French Dutch English German Spanish

Visit Villers-sur-Mer

Walking tour

The seaside town is renowned for its beautiful villas, its pretty town center, the Greenwich Meridian and its paleontological deposit. A visit to discover the architecture, history and treasures of Villers-sur-Mer.

Distance:

3 km
Visit of Villers-sur-Mer - Le Méridien de Greenwich
Villers-sur-Mer, entry point to the Greenwich Meridian in continental Europe, has the distinction of being the only French coastal station located on this Meridian.
Renovated in 2016, the meridian is materialized by a line on the rounded shape of the central dike just after the casino and by a marking on the luminous floor in the evening.
A simple little trick to locate Villers-sur-Mer on any map of the globe: the town is located at the exact intersection of the zero meridian and the French coast.
Avenue of the Republic
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visit of Villers-sur-Mer - The Paléospace l'Odyssée
Dive into the heart of the Jurassic! 160 million years ago, dinosaurs reigned on Earth and the sea that covered Normandy was populated by ferocious marine reptiles…
Ideally located on the marsh, near the beach and the Vaches Noires cliffs, the Paléospace l'Odyssée de Villers-sur-Mer is an atypical museum which offers you to go back to Jurassic times, there are 160 million years, when a warm sea covered Normandy. Spectacular, interactive and sensory reconstructions make it a cultural, scientific but also fun place!
Discover the Cosmos: the Palaeospace planetarium allows you to discover the starry sky at any time. A trip commented in 360 ° through the Milky Way, to discover the constellations, planets and stars ... to look at the sky differently!
5 Avenue Jean Moulin
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visit of Villers-sur-Mer - The iron dinosaur
This steel sculpture of 4,80 m (unique piece), made by the artist Patrice Mesnier, represents a tyrannosaurus. Today installed on the roundabout at the intersection of Avenue de la République and Avenue Jean Moulin, it was previously exhibited at the National Museum of Natural History in Paris shortly after its creation, made an appearance at the Grand art market at the Bastille and was hired for the filming of "La fidelite" by Zulawski alongside "Rhinocéros de Dalí".
Avenue of the Republic
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visit of Villers-sur-Mer - The green dinosaur
Each year, a giant green dinosaur is installed in the heart of the city in the gardens opposite the Tourist Information Office, in reference to the Vaches Noires cliffs, a paleontological deposit of great scientific renown where fossils of 'a pliosaurs 10 meters long, an ichthyosaur, a marine "crocodiles", but also ammonites, sea urchins and sponges.
This green dinosaur has become over the years a real emblem of the station. The colossus, 12 m long and 7 m high, consists of an iron frame filled with 6 tonnes of soil where 9.000 plants grow: 7 green pyrethes for the upper part of the body and 000 alternantheras or rubras for the below.
It is set up in June, so that these plants grow enough, by the city's green spaces service, which removes it in November. His return and his installation gives rise to a long-awaited celebration which announces the start of summer!
It should be noted that for some time now, the dinosaur dad has been accompanied by his young. A real landmark in the resort, it is admired by visitors who have made it their main target for their souvenir photos.
Place Jean Mermoz
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visit of Villers-sur-Mer - The presbyteral manor
Dating from 1750, this presbytery is typical of Norman architecture and the Pays d'Auge.
It was threatened with destruction twice at the end of the 1904th century before becoming municipal property in 1977. Thanks to renovations between 1979 and XNUMX, the presbytery regained its original appearance.
We thus rediscover the original half-timbering, and above the entrance door of the presbytery the ornate crosses of Saint-André, a rare feature in the Pays d'Auge. Finally, a glass transom with small ornate woods with a half-hanger covers the door, in harmony with the crosses.
The building located to the west of the presbytery is an old sheepfold from the second half of the XNUMXth century which was in the marsh of Villers. This building has been moved piece by piece from the marsh to its current location.
24 Street of General de Gaulle
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visit of Villers-sur-Mer - The Saint-Martin church
The Saint-Martin church is a remarkable example of the neo-Gothic style which flourished in Normandy at the end of the 1874th century. Thanks to donations, it replaced the old church in XNUMX, which had become too small.
Inside, the sculptures of the Jacquier brothers and the stained glass windows in the Duhamel Marette workshop are listed as historic monuments. The Duhamel Marette workshop, installed in Evreux, delivers to Villers-sur-Mer for this church, an exceptional set of 51 colored canopies dedicated to Saint Joseph and completed in 1878. It is considered one of the masterpieces of Lower Normandy art from the end of the XNUMXth century.
We also discover a painting (also classified) by Jean-Joseph Benjamin-Constant representing "Saint Joseph foster father of Christ", hanging on the west wall of the south transept.
Church Square
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visit of Villers-sur-Mer - Along the dike
The promenade along the dike offers two pretty views. On one side, the sea as far as the eye can see, on the other a row of seaside villas, built in the second half of the XNUMXth century.
The Villers-sur-Mer sea wall extends over 800 meters between the Cercle Nautique and Le Méridien de Greenwich.
On the east side of the dike (towards Blonville-sur-Mer), a small esplanade indicates the Meridian of Greenwich, symbolized on the ground by a line and a projection, the longitude at this location is exactly 0!
At the end of the promenade, on the Nautical Circle side, you can admire the cliffs of the Vaches Noires, a geological and paleontological treasure. 100 meters high, they extend over almost 4,5 km between Villers-sur-Mer and Houlgate. They originate from the accumulation of marine sediment deposits from the Jurassic (around 160 million years ago) and the Cretaceous (around 100 million years ago). In these different geological layers many marine fossils and dinosaurs have been discovered.
Avenue of the Republic
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visit of Villers-sur-Mer - La Villa d'Eaux
The facade on the street has retained a remarkable decoration of bricks and decorative panels in enamelled lava and colored ceramics, on which is inscribed "hot baths, hydrotherapy". The Villa d'Eaux guest house took over the old Villers-sur-Mer baths in 2018, a historic heritage from 1903. Deteriorated and partly broken to allow the opening of shops on the facade, after five years of works, this exceptional place steeped in history has now regained its original state. Its facade, witness to its past activity, its interior patio, its art deco treasures and the frescoes by Charles Catteau have been preserved.
12 Rue Michel d'Ornano
VILLERS-SUR-MER

