French Dutch English German Spanish

Peter Knapp

Photographer invited to the Festival Planche (s) Contact in 2016

© Peter Knapp, Retrospective, Plate (s) Contact 2016
© Peter Knapp, Retrospective, Plate (s) Contact 2016

Blues, between foam and the heavens

After training at the Decorative Arts in Zurich, Peter Knapp ensured on his arrival in France various artistic directions of magazines in the 1950s, at New Femina or for Galeries Lafayette. In 1959, he took the artistic direction of Elle. From that date, his photographic work became fashionable, alongside André Courrèges and Emmanuel Ungaro. Through his rigor, his mastery of layout and photography, Peter Knapp is revolutionizing and renewing fashion photography in France: lines and forms are becoming essential. A refined image, the basis of a method that reduces the traditional importance of perspective in favor of sensitive geometry.

In Deauville as part of the Planche (s) Contact festival

First retrospective presented by the Planche (s) Contact festival, these images produced in the 1970s and 80s bear witness to the long and rich match between Deauville and the photography of Peter Knapp.
In the relationship that Peter Knapp maintains with Deauville, it is often a question of orders. Whether for the Courrèges house or for magazines Elle ou Star, the boards of Deauville and the waterfront provided an ideal setting.
Simultaneously with his fashion images, Peter Knapp produced plastic works at the end of the 1970s, the series of "recomposed compounds" or blue monochromes, which have only the sky as their motive. Working in Deauville allowed him to refine his research, subtle games between clues and geometries, and to play with his images to constitute new fictitious landscapes.

Blues, between the foam and the heavens, is an exhibition created in collaboration with François Cheval and Audrey Hoareau (Musée Nicéphore Niepce / Association The Red Eye) for Planche (s) Contact 2016.
The exhibition was presented with the support of Olympus.

François Cheval about the Bleus exhibition, between Foam and the Heavens:
Photography has no longer been a way of knowing the world. At very rare moments, our memory remembers the time when we celebrated celestial beauty or marine splendor. For Peter Knapp, a modern pseudo, photography remains an absolute event, a convulsion of the universe. Let us not smile at this statement. Must the world be so trivial for such a proposal to cause astonishment and mockery! Through his nostalgia for the infinite, Peter Knapp exercises his profession as a photographer. This unexpected way with which he installs his models facing the sea, this surprising method of cutting out the sky and the waves, of melting them probably comes from his particular distrust of the goods. Man knew how to do with things, better even, to play with.

He knows how to make each of us a co-owner of the primary elements: the sky and the sea share. They are easily distributed for those who know how to watch them. The ambition here is limitless, having fun with contingency. She drowns it in the water and sucks it in the blue of the sky. Beauty has no attributable place. It proceeds from a contact provoked by the photographer and leads us to the threshold of the unspeakable and the disturbance of the mind.

The object photographed is twofold. It combines contingency, that is to say satisfaction, with what cannot be imagined. The opposition between the thing and the infinite, between the derisory and the remarkable is not one. The juxtaposition of these two moments is necessary. Without the primary elements, this photograph admits its poor materialism, without the products of man, it gets lost in metaphysics to reach the barren lands of speculation. The photograph of Peter Knapp is nothing other than the resolution of this false opposition. In him, the contradiction does not arise. It reconciles the immobility of things and the worry of the enigma.

My travel book

Peter Knapp

Photographe invité au Festival Planche(s) Contact en 2016

© Peter Knapp, Rétrospective, Planche(s) Contact 2016
© Peter Knapp, Rétrospective, Planche(s) Contact 2016

Bleus, entre l'Ecume et les Cieux

Après une formation aux Arts Décoratifs de Zurich, Peter Knapp assure à son arrivée en France diverses directions artistiques de magazines dans les années 1950, au Nouveau Fémina ou pour les Galeries Lafayette. En 1959, il prend la direction artistique de Elle. À partir de cette date, ses travaux photographiques s’orientent vers la mode, aux côtés d'André Courrèges et d'Emmanuel Ungaro. Par sa rigueur, sa maîtrise de la mise en page et de la photographie, Peter Knapp révolutionne et renouvelle la photographie de mode en France : lignes et formes deviennent primordiales. Une image épurée, base d’une méthode qui réduit l’importance traditionnelle de la perspective au profit d’une géométrie sensible.

A Deauville dans le cadre du festival Planche(s) Contact

Première rétrospective présentée par le festival Planche(s) Contact, ces images réalisées dans les années 1970-80 témoignent de la longue et riche adéquation entre Deauville et la photographie de Peter Knapp.
Dans la relation que Peter Knapp entretient avec Deauville, il est souvent question de commandes. Que ce soit pour la maison Courrèges ou pour les magazines Elle ou Stern, les planches de Deauville et le front de mer ont fourni un décor idéal.
Simultanément à ses images de mode, Peter Knapp réalise à  la fin des années 1970 des travaux plastiques, la série des "composés-recomposés" ou des monochromes bleus, qui n'ont pour motif que le ciel. Travailler à Deauville lui a permis d'affiner ses recherches, des jeux  subtils entre indices et géométries, et de jouer avec ses images pour constituer de nouveaux paysages fictifs.

Bleus, entre l’Ecume et les Cieux, est une exposition créée en collaboration avec François Cheval et Audrey Hoareau (Musée Nicéphore Niepce/Association The Red Eye) pour Planche(s) Contact 2016.
L’exposition était présentée avec le soutien d’Olympus.

 

François Cheval à propos de l'exposition Bleus, entre l'Ecume et les Cieux : 
La photographie n'est plus depuis longtemps un mode de connaissance du monde. A de très rares moments, notre mémoire se souvient du temps où l'on célébrait la beauté céleste ou la splendeur marine. Pour Peter Knapp, un pseudo moderne, la photographie reste un événement absolu, une convulsion de l'univers. Ne sourions pas à cette affirmation. Faut-il que le monde soit si trivial pour qu'une telle proposition provoque étonnement et railleries ! Par sa nostalgie de l'infini, Peter Knapp exerce sa profession de photographe. Cette manière inattendue avec laquelle il installe ses modèles face à la mer, cette méthode surprenante de découper le ciel et les flots, de les fondre vient sans doute de sa méfiance particulière de la marchandise. L'homme a su faire avec les choses, mieux même, jouer avec. 

Il sait faire de chacun d'entre nous un copropriétaire des éléments premiers : le ciel et la mer se partagent. Il se distribuent aisément pour ceux qui savent les regarder. L'ambition est ici sans limites, s'amusant de la contingence. Elle la noie dans les eaux et l'aspire dans le bleu du ciel. La beauté n'a pas de lieu attribuable. Elle procède d'un contact provoqué par le photographe et nous conduit au seuil de l'indicible et du trouble de l'esprit. 

L'objet photographié est double. Il allie la contingence, c'est-à-dire la satisfaction, à ce qui ne peut être imaginé. L'opposition entre la chose et l'infini, entre le dérisoir et le remarquable n'en est pas une. La juxtaposition de ces deux moments est nécessaire. Sans les éléments premiers, cette photographie avoue son pauvre matérialisme, sans les produits de l'homme, elle se perd dans la métaphysique pour rejoindre les terres stériles de la spéculation. La photographie de Peter Knapp n'est rien d'autre que la résolution de cette fausse opposition. En lui, la contradiction ne se pose pas. Il réconcilie l'immobilité des choses et l'inquiétude de l'énigme.