THE"PAINTING IN NORMANDY" COLLECTION
Created in 1992 on the initiative of the Conseil Régional de Basse-Normandie and private partners, the "Painting in Normandy" collection now contains more than one hundred paintings and brings together in a unique way famous artists and lesser-known painters around the representation of Normandy at the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century.

Henri le Sidaner, Villiers on the sea in the distance, 1896
Robert-Antoine Pinchon, The Seine in Rouen at dusk, 1905
Edouard Vuillard, The Garden at Amfreville, ca. 1905-1907

For nearly twenty years, the association "Peindre en Normandie" has been scouring auction rooms and galleries to collect more than one hundred and twenty paintings by French and foreign artists who have painted Normandy, its beaches, its landscapes, its still lifes, its inhabitants. These painters, famous or unknown, were seduced by Normandy, its colors, its clouds, thus producing the most beautiful works at the time of impressionism and fauvism.
The collection "Painting in Normandy" with Renoir, Monet, Boudin, Géricault, Vuillard, Courbet, Corot, Dufy and so many others, has become the ambassador of the Normandy regions, a true pole of excellence. It has been exhibited in France and is also the messenger of France abroad. In recent years, the collection has been welcomed in the Scandinavian countries, in Copenhagen, Bergen and Helsinki, then in the Baltic countries, in Tallinn and Riga or in Minsk. Tens of thousands of people have thus been able to meet the French culture, the Norman painting. These exhibitions held in magnific museums allow France to show its cultural strength.
In 2018, the "Painting in Normandy" collection stops in Deauville completed by Les Franciscaines collection for an exceptional exhibition at Point de Vue.

Edouard Vuillard, The Garden at Amfreville, ca. 1905-1907

All about the collection

Click here
Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

LA COLLECTION "PEINDRE EN NORMANDIE"
Créée en 1992 à l'initiative du Conseil Régional de Basse-Normandie et de partenaires privés, la collection "Peindre en Normandie" se trouve aujourd'hui riche de plus de cent tableaux et réunit de façon unique artistes célèbres et peintres méconnus autour de la représentation de la Normandie à la fin du XIXe et au début du XXe siècle.

Henri le Sidaner, Viliers sur la mer dans le lointain, 1896
Robert-Antoine Pinchon, La Seine à Rouen au crépuscule, 1905
Edouard Vuillard, Le jardin à Amfreville, vers 1905-1907

Pendant près de vingt années, l’association "Peindre en Normandie" a parcouru les salles des ventes, les galeries, pour rassembler plus de cent vingt tableaux de peintres français ou étrangers qui ont peint la Normandie, ses plages, ses paysages, ses natures mortes, ses habitants. Ces peintres illustres ou inconnus ont été séduits par la Normandie, ses couleurs, ses nuages, produisant ainsi les plus belles œuvres au temps de l'impressionnisme et du fauvisme.
La collection "Peindre en Normandie" avec Renoir, Monet, Boudin, Géricault, Vuillard, Courbet, Corot, Dufy et tant d'autres, est devenue l'ambassadrice des régions normandes, un véritable pôle d'excellence. Elle a été exposée en France et elle est également le messager de la France à l'étranger. Ces dernières années, la collection a été accueillie dans les pays scandinaves, à Copenhague, à Bergen et à Helsinki, puis dans les pays baltes, à Tallinn et à Riga ou encore à Minsk. Des dizaines de milliers de personnes ont ainsi pu rencontrer la culture Française, la peinture normande. Ces expositions tenues dans des musées magnifiques permettent à la France de montrer sa force culturelle.
En 2018, la collection "Peindre en Normandie" s'arrête à Deauville complétée par la collection des Franciscaines pour une exposition exceptionnelle au Point de Vue.

Edouard Vuillard, Le jardin à Amfreville, vers 1905-1907

Tout savoir de la collection

Cliquez ici