My travel book

Menu

Visiter Villers-sur-Mer

Circuit Pédestre

La ville balnéaire est réputée pour ses belles villas, son joli centre ville, le Méridien de Greenwich et son gisement paléontologique. Une visite pour découvrir l'architecture, l'histoire et les trésors de Villers-sur-Mer.

Distance :

3 km
Visite de Villers-sur-Mer - Le Méridien de Greenwich
Villers-sur-Mer, point d’entrée du Méridien de Greenwich en Europe continentale, possède la particularité d’être la seule station littorale française située sur ce Méridien.
Rénové en 2016, le méridien est matérialisé par une ligne sur l'avancée de forme arrondie de la digue centrale juste après le casino et par un marquage au sol lumineux le soir.
Une petite astuce toute simple pour situer Villers-sur-Mer sur n’importe quelle carte du globe : la commune se situe à l’intersection exacte du méridien zéro et de la côte française.
Avenue de la République
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visite de Villers-sur-Mer - Le Paléospace l’Odyssée
Plongez au coeur du jurassique ! Il y a 160 millions d’années, les dinosaures régnaient sur Terre et la mer qui couvrait la Normandie était peuplée de féroces reptiles marins…
Idéalement situé sur le marais, à proximité de la plage et des falaises des Vaches Noires, le Paléospace l’Odyssée de Villers-sur-Mer est un musée atypique qui vous propose de revenir au temps du Jurassique, il y a 160 millions d'années, lorsqu'une mer chaude recouvrait la Normandie. Reconstitutions spectaculaires, interactives et sensorielles en font un lieu culturel, scientifique mais aussi ludique !
Partez à la découverte du Cosmos : le planétarium du Paléospace permet de découvrir à toute heure le ciel étoilé. Un voyage commenté en 360° à travers la voie lactée, à la découverte des constellations, planètes et étoiles... pour regarder le ciel autrement !
5 Avenue Jean Moulin
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visite de Villers-sur-Mer - Le dinosaure de fer
Cette sculpture en acier de 4,80 m (pièce unique), réalisée par l’artiste Patrice Mesnier, représente un tyrannosaure. Aujourd'hui installée sur le rond point au croisement de l'avenue de la République et de l'avenue Jean Moulin, elle a auparavant été exposée au Muséum national d'histoire naturelle de Paris peu après sa création, a fait une apparition au Grand marché de l'art à la Bastille et a été louée pour le tournage de "La fidélité" de Zulawski au côté du "Rhinocéros de Dalí".
Avenue de la République
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visite de Villers-sur-Mer - Le dinosaure de verdure
Chaque année, un dinosaure de verdure géant est installé au cœur de la ville dans les jardins face au Bureau d'information touristique, en référence aux falaises des Vaches Noires, un gisement paléontologique de grande renommée scientifique où l'on a découvert les fossiles d’un pliosaures de 10 mètres de long, d’un ichtyosaure, un « crocodiles » marins, mais aussi des ammonites, des oursins et des éponges.
Ce dinosaure vert est devenu au fil des ans un véritable emblème de la station. Le colosse de 12 m de long et de 7 m de haut, est constitué d’une armature de fer remplie de 6 tonnes de terre où poussent 9.000 plantes : 7 000 pyrethes vertes pour le dessus du corps et 2 000 alternantheras ou rubras pour le dessous.
Il est mis en place au mois de juin, afin que ces plants poussent suffisamment, par le service espaces verts de la ville, qui le retire en novembre. Son retour et son installation donne lieu à une fête très attendue qui annonce le début de l’été !
Il est à noter que depuis quelque temps, le papa dinosaure est accompagné de son petit. Véritable repère dans la station, il fait l’admiration des visiteurs qui en ont fait leur cible principale pour leurs photos souvenirs.
Place Jean Mermoz
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visite de Villers-sur-Mer - Le manoir presbytéral
Datant de 1750, ce presbytère est typique de l'architecture normande et du Pays d'Auge.
Il sera menacé de destruction deux fois à la fin du XIXème siècle avant de devenir propriété communal en 1904. Grâce à des rénovations entre 1977 et 1979, le presbytère retrouve son aspect d'origine.
On redécouvre ainsi les colombages d'origine, et au dessus de la porte d'entrée du presbytère les croix de Saint-André ouvragées, particularité rare dans le Pays d'Auge. Enfin, une imposte vitrée à petits bois ouvragés avec demi-cintre coiffe la porte, en harmonie avec les croix.
Le bâtiment situé à l'Ouest du presbytère est une ancienne bergerie de la deuxième moitié du XIXème siècle qui se trouvait dans le marais de Villers. Cet édifice a été déplacé pièce par pièce du marais jusqu’à son emplacement actuel.
24 Rue du Général de Gaulle
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visite de Villers-sur-Mer - L'église Saint-Martin
L’église Saint-Martin est un exemple remarquable du style néo-gothique qui fleurit en Normandie à la fin du XIXe siècle. Grâce aux dons, elle a remplacé l’ancienne église en 1874, devenue trop exiguë.
A l'intérieur, les sculptures des frères Jacquier et les vitraux de l’atelier Duhamel Marette sont classés aux monuments historiques. L'atelier Duhamel Marette ,installé à Evreux, livre à Villers-sur-Mer pour cette église, un ensemble exceptionnel de 51 verrières colorées dédiées à Saint Joseph et achevées en 1878. Il est considéré comme l’un des chefs-d’oeuvre de l’art bas-normand de la fin du XIXe siècle.
On y découvre aussi un tableau (également classé) de Jean-Joseph Benjamin-Constant représentant "Saint Joseph père nourricier du Christ", accroché au mur ouest du transept sud.
Place de l'Eglise
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visite de Villers-sur-Mer - Longer la digue
La promenade le long de la digue offre deux jolies vues. D'un côté, la mer à perte de vue, de l'autre une enfilade de villas balnéaires, construites dans la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle.
La digue de Villers-sur-Mer s'étend sur 800 mètres entre le Cercle Nautique et le Méridien de Greenwich.
Du côté Est de la digue (vers Blonville-sur-Mer), une petite esplanade indique le Méridien de Greenwich, symbolisé au sol par une ligne et une avancée, la longitude à cet endroit est d'exactement 0 !
Au bout de la promenade, côté Cercle nautique, on peut admirer les falaises des Vaches Noires, un trésor géologique et paléontologique. Hautes de 100 mètres, elles s'étendent sur près de 4,5 km entre Villers-sur-Mer et Houlgate. Elles proviennent de l’accumulation de dépôts de sédiments marins du Jurassique (il y a environ 160 millions d’années) et du Crétacé (il y a environ 100 millions d’années). Dans ces différentes couches géologiques de nombreux fossiles marins et de dinosaures ont été découverts.
Avenue de la République
VILLERS-SUR-MER
Visite de Villers-sur-Mer - La Villa d'Eaux
La façade sur rue a conservé un décor remarquable de briques et de panneaux décoratifs en lave émaillées et céramiques colorées, sur lesquels est inscrit « bains chauds, hydrothérapie ». La maison d’hôtes Villa d’Eaux a investi en 2018 les anciens bains-douches de Villers-sur-Mer, un patrimoine historique de 1903. Détérioré et en partie cassé pour permettre l’ouverture de commerces en façade, après cinq ans de travaux, ce lieu d’exception chargé d’histoire a désormais retrouvé son état d’origine. Sa façade, témoin de son activité passé, son patio intérieur, ses trésors art déco et les fresques de Charles Catteau ont été conservés.
12 Rue Michel d'Ornano
VILLERS-SUR-MER