Normandy by bike: pedal to the metal!

Deauville, the inDeauville area, the Côte fleurie, the Pays d'Auge and the whole of Normandy offer an ideal playground for cyclists in search of slow tourism. Wheels whirl along the paved paths of the greenways and véloroutes, passing through towns and villages with their coastal, rural or medieval charm. But cycling is more than just a way to travel; it's an opportunity to meet up for competitions, more or less formal, but always in an electrifying atmosphere. You too can experience your own "veloventure".

Cyclotourists on the Saint-Arnoult greenway ©Thomas Le Floc'h
Cyclotourists on the Saint-Arnoult greenwayThomas Le Floc'h

La Mad Jacques: a calf-strength epic

At the crossroads of fearlessness, determination and a touch of madness, the Mad Jacques is a group of travelers who believe that there's no need to go to the other side of the world to feel far away from it all, whether or not they're cycling tourists. The principle is simple, commercial and offbeat: using a roadbook, reach a village far from the tourist radar by bike, trekking, canoe or hitchhiking, and feast with its inhabitants. At the end of this micro-adventure: a joyous festival, a clever blend of village fair and village fete. Departing from Deauville, the "Jacquot" and "Jacquottes" - Mad Jacques enthusiasts - take part in a three-day cycling adventure with family, friends, colleagues, neighbors or solo (you never stay alone for long). From the blue of the sea to the green of the Pays d'Auge, from castles to stud farms, the Mad Jacques is a colorful experience! It's more than a race, it's a culinary epic on the road. Breaks aren't by the side of the road, but rather in the local distillery, in the cellar smelling of fermenting Livarot . In the evening, it's bivouac time. And for those who still hesitate, two routes are available: the classic option and the "gromollets" option.

 

Practical information
May 24th to 26th
Departure from Deauville Town Hall, 20 rue Robert Fossorier
14800 DEAUVILLE
Register here
Hôtel Barrière Le Royal Deauville ©David Darrault - La Seine à Vélo
Hôtel Barrière Le Royal DeauvilleDavid Darrault - La Seine à Vélo

Critérium cycliste Prix Michel d'Ornano: the competition that goes round and round

Two races (one 40.5km, the other 81km), more than a hundred experienced cyclists, bikes speeding through downtown Deauville , a course of 1.35km precisely laid out on seven streets... The Critérium cycliste Prix Michel d'Ornanois all this and more. Unlike the usual long-distance cycling competitions, this one is unique: participants complete the course 30 times for the first event, and 60 times for the second! It's a challenge that combines pedal power, acceleration and endurance, while mastering tight bends and flat stretches with each lap. The route doesn't matter, the will to get there is enough. To cheer on the cyclists and feel the adrenalin of the competition, meet on the course at one of the following streets: boulevard Cornuché, rue Robert Fossorier, rue du Général Leclerc, rue Olliffe, rue Victor Hugo, rue Gambetta and Quai des yachts.

 

Practical information
Monday June 3rd
Departure from Boulevard Eugène Cornuché
14800 DEAUVILLE
Prix Michel d'Ornano cycling criterium ©Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Sandrine Boyer-Engel

The Paris-Deauville: a journey along the river

Since its first edition in 1960, the Paris-Deauville has never deviated from the calendar! A two-wheeled tour created by and for Tour de France enthusiasts, where good-natured spirit and the motto "start and finish together" take precedence over competition. More than a race, it's a journey for this impressive peloton of 80 cyclists who set off from the cobbled streets of the capital, ready to tackle the hilly roads and steep gradients of the Côte Fleurie not far from the Seine estuary. With perseverance, determination and pedaling their way through the 220km stretching out before them, the finish line appears at the foot of Deauville town hall. As has been the tradition for the past 64 years, the crowds gather to witness the participants' final dash to the arch, marking the end of this cycling odyssey.

