French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

LA COMPETITION 2019
« The competition that unites artistic issues will affirm cinema under the protective aura of its "sponsoring presidents", hoping for a selection in terms of its ancestors ", Bruno Barde, director of the festival.

BULL

by Annie Silverstein with Steven Boyd, Amber Havard, Troy Hogan

After ransacking her neighbor's house in a purely gratuitous juvenile act, Kris, a 14-year-old girl living in the poor suburbs of Houston, seems to be following the path of her mother who is currently serving a prison sentence. Before making amends, she is forced to lend a helping hand to Abe Turner, the owner of the vandalized house and former glory of the rodeo. By accompanying him on the circuits of Texas, she discovers a passion for the art of riding the bulls bareback. But when she returns home, bad relationships are never far away ...

HAM ON RYE

by Tyler Taormina with Lori Beth Denberg, Haley Bodell, Audrey Boos

All of the teens in Haley's hometown adorn themselves with their finery for, as it is customary to say, "the most important day of their lives". Enthusiastic, they cross the city in dispersed order, en route to an unknown destiny. Haley, on the other hand, walks with a more reluctant, skeptical step on the merits of this worn-out tradition with a strange rite of passage that awaits them at the end of the path. Arriving at the local grocery store, a curious ceremony will decide the fate of their generation, causing some adolescents to escape their suburbs and ordering the others to stay there ...

JUDY AND PUNCH

by Mirrah Foulkes with Tom Budge, Benedict Hardie, Damon Herriman, Gillian Jones

Our story takes place in the 17th century in the small town of Seaside, which, despite its name, is located in the countryside. The poor wretches of this abandoned village, plagued by corruption and violence, must suffer the wrath of the moral and religious order every day. In this ambient chaos, the puppeteers Judy and Punch are trying to revive their puppet show. Their performances quickly became popular thanks to Judy's unique talent for bringing her puppets to life. But the excessive ambition of Punch and his penchant for whiskey will soon tragically be the reason for the duo, pushing Judy to take revenge ...

KNIVES AND SKIN

by Jennifer Reeder with Kate Arrington, Kayla Carter, Robert T Cunningham

After a night meeting, Carolyn Harper does not reappear at home, in her little too quiet town in Illinois. Her mother, who directs the high school choir, is devastated. But his cries for help are hardly heard except by a sheriff who is struggling to start the investigation: those around him seem to be indifferent to the absence of this young girl whom we didn't know well. In reality, however, it is a shock wave caused by this disappearance, which each returns to its own anxieties, and which will give rise to new relationships within the community…

MICKEY AND THE BEAR

by Annabelle Attanasio with James Badge Dale, Calvin Demba, Rebecca Henderson

It's April in Anaconda, Montana. Mickey Peck, a determined teenager, has the heavy responsibility of looking after her father alone, a veteran with a changing mood who has become addicted to opiates and who cannot mourn his wife. She secretly dreams of going to university on the west coast and finally being free. The day when the opportunity arises to leave the home for good, she must choose between her family obligations and the desire to fulfill herself ...

PORT AUTHORITY

Danielle Lessovitz with Leyna Bloom, Devon Carpenter, Stephen Cavalieri

It is the story of a meeting, between a young white man who is taken for a loser and who tries to survive in a New York which does not want him, and a family of black dancers and queer of Harlem followers voguing. Among them is a superb girl. But now, she is not only a superb girl…

SHARE

by Pippa Bianco with Rhianne Barreto, Nicholas Galitzine, Poorna Jagannathan

After discovering a video of an evening she absolutely does not remember, 16-year-old Mandy must understand what happened to her before the situation escalated.

SKIN

by Guy Nattiv with Jamie Bell, Bill Camp, Zoe Colletti, Mike Colter

A disoriented young man, raised by a group of white supremacist skinheads of which he is an illustrious member, decides to renounce all hatred and violence for a new life. Although supported by a black activist and the woman he loves, betraying those who gave him everything, including anger, will put him in an inextricable situation.

SWALLOW

by Carlo Mirabella-Davis with Haley Bennett, Zabryna Gueva, Velez Luna Lauren

Hunter seems to lead a perfect life alongside Richie, her husband who has just taken over the management of the family business. But as soon as she becomes pregnant, she develops a compulsive eating disorder, Pica, characterized by the ingestion of dangerous objects. Her husband and her in-laws then decide to control her every move to avoid the worst: that it does not harm the Conrad line ... But wouldn't this strange and uncontrollable obsession hide an even more terrible secret?

THE CLIMB

by Michael Angelo Covino with Talia Balsam, Michael Angelo Covino, Judith Godrèche

Kyle and Mike are two best friends with very different temperaments, but whose friends have always stood the test of life. Until the day Mike sleeps with Kyle's fiancée ... While the friendship that binds them should have been irreparably broken, a dramatic event will reunite them again.

