French Dutch English German Spanish

Maia Izzo-Foulquier

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2015

Blast © Maïa Izzo Foulquier for Board (s) Contact 2015
Blast © Maïa Izzo Foulquier for Board (s) Contact 2015

Blast

Born in 1991, Maïa Izzo-Foulquier obtained a bachelor's degree in political science before joining the ENSP from which she graduated in 2014. Category / No tomorrow work, for which she was awarded at the 2014 Planche (s) Contact festival, allows him to pursue a research where intimacy is thought in his confrontation with the external environment. During her career, she assisted, among others, Antoine d'Agata within the Magnum agency. She currently lives and works between Nice and Beirut.

Winner of the Louis Roederer Foundation student competition in 2014, Maïa Izzo-Foulquier returned in 2015 to continue and amplify a photographic work started the previous year, that of a personal and creative wandering in Deauville.

« My project will present itself as the possibility of reclaiming a territory by investing it poetically. It will be a wandering, an attempt to discover yourself through the intuitive exploration of a foreign place. The idea will be to report on a crossing, a traffic, and to show several facets of the city by playing on the contrasts between the different visual registers that can structure a daily life. " said Maïa Izzo-Foulquier about Blast before the start of the exhibition.

My travel book

Menu

Maïa Izzo-Foulquier

Photographe invitée au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2015

Blast © Maïa Izzo Foulquier pour Planche(s) Contact 2015
Blast © Maïa Izzo Foulquier pour Planche(s) Contact 2015

Blast

Née en 1991, Maïa Izzo-Foulquier obtient une licence de sciences politiques avant d’intégrer l’ENSP dont elle est diplômée en 2014. Le travail Catégorie/Sans lendemain, pour lequel elle est récompensée lors du festival Planche(s) Contact 2014, lui permet de poursuivre une recherche où l’intimité est pensée dans sa confrontation avec l’environnement extérieur. Lors de son parcours, elle assiste, entre autres, Antoine d’Agata au sein de l’agence Magnum. Elle vit et travaille actuellement entre Nice et Beyrouth.

Lauréate du concours étudiants Fondation Louis Roederer en 2014, Maïa Izzo-Foulquier est revenue en 2015  pour poursuivre et amplifier un travail photographique commencé l’année précedente, celui d’une errance personnelle et créative à Deauville.

« Mon projet se présentera comme la possibilité de se réapproprier un territoire en l'investissant poétiquement. Il s'agira d'une errance, d'une tentative de découverte de soi-même à travers l'exploration intuitive d'un lieu étranger. L'idée sera de rendre compte d'une traversée, d'une circulation, et de donner à voir plusieurs facettes de la ville en jouant sur des contraste entre les différents registres visuels qui peuvent structurer un quotidien. » déclarait Maïa Izzo-Foulquier à propos de Blast avant le début de l'exposition.