 

Practical information
Arrival Saturday, June 8 at 5 p.m.
Deauville Town Hall, 20 rue Robert Fossorier
14800 DEAUVILLE
The Paris-Deauville bike trip ©Naïade Plante
Naïade Plante

The Deauville Normandie International Triathlon: 13 years on

At the heart of one of the most exciting events in the Normandy sporting calendar, an extremely intense event stands out from the rest. Deauville Normandy International Triathlon the bike leg. While athletes throw themselves into the waters of the English Channel at the start of each leg, it's on the winding roads of the Pays d'Auge and its bocage that much of the competition is played out. Bibs wet, breath still coming in, they mount their bikes and head away from the coast, hurtling along a route reaching up to 170m in altitude and 1670m in positive vertical drop! The Normandy countryside, with its valleys and small roads, offers its share of challenges, where every bend and climb tests the mental strength and endurance of the triathletes. But the most exhilarating moment comes on the heights of Deauville, with the dreaded Côte Saint-Laurent. A must for the Long Distance and Olympic Distance, 200m of steep slopes and tight bends worthy of the finest mountain bike race climbs await you.

 

Practical information
June 13 to 16
Departure from Deauville beach and Boulevard de la Mer
Register here
The Deauville Normandie International Triathlon ©Activ'Images / Sandrine Boyer-Engel
The Deauville Normandy International Triathlon and its famous Côte Saint-Laurent (first photo top left)Activ'Images / Sandrine Boyer-Engel

The Deauville/Saint-Arnoult greenway: the colorful route

At the gates of thehippodrome de Deauville-La Touquesthis greenway loop leads bike lovers, hikers, rollerbladers and even horseback riders to the center of Saint-Arnoult. Over almost 4km of landscaped paths, the scenery changes as you pass by the Deauville Intercommunal Leisure Park and its bursts of laughter, the banks of the Boucles de la Touques and strollers in the shade of an apple tree, the quarries of the Pôle International du Cheval Longines - Deauville and horses in show jumping training, ending at the foot of the Villa Strassburgerthe emblem of Deauville.

 

Practical information
6.2 km loop
Duration: 30 minutes
Easy level
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00 / info@indeauville.fr
The greenway linking Deauville to Saint-Arnoult ©Etienne Chognard
Etienne Chognard

How about a trip to Honfleur?

More than just a loop, the voie verte Deauville/Saint-Arnoult is also the starting point for 45km of pedaling pleasure to the famous port of Honfleur! Between shared paths and greenways, the route passes through some of the Pays d'Auge's must-see places, such as Pont-L'Evêque, with its pretty half-timbered houses at the crossroads of three rivers. But also Saint-Etienne-la-Thillaye and Saint-André-d'Hébertot, two peaceful villages with trees and typical Normandy charm. You'll want to try them out straight away, whether you're a beginner on an electric bike, or a more sporty rider on a classic bike. Whatever you choose, it's well worth the trip.

Old dock in HonfleurDavid Darrault - La Seine à Vélo
Vieux bassin in Honfleur ©David Darrault - La Seine à Vélo

Deauville-Honfleur

In pictures and by bike

Cycle routes: beyond borders

Mont Saint-Michel by bike - EV4 ©Emmanuel Berthier

VELOMARITIME: THE COAST IN THE SADDLE

At the crossroads of France's Nordic trio - Brittany, Normandy and Hauts-de-France - the Vélomaritime winds its way through 1500km of signposted paths and cycleways. Stretching from the corsair town of Roscoff to the outskirts of Dunkirk, this maritime route reveals a coastline at times rugged, at others wild, with endless horizons against the blue of the English Channel. The scent of sea spray follows each cyclist as they travel from east to west, discovering mythical sites such as the Côte de Granit Rose, Mont-Saint-Michel, the D-Day landing beaches, the Côte Fleurie from Cabourg to Honfleur, the cliffs of Étretat, and finally the Côte d'Opale.

Seine bank and old Vernon mill ©Juliette Becquart

LA SEINE A VELO: FROM FRESHWATER TO SEAWATER

Imagine leaving Paris for Deauville or Le Havre, simply by pedaling at your own pace. Visit Seine à VéloLa Seine à Vélo is a 420km network of fully secure trails that cross eight départements, each offering its own wealth of discoveries. From Giverny and Honfleur, cradles of Impressionism, to La Roche-Guyon, a jewel nestled in the Île-de-France region, via majestic Rouen , nicknamed "The City of a Hundred Spires", each stage reveals historical, cultural and gastronomic treasures. And finally, thearrival in Deauville, with its iconic beach, racecourse and famous parasols, marks the climax of this adventure.