THE LIGHTHOUSE

by Robert Eggers with Willem Dafoe, Valeriia Karaman, Robert Pattinson

The hypnotic and hallucinatory story of two lighthouse keepers on a mysterious and remote island in New England in the 1890s.

THE PEANUT BUTTER FALCON

by Tyler Nilson & Michael Schwartz with Jon Bernthal, Bruce Dern, Zack Gottsagen, Thomas Haden Church

Zak, a young man with Down's syndrome, runs away from his home to finally realize his dream: to join the wrestling school of Salt-Water Redneck, an old glory of this sport, and to become a professional wrestler. He meets Tyler, a small strike on the run, who will become his improbable coach and traveling companion. They will go up the rivers together, escape their pursuer, drink whiskey, meet God, catch fish and convince Eleanor, a dedicated caregiver carrying his own demons, to accompany them along the way.

THE WOLF HOUR

by Alistair Banks Griffin with Jeremy Bobb, Brennan Brown, Emory Cohen

July 1977. New York. June Leigh, a former successful novelist out of inspiration, is entrenched in her apartment in the Bronx. As violent riots and looting plunge the city into chaos, June is harassed by a mysterious individual ...

WATCH LIST

by Ben Rekhi with Arthur Acuña, Angeli Bayani, Alessandra De Rossi

Forced to raise her three children alone after the murder of her husband in mysterious circumstances, Maria plunges into the underworld of Manila to conduct the investigation, but realizes that she will have to confront her own darkness to allow her family to be safe.

My travel book

LA COMPÉTITION 2019
« La compétition qui fédère les enjeux artistiques affirmera le cinéma sous l’aura protectrice de ses « présidents parrains », en espérant une sélection à l’aune de ses ancêtres » , Bruno Barde, directeur du festival.

BULL

de Annie Silverstein avec Steven Boyd, Amber Havard, Troy Hogan

Après avoir saccagé la maison de son voisin dans un acte juvénile purement gratuit, Kris, une adolescente de 14 ans qui vit dans la banlieue pauvre de Houston, donne l'impression de suivre le chemin de sa mère qui purge actuellement une peine de prison. Devant faire amende honorable, elle est obligée de prêter main-forte à Abe Turner, le propriétaire de la maison vandalisée et ancienne gloire du rodéo. En accompagnant ce dernier sur les circuits du Texas, elle se découvre une passion pour l'art de monter les taureaux à cru. Mais lorsqu'elle retourne chez elle, les mauvaises fréquentations ne sont jamais très loin...

HAM ON RYE

de Tyler Taormina avec Lori Beth Denberg, Haley Bodell, Audrey Boos

Tous les adolescents de la ville natale de Haley se parent de leurs plus beaux atours pour, comme il est de coutume de dire, « le plus important jour de leur vie ». Enthousiastes, ils traversent la ville en ordre dispersé, en route vers un destin inconnu. Haley, en revanche, marche d'un pas plus réticent, septique sur le bien-fondé de cette tradition éculée au rite de passage étrange qui les attend au bout du chemin. Arrivés à l'épicerie du quartier, une curieuse cérémonie va décider du sort de leur génération, amenant certains adolescents à échapper à leur banlieue et condamnant les autres à y rester...

JUDY AND PUNCH

de Mirrah Foulkes avec Tom Budge, Benedict Hardie, Damon Herriman, Gillian Jones

Notre histoire se déroule au 17e siècle dans la petite ville de Seaside, qui, malgré son nom, est située en pleine campagne. Les pauvres hères de cette bourgade laissée à l'abandon, gangrénée par la corruption et la violence, doivent subir chaque jour les foudres de l'ordre moral et religieux. Dans ce chaos ambiant, les marionnettistes Judy et Punch tentent de faire renaître leur spectacle de marionnettes. Leurs représentations deviennent rapidement populaires grâce au talent unique de Judy à donner vie à ses pantins. Mais l'ambition démesurée de Punch et son penchant pour le whisky auront bientôt tragiquement raison du duo, poussant Judy à se venger...

KNIVES AND SKIN

de Jennifer Reeder avec Kate Arrington, Kayla Carter, Robert T Cunningham

Suite à un rendez-vous nocturne, Carolyn Harper ne réapparaît pas chez elle, dans sa petite ville bien trop tranquille de l'Illinois. Sa mère, qui dirige la chorale du lycée, est dévastée. Mais ses appels à l'aide ne sont guère entendus que par un shérif qui peine à démarrer l'enquête : son entourage semble comme indifférent à l'absence de cette jeune fille qu'on connaissait mal. En réalité pourtant, c'est une onde de choc que provoque cette disparition, qui renvoie chacun à ses propres angoisses, et qui va faire naître de nouveaux rapports au sein de la communauté…

