French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

ZHUANG JAY

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2013

© Zhuang Jay
© 1616 Prod

Born on May 7, 1964 in Hangzhou, China, Zhuang Jay graduated in geophysics from the Ocean University of China, in charge of computer processing for geophysical research at the Institute of Petroleum Sciences. CEO of a freight company, until 2006, then investor and builder of the port of Hangzhou, Zhuang Jay has been practicing photography since university.

The million images that this virtuoso lover has already taken, in particular in the world of culture and fashion, in Beijing, Shanghai and Hong Kong, compose like a diary the portrait of a China in full change.

In 2005, he exhibited large portraits of artists participating in the Biennial of Chinese Contemporary Art, in Montpellier.

Since 2009, he collects old lenses (cinema, projection ...) which he adapts himself to his digital devices.

Invited to a photographic residence in Deauville, he attended the Asian Film Festival, and took an unprecedented look at the city with the scent of Asia!

"I don't remember ever seeing Zhuang Jay without a camera in my hand. For more than a decade, this jet-setter businessman has methodically, compulsively said some, everything that passes before his eyes, events, landscapes, loved bodies, faces unknown or friends, in Hangzhou, his hometown, as in Shanghai or Beijing, of which he has not missed any of the multiple and incessant modifications.
He discovered Deauville during the Asian Film Festival, in February 2013, with this same need, this same mania some would say, to report and to inventory, and he could not help but seize the city, can -being without realizing it, through the filter of an eminently Chinese aesthetic. The thousand photos he took during his stay, using digital devices that he tinkers himself, seems to me in any case, with hindsight, characteristic of a "Chinese eye", as if , to better taste Normandy, he had adapted it a little to the sauce of his country. The bittersweet colors, the panoramic frame like a literate scroll, the play on the full and the voids, the delicacy of the semitones, a certain melancholic grandeur, all these traits specific to the art of art. The Middle Kingdom can be found in the images it presents today. It is not their least quality. Here is an unusual Deauville, whose unexpected snowfall reinforces the exotic: the Deauville of a son of the Dragon.
"
Serge Bramly

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

ZHUANG JAY

Photographe invité au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2013

© Zhuang Jay
© 1616 Prod

Né le 7 mai 1964 à Hangzhou en Chine, Zhuang Jay est diplômé en géophysique de l’Université Océanique de Chine, chargé du traitement informatique pour les recherches géophysiques de l’Institut des Sciences du Pétrole. PDG d'une entreprise de fret, jusqu'en 2006, puis investisseur et constructeur du port de Hangzhou, Zhuang Jay pratique la photographie depuis l'université.

Le million d'images qu'a déjà pris cet amateur virtuose, en particulier dans le monde de la culture et de la mode, à Pékin, Shanghai et Hong-kong, compose à la façon d'un journal intime le portrait d'une Chine en pleine mutation.

En 2005, il a exposé de grands portraits des artistes participant à la Biennale d’art contemporain chinois, à Montpellier.

Depuis 2009, il collectionne les objectifs anciens (de cinéma, de projection...) qu'il adapte lui-même à ses appareils numériques.

Invité en résidence photographique à Deauville, il a assisté au Festival du film Asiatique, et posé un regard inédit sur la ville aux parfums d'Asie !

"Je ne me souviens pas avoir jamais vu Zhuang Jay sans un appareil photo à la main. Depuis plus d'une décennie, cette homme d'affaires jet-setter enregistre méthodiquement, compulsivement disent certains, tout ce qui lui passe sous les yeux, événements, paysages, corps aimés, visages inconnus ou amis, à Hangzhou, sa ville natale, comme à Shanghai ou Pékin dont il n'a raté aucune des multiples et incessantes modifications. 
Il a découvert Deauville lors du Festival du Film Asiatique, en février 2013, avec ce même besoin, cette même manie diront certains, de rendre compte et d'inventorier, et il n'a pas pu s'empêcher de saisir la ville, peut-être sans s'en rendre compte, à travers le filtre d'une esthétique éminemment chinoise. Le millier de photos qu'il a prise durant son séjour, à l'aide d'appareils numériques qu'il bricole lui-même, me paraît en tout cas, avec le recul, caractéristique d'un "oeil chinois", comme si, pour mieux goûter la Normandie, il l'avait accommodée un peu à la sauce de son pays. Les couleurs aigres-douces, le cadre panoramique à la façon d'un rouleau de lettré, le jeu sur les pleins et les vides, la délicatesse des demi-tons, une certaine grandeur mélancolique, tous ces trais propres à l'art de l'Empire du Milieu se retrouvent dans les images qu'il présente aujourd'hui. Ce n'est pas leur moindre qualité. Voici donc un Deauville insolite, dont une chute de neige inopinée renforce l'exotisme : le Deauville d'un fils du Dragon.

Serge Bramly