The Accueil Vélo label :

pedal with confidence with Deauville Tourisme

With a focus on soft mobility, Deauville Tourism has been awarded the prestigious Accueil Vélo label. From now on, cyclists visiting Deauville will be able to benefit from a warm welcome and a wide range of services when they step through the doors of the tourist office: secure parking spaces for bicycles, electric and GPS battery recharging points, repair kits, water points for filling water bottles, specific information on cycling routes in Normandy... A wealth of personalized advice to perfect the organization of a tailor-made cycling holiday.

inDeauville

Deauville Tourism

Prepare your cycling trip

©Naïade Plante

Deauville and the surrounding area by bike

Read more
Etienne Chognard

The best routes

Read more
©Olivier Houdart

Bicycle rentals

Read more
Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

La Normandie à vélo : à vos pédales !

Deauville, le territoire inDeauville, la Côte fleurie, le Pays d’Auge, la Normandie toute entière offrent un terrain de jeu privilégié pour les cyclistes à la recherche de slow tourisme. Les roues tourbillonnent sur les chemins goudronnés des voies vertes et véloroutes, traversant des villes et villages au charme parfois côtier, rural ou médiéval. Mais le vélo est plus qu’une façon de voyager ; c'est une occasion de se rencontrer lors de compétitions, plus ou moins formelles, toujours dans une effervescence électrisante. Vous aussi, vivez votre "véloventure".

Cyclotouristes sur la voie verte de Saint-Arnoult ©Thomas Le Floc'h
Cyclotouristes sur la voie verte de Saint-ArnoultThomas Le Floc'h

La Mad Jacques : l’épopée à la force des mollets

Au croisement de l'intrépidité, de la détermination et d’un grain de folie, la Mad Jacques rassemble ces voyageurs qui pensent qu’il n’y a pas besoin de partir à l’autre bout du monde pour se sentir loin de tout, adeptes ou non du cyclotourisme. Le principe est simple, vendeur et décalé : à partir d’un roadbook, rejoindre en un week-end un village loin des radars touristiques à vélo, en trek pédestre, en canoë ou en stop et festoyer avec ses habitants. Au bout de cette micro-aventure : un joyeux festival, savant mélange entre la kermesse et la fête de village. Au départ de Deauville, c’est à la force des mollets que les "Jacquot" et "Jacquottes" – adeptes de la Mad Jacques – prennent part à trois jours d’aventure à vélo en famille, entre amis, collègues, voisins ou en solo (on ne reste jamais seul longtemps). Du bleu de la mer au vert du Pays d’Auge, des châteaux aux haras, la Mad Jacques en fait voir de toutes les couleurs ! Plus qu’une course, une épopée culinaire itinérante ; les pauses ne se font pas en bord de route, mais plutôt dans la distillerie du coin, dans la cave où sent bon le Livarot en pleine fermentation. Le soir, c’est bivouac. Et pour les derniers hésitants, deux tracés sont proposés : l’option classique et l’option "gromollets".

 

Informations pratiques
Du 24 au 26 mai
Départ de la Mairie de Deauville, 20 rue Robert Fossorier
14800 DEAUVILLE
Inscriptions ici
Hôtel Barrière Le Royal Deauville ©David Darrault - La Seine à Vélo
Hôtel Barrière Le Royal DeauvilleDavid Darrault - La Seine à Vélo

Le Critérium cycliste Prix Michel d'Ornano : la compétition qui tourne en boucle

Deux courses (l’une de 40,5km, l’autre de 81km), plus d’une centaine de cyclistes avertis, des vélos qui traversent le centre-ville de Deauville à toute allure, un parcours de 1,35km précisément tracé sur sept rues… Le Critérium cycliste Prix Michel d'Ornano, c’est tout ça à la fois. Contrairement aux habituelles compétitions à vélo courues sur de longues distances, celle-ci est unique : les participants effectuent 30 fois le parcours pour la première épreuve, et 60 fois pour la seconde ! Un défi combinant grands coups de pédales, accélérations et endurance tout en maitrisant les virages serrés et les portions plates à chaque tour. Le chemin importe peu, la volonté d’arriver suffit à tout. Pour encourager les cyclistes et ressentir l’adrénaline de la compétition, rendez-vous sur le parcours à l’une des rues suivantes : boulevard Cornuché, rue Robert Fossorier, rue du Général Leclerc, rue Olliffe, rue Victor Hugo, rue Gambetta et Quai des yachts.

