French Dutch English German Spanish

Romuald Jandolo

Artist

Guest of the 2021 L'Appel du Large festival

Romuald Jandolo deploys a universe of contrasts and ambivalences that he asserts little by little as a method: dark and flamboyant, grotesque and heroic, serious and light, he offers all these faces at the same time. It is this same transformative energy that he distils in his installations, his drawings, his films and ceramic sculptures, the heterogeneous ensemble of which gradually constructs the hallucinatory scene. Haunted by this amputated and fragmentary genealogy, in which certain characters act like phantom members, Romuald Jandolo kneads his biography and reshapes identities by all possible means: kneaded faces, grimaced faces, masks, monsters, costumes ... The worry that tip in some of his works is subverted by a sort of grating tragicomic, in which laughter is the hidden face of discomfort or desire. Numerous objects and installations evoke bodies crossed by constraint and suffering, but also by a possible ecstasy. Romuald Jandolo is inspired as much by the codes of religious dogmatism as by the most deviant paganism.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

As part of the L'Appel du Large festival which will take place from July 2 to 4, 2021, Romuald Jandolo offers an installation entitled "Last Dance", a mobile project which invites spectators to discover a staging of a camp, close to the one where the artist grew up, around a caravan. The latter, hitched to a van, constitutes the heart of the scene , a soundtrack of a circus show, from the family archives of Romuald Jandolo, will complete the device. More information on L'Appel du Large here.

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Romuald Jandolo

Artiste

Invité du festival L'Appel du Large 2021

Romuald Jandolo déploie un univers de contrastes et d’ambivalences qu’il affirme peu à peu comme une méthode : ténébreux et flamboyant, grotesque et héroïque, grave et léger, il offre tous ces visages à la fois. C’est cette même énergie métamorphe qu’il distille dans ses installations, ses dessins, ses films et sculptures en céramique, dont l’ensemble hétérogène construit peu à peu la scène hallucinée. Hanté par cette généalogie amputée et fragmentaire, dans laquelle certains personnages agissent tels des membres fantômes, Romuald Jandolo pétrit sa biographie et remodèle les identités par tous les moyens possibles : visages malaxés, grimés, grimaçants, masques, monstres, costumes… L’inquiétude qui pointe dans certaines de ses œuvres est subvertie par une sorte de tragi-comique grinçant, dans lequel le rire est la face cachée de l’inconfort ou du désir. Nombres d’objets et d’installations évoquent des corps traversés par la contrainte et la souffrance, mais aussi par une possible extase. Romuald Jandolo s’inspire autant des codes du dogmatisme religieux que du paganisme le plus déviant.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dans le cadre du festival L’Appel du Large qui aura lieu du 2 au 4 juillet 2021, Romuald Jandolo propose une installation intitulée "Last Dance", un projet mobile qui invite les spectateurs à découvrir une mise en scène d’un campement, proche de celui où a grandi l’artiste, autour d’une caravane. Cette dernière, attelée à une camionnette, constitue le cœur de la scène, une bande-son d’un spectacle de cirque, issue des archives familiales de Romuald Jandolo, complètera le dispositif. Plus d'informations sur L'Appel du Large ici.