

Villerville, circuit découverte en 1h

Circuit Pédestre

Villerville, petit village de caractère, possède une histoire riche et variée qui s'étale dans le temps. D'abord bourg de pêcheur, le village s'est rapidement développé avec l'arrivée du chemin de fer, devenant ainsi un repère pour les artistes. Découvrez les hauts lieux artistiques et touristiques de Villerville en un itinéraire d'une heure.

Distance :

2,5 km

Durée :

01:00
Visite de Villerville - Le Calvaire
Le Calvaire de Villerville domine Villerville et donnait repère aux marins partis en mer. C'est en 1885 que l'Abbé Heudier a eu l'idée de construire le calvaire. Construit en 1888, il offre une vue dégagé sur le littoral. Il a d'ailleurs été le sujet de nombreux peintres comme Valère Lefebvre, Moutier, Daubigny, Butin ou Mozin.
Brisé en 1928 par une grande tempête il est reconstruit en 1930 au même endroit auquel il est toujours visible aujourd'hui, en face du Parc des Graves.
Route du Littoral
VILLERVILLE
Visite de Villerville - Le Château
Le château est à l'origine du village, construit avant même l'église. Le premier château appartenait à Richard de Villerville dans les années 1195. Il est détruit lors de la Guerre de Cent Ans et est reconstruit dans les années 1450 avec des tourelles et meurtrières sous les ordres du seigneur Robert de Grente. Celui-ci fut détruit en 1767 par Louis Jacques Labbey afin de reconstruire un château plus au goût du jour dans un style Louis XIII.
Depuis la mort du seigneur Labbey le château est passé entre les mains des Legge, des Landal et des Nétumières, apparentés à Richard de Villerville. Il est donc resté dans la même famille à travers les siècles.
Depuis 1946 le château est renommé La Ferme du Château et appartient à la famille De la Porte des Vaux qui produit des fruits et légumes biologiques en biodynamie.
Chemin du Château
VILLERVILLE
Visite de Villerville - Le Parc des Graves
Protégé, et aménagé, l’espace naturel départemental du Parc des Graves offre 800 mètres de chemins piétonniers, des bancs de repos, des tables de pique-nique, des jeux pour enfants et un belvédère qui offre une très belle vue sur la mer.
On y trouve des espèces végétales sauvages, des vestiges des jardins d’agrément d’autrefois, ainsi que des plantations récentes et des mares. L’"Hôtel des Graves" aujourd’hui abrite canards et poules d’eau. Le Parc accueille également six chèvres, dites chèvres des fossés, surnommées les"croqueuses de ronces" pour leur capacité à ingurgiter toutes sortes de végétaux. Leur objectif : débroussailler toute la surface et stopper la prolifération des ronces et des plantes invasives sur le site. Plus récemment, cinq ruches de Warré, habitées par des abeilles noires du Calvados, ont été installées dans le parc afin de participer à leur repeuplement.
Avant d'être une réserve naturelle, le Parc des Graves était un lieu d'habitations pour une quinzaine de maisons. En 1982 un glissement de terrain important contraint les habitants à évacuer les lieux.
Route du Littoral
VILLERVILLE
Visite de Villerville - Le Lavoir
Aujourd'hui lieu de vie où tous aiment se retrouver, le lavoir de Villerville date de la fin du XIXe siècle, lorsque le bourg se développement grâce à l'arrivée de touristes via l'essor du train.
Jusqu'aux années 1830-1840, Villerville n'est qu'un petit bourg aux maisons faites en pans de bois, bordé par un ruisseau nommé le Douet. L'eau courante n'existe pas et ce n'est qu'en 1892, lorsque la Comtesse de Landal cède une parcelle de terrain pour construire la place du marché et un lavoir que les premières mesures d'hygiène apparaissent.
Le lavoir a une architecture modeste typique du XIXe avec une charpente couverte d'ardoises reposant sur de larges pieds en fonte. Le toit fait le tour du lavoir et est ouvert sur la partie centrale, permettant ainsi de récupérer l'eau de pluie.
Place du Lavoir
VILLERVILLE
Visite de Villerville - L'église Notre-Dame de l'Asomption
Construite après le Château, la première église de Villerville date du XIIe siècle dont subsistent aujourd'hui le clocher massif, le toit en batière (toit à 2 pans inclinés) ; et le choeur de d'édifice, en pur style roman. Ce premier édifice est agrandi en 1871 avec deux nouvelles chapelles et la sacristie. De nouveaux travaux d'agrandissement surviennent en 1900, lui donnant sa forme actuelle particulière et unique.
L'église héberge de belles statues des XVe et XIXe siècles et une statue en bois du Saint Patron local Saint-Roch, qui, selon la légende soigna les malades atteints de la peste, maladie particulièrement virulente à l'époque, avant de contracter lui-même cette maladie, c'est pourquoi on le voit régulièrement représenté avec son chien léchant ses plaies.
Elle abrite aussi les reliques du martyr local Thomas Jean Montsaint, prêtre martyr exécuté le 2 septembre 1792 à l'abbaye de Saint Germain des Prés, pour avoir, pendant la Terreur, refusé de prêter serment à la République (ce qui signifiait ne plus reconnaître l’autorité du pape). Pour saluer son courage et sa foi, il fut béatifié par Pie XI en 1926. Une plaque commémorative scellée dans la tour du clocher de l'église rappelle son sacrifice et on attribua son nom à la première partie de « bout du haut ».

L’église de Villerville a aussi connu son heure de gloire musicale. En effet Gabriel Fauré composa la "Messe des Pêcheurs de Villerville" qui sera exécutée dans l'église une 1ère fois, sans instrument en septembre 1881, puis une seconde fois en septembre 1882.
Rue de l'église
VILLERVILLE
Visite de Villerville - Place du Bouloir
Jusqu'en 1830 Villerville n'est qu'un hameau de pêcheurs avec des maisons à pans de bois dont l'unique rue ne possède ni trottoir ni éclairage. C'est en 1850 que tout change lorsque le chemin de fer s'installe en Normandie entre Paris-Lisieux puis jusqu'à Trouville-sur-Mer en 1963. Il est alors facile pour les parisiens de venir découvrir la côte et Villerville se développe alors, notamment avec l'ouverture de l'Hôtel des Bains et des établissements des bains de mer. Le côté typique et authentique de Villerville séduit de nombreux artistes-peintres dont Ulysse Butin, Charles François Daubigny et Edouard Jospeh Dantan.
Tous trois ont réalisé de nombreux tableaux sur Villerville avec pour sujet les falaises, la plage, les pêcheurs, les Graves ou encore le folklore local. Tous trois ont séjourné au coeur du village et Dantan habitait Place du Bouloir.
Place du Bouloir
VILLERVILLE
Visite de Villerville - Le Carrefour du Singe en Hiver
En 1962 Henri Verneuil vient à Villerville, renommé Tigreville, pour tourner le film "Un Singe en Hiver" d'après l'adaptation du roman de Michel Audiard. Parmi les acteurs Jean-Paul Belmondo, Jean Gabin et Suzanne Flon jouent les rôles principaux.
Le Cabaret Normand c'est le café où Jean-Paul Belmondo (Fouquet) commande un Picon-Pierre après son arrivée à Tigreville (Villerville). Après en avoir bu plusieurs il devient ivre et une conversation débute avec les habitués du café se rejoignent et vantent les mérites de leur village.
Rue Daubigny
VILLERVILLE
Visite de Villerville - L'Hôtel des Parisiens
Construit au milieu du XIXe par le même architecte de l'Hôtel Flaubert de Trouville-sur-Mer, le Grand Hôtel des Parisiens était un haut lieu de Villerville. Deauvillais et trouvillais s'y précipitaient pour le "five o'clock" et s'y attardaient parfois jusqu'au dîner, parfois dans l'espoir de croiser Mistinguett ou le Duc de Windsor. Très côté, Oscar Wilde y séjourna également en 1897.
Dans les années 20, Abel Mahu, un villervillais ouvre un restaurant au sein de l'hôtel. Classé deux étoiles dans le Guide Michelin, le restaurant est l'un des meilleurs du département et toute la Normandie se presse à ses portes. Figure emblématique de Villerville, et également maire en 1945, la rue des Bains prendra son nom à sa mort0
Rue Abel Mahu
VILLERVILLE
Visite de Villerville - Le Guettoir
La place du Guettoir est située au bout de la rue de la Cabine, c'est le lieu où les femmes de pêcheurs guettaient leur mari au retour de la pêche. Lieu important de Villerville, il a été figuré dans plusieurs tableaux dont "Le Guettoir" de Valère Lefèbvre en 1887 ou "Pêcheurs à Villerville" de Ferdinand Moutier en 1912 avant de paraître sur les écrans dans le film "Un Singe en Hiver" de Henri Verneuil en 1962.
Rue de la Cabine
VILLERVILLE
Visite de Villerville - La Digue du Casino
La digue actuelle a été construite en 1920 à la place de l'estacade en bois, elle permet de longer la mer même à marée haute.
Au bout de la digue se trouve le Petit Manoir, manoir ayant appartenu au milieu du XIXe à Alexis Godillot, entrepreneur manufacturier connu pour ses créations de chaussures militaires renommées "godillots". A côté se trouve l'ancien casino construit en 1939 à la place de l'ancien casino en bois datant de 1886.
La Digue
VILLERVILLE
Visite de Villerville - Le Pavillon des Flots
Au bout de la digue après l'ancien casino se trouve le Pavillon des Flots, aussi appelé La Tour. Résistante à toutes les tempêtes et aux guerres, la tour est présente sur toutes les cartes postales anciennes de Villerville. Elle apparaît également en flammes dans le film "Un Singe en Hiver" de Henri Verneuil.
Rue des Bains
VILLERVILLE
Visite de Villerville - L'Allée du Jardin Madame
Lorsque Villerville se développe avec l'arrivée du train, de nombreuses villas émergent dans le centre-ville où artistes, hommes de lettres ou musiciens viennent séjourner chaque été.
Gabriel Fauré, Charles Gounod ou la Reine de Naples viennent à la villa "Beauregard", Georges Feydeau s'installe à la villa "Jardin Madame", Mistinguett choisit la villa "des Marmousets" tandis que l'actrice Paule Andral opte pour la villa "Les Jasmins".
L'Hôtel Le Bellevue, situé plus haut émerge également à cette période, en 1910, plus moderne et confortable que les premiers hôtels de la côte. Cet hôtel-restaurant toujours ouvert aujourd'hui possède une vue dégagée sur la mer et le littoral.
Allée du Jardin Madame
VILLERVILLE
Visite de Villerville - La Mairie
La Mairie de Villerville est installée dans les bâtiments de l'ancien presbytère de la ville. Avant 2000 elle était situé dans l'actuel dortoir de l'école.
Rue du Général Leclerc
VILLERVILLE