MICKEY AND THE BEAR

de Annabelle Attanasio avec James Badge Dale, Calvin Demba, Rebecca Henderson

C'est le mois d'avril à Anaconda, dans le Montana. Mickey Peck, adolescente déterminée, a la lourde responsabilité́ de s'occuper seule de son père, un ancien combattant à l'humeur changeante devenu accro aux opiacés et qui n'arrive pas à faire le deuil de son épouse. Elle rêve en secret d'aller étudier à l'université sur la côte ouest et d'être enfin libre. Le jour où l'opportunité́ se présente de quitter pour de bon le foyer, elle doit choisir entre ses obligations familiales et le désir de se réaliser…

PORT AUTHORITY

de Danielle Lessovitz avec Leyna Bloom, Devon Carpenter, Stephen Cavalieri

C'est l'histoire d'une rencontre, entre un jeune homme blanc qu'on prend pour un loser et qui tente de survivre dans un New York qui ne veut pas de lui, et une famille de danseurs noirs et queer de Harlem adeptes du voguing. Parmi eux, il y a une fille superbe. Mais voilà, elle n'est pas seulement une fille superbe…

SHARE

de Pippa Bianco avec Rhianne Barreto, Nicholas Galitzine, Poorna Jagannathan

Après avoir découvert une vidéo d'une soirée dont elle ne se souvient absolument pas, Mandy, 16 ans, doit comprendre ce qui lui est arrivé avant que la situation ne dégénère.

SKIN

de Guy Nattiv avec Jamie Bell, Bill Camp, Zoe Colletti, Mike Colter

Un jeune homme désorienté, élevé par un groupe de skinheads suprémacistes blancs dont il est un illustre membre, décide de renoncer à toute haine et violence pour une nouvelle vie. Bien que soutenu par un activiste noir et la femme qu'il aime, trahir ceux qui lui ont tout donné, y compris la colère, le mènera dans une situation inextricable.

SWALLOW

de Carlo Mirabella-Davis avec Haley Bennett, Zabryna Gueva, Velez Luna Lauren

Hunter semble mener une vie parfaite aux côtés de Richie, son mari qui vient de reprendre la direction de l'entreprise familiale. Mais dès lors qu'elle tombe enceinte, elle développe un trouble compulsif du comportement alimentaire, le Pica, caractérisé par l'ingestion d'objets dangereux. Son époux et sa belle-famille décident alors de contrôler ses moindres faits et gestes pour éviter le pire : qu'elle ne porte atteinte à la lignée des Conrad… Mais cette étrange et incontrôlable obsession ne cacherait-elle pas un secret plus terrible encore ?

 

THE CLIMB

de Michael Angelo Covino avec Talia Balsam, Michael Angelo Covino, Judith Godrèche

Kyle et Mike sont deux meilleurs amis aux tempéraments très différents mais dont l'amitié a toujours résisté aux épreuves de la vie. Jusqu'au jour où Mike couche avec la fiancée de Kyle... Alors que l'amitié qui les lie aurait dû être irrémédiablement rompue, un événement dramatique va les réunir à nouveau.
 

THE LIGHTHOUSE

de Robert Eggers avec Willem Dafoe, Valeriia Karaman, Robert Pattinson

L'histoire hypnotique et hallucinatoire de deux gardiens de phare sur une île mystérieuse et reculée de Nouvelle-Angleterre dans les années 1890.

THE PEANUT BUTTER FALCON

de Tyler Nilson  & Michael Schwartz avec Jon Bernthal, Bruce Dern, Zack Gottsagen, Thomas Haden Church

Zak, un jeune homme atteint de trisomie, s'enfuit de son foyer pour réaliser enfin son rêve : rejoindre l'école de catch de Salt-Water Redneck, une vieille gloire de ce sport, et devenir catcheur professionnel. Il rencontre Tyler, une petite frappe en cavale, qui va devenir son improbable coach et compagnon de route. Ils vont remonter ensemble les rivières, échapper à leur poursuivant, boire du whisky, rencontrer Dieu, attraper du poisson et convaincre Eleanor, une aide-soignante dévouée trimbalant ses propres démons, de les accompagner en chemin.

THE WOLF HOUR

de Alistair Banks Griffin avec Jeremy Bobb, Brennan Brown, Emory Cohen

Juillet 1977. New York. June Leigh, ancienne romancière à succès en panne d'inspiration, est retranchée dans son appartement du Bronx. Alors que de violentes émeutes et pillages plongent la ville dans le chaos, June est harcelée par un mystérieux individu...

WATCH LIST

de Ben Rekhi avec Arthur Acuña, Angeli Bayani, Alessandra De Rossi

Contrainte d'élever seule ses trois enfants après le meurtre de son mari dans des circonstances mystérieuses, Maria plonge dans le monde interlope de Manille pour mener l'enquête, mais réalise qu'elle va devoir se confronter à sa propre noirceur pour permettre à sa famille d'être à l'abri.