 

Informations pratiques
Lundi 3 juin
Départ depuis le Boulevard Eugène Cornuché
14800 DEAUVILLE
Le Critérium cycliste Prix Michel d'Ornano ©Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Sandrine Boyer-Engel

Le Paris-Deauville : le voyage au fil de l'eau

Depuis sa première édition en 1960, le Paris-Deauville n’a jamais dérogé au calendrier ! Une randonnée en deux-roues créée par et pour des passionnés du Tour de France, où l’esprit bon enfant et le leitmotiv "partir et arriver ensemble" priment sur la compétition. Plus qu’une course, un voyage pour ce peloton impressionnant de 80 cyclistes au départ des rues pavées de la capitale, prêts à en découdre avec les chemins vallonnés et les forts dénivelés de la Côte Fleurie non loin de l'estuaire de la Seine. A coups de persévérance, détermination et pédales sur 220km qui s’étirent devant eux, la ligne d’arrivée pointe le bout de son nez juste au pied de la Mairie de Deauville. Comme le veut la tradition depuis 64 ans, la foule s’amasse pour ne rien manquer du dernier élan des participants jusqu’à l’arche, marquant la fin de cette odyssée cycliste.

 

Informations pratiques
Arrivée le samedi 8 juin à 17h
Mairie de Deauville, 20 rue Robert Fossorier
14800 DEAUVILLE
Le Paris-Deauville à vélo ©Naïade Plante
Naïade Plante

Le Triathlon International de Deauville Normandie : 13 ans déjà

Au cœur de l’un des événements les plus captivants du calendrier sportif normand, une épreuve d’une extrême intensité se démarque du Triathlon International de Deauville Normandie : l’étape à vélo. Si les athlètes se jettent dans les eaux de la Manche à chaque début de parcours, c'est sur les routes sinueuses du Pays d’Auge et son bocage que se joue une grande partie de la compétition. Dossard mouillé, la respiration encore haletante, ils enfourchent leurs vélos et s’éloignent de la côte, se lançant à toute allure sur un itinéraire atteignant jusqu’à 170m d’altitude et 1670m de dénivelé positif ! La campagne normande, ses vallées et petites routes offrent leur lot de défis, où chaque virage, chaque montée teste la force mentale et l’endurance des triathlètes. Mais le moment le plus exaltant se vit sur les hauteurs de Deauville avec la tant redoutée Côte Saint-Laurent. Passage obligé pour la Longue Distance et la Distance Olympique, ce sont 200m de pente abrupte et virages serrés dignes des plus belles ascensions de courses cyclistes en montagne qui attendent sagement d'être parcourus.

 

Informations pratiques
Du 13 au 16 juin
Départ de la plage de Deauville et du Boulevard de la Mer
Inscriptions ici
Le Triathlon International de Deauville Normandie ©Activ'Images / Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Le Triathlon International de Deauville Normandie et sa célèbre côte Saint-Laurent (première photo en haut à gauche)Activ'Images / Sandrine Boyer-Engel

La voie verte Deauville/Saint-Arnoult : le parcours haut en couleurs

Aux portes des pistes de l’hippodrome de Deauville-La Touques, cette voie verte en forme de boucle mène les amoureux de la bicyclette, les randonneurs, les adeptes du roller et même les cavaliers en selle jusqu’au centre de Saint-Arnoult. Sur près de 4km de sentiers aménagés, les paysages changent et voient défiler le Parc de Loisirs Intercommunal de Deauville et les rires en éclat qui s’y dégagent, les rives des Boucles de la Touques et les promeneurs posés à l’ombre d’un pommier, les carrières du Pôle International du Cheval Longines – Deauville et les chevaux en plein entraînement de saut d’obstacles pour finir au pied de la Villa Strassburger, emblème de Deauville.

 

Informations pratiques
Boucle de 6,2km
Durée : 30 minutes
Niveau facile
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00 / info@indeauville.fr
La voie verte reliant Deauville à Saint-Arnoult ©Etienne Chognard
Etienne Chognard

Et si on poussait jusqu'à Honfleur ?

Plus qu’une boucle, la voie verte Deauville/Saint-Arnoult est également le point de départ de 45km de bonheur pour pédaler jusqu’au célèbre port de Honfleur ! Entre voies partagées et voies vertes, il traverse des lieux incontournables du Pays d’Auge comme Pont-L’Evêque, ses jolies maisons à pans de bois à la croisée de trois rivières. Mais aussi Saint-Etienne-la-Thillaye et Saint-André-d'Hébertot, deux villages paisibles arborés au charme typique de Normandie. Des balades à tester sans plus tarder, en vélo électrique pour les néophytes ou en vélo classique pour les plus sportifs, qu’importe, le voyage en vaut le coup de pédales.

Vieux bassin à HonfleurDavid Darrault - La Seine à Vélo
Vieux bassin à Honfleur ©David Darrault - La Seine à Vélo

Deauville-Honfleur

En images et à vélo

Les véloroutes : au-delà des frontières

Le Mont Saint-Michel à vélo - EV4 ©Emmanuel Berthier

LA VELOMARITIME : LA COTE EN SELLE

A la croisée du trio nordique français – la Bretagne, la Normandie et les Hauts-de-France –, la Vélomaritime serpente parmi 1500km de chemins et voies cyclables balisés. S'étirant de la cité corsaire de Roscoff jusqu'aux abords de Dunkerque, cette voie maritime révèle une côte tantôt escarpée, tantôt sauvage aux horizons sans fin sur le bleu de la Manche. Le parfum des embruns suit inlassablement chaque cycliste venu parcourir l’hexagone d’est en ouest pour y découvrir des sites mythiques tels que la Côte de Granit Rose, le Mont-Saint-Michel, les plages du débarquement, la Côte Fleurie de Cabourg à Honfleur, les falaises d’Étretat, pour finir sur la côte d’Opale.

Bord de Seine et vieux moulin de Vernon ©Juliette Becquart

LA SEINE A VELO : DE L'EAU DOUCE A L'EAU DE MER

Imaginez-vous quitter Paris pour rejoindre Deauville ou Le Havre, simplement en pédalant à votre rythme. La Seine à Vélo, ce sont 420km de pistes entièrement sécurisées qui traversent huit départements, chacun offrant son lot de découvertes. De Giverny et Honfleur, berceaux de l’impressionnisme, à La Roche-Guyon, joyau niché en Île-de-France, en passant par la majestueuse Rouen surnommée "La Ville aux Cent Clochers", chaque étape révèle des trésors historiques, culturels et gastronomiques. Et enfin, l'arrivée à Deauville, avec sa plage emblématique, son hippodrome et ses célèbres parasols, marque le point culminant de cette aventure.

Le Label Accueil Vélo :

pédalez en toute confiance avec Deauville Tourisme

Dans une démarche tournée vers la mobilité douce, Deauville Tourisme s'est vu décerner le prestigieux label Accueil Vélo. Dorénavant, les cyclistes de passage à Deauville pourront bénéficier d'un accueil privilégié et de nombreux services en poussant les portes de l'office de tourisme : espaces de stationnement sécurisés pour les vélos, points de recharge de batteries électriques et GPS, kit de réparation, point d'eau pour le remplissage des gourdes, informations spécifiques sur les itinéraires cyclables de Normandie… Un condensé de conseils personnalisés pour parfaire l’organisation d’un séjour à vélo sur-mesure.

inDeauville

Deauville Tourisme

Préparez votre séjour à vélo

©Naïade Plante

Deauville et son territoire à vélo

En savoir plus
©Etienne Chognard

Les meilleurs itinéraires

En savoir plus
©Olivier Houdart

Les locations de vélos

En savoir plus
Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture