French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

The Franciscans - Deauville

THE FRANCISCANES: WE OPEN ON MAY 13

Les Franciscaines opens its doors! The imagination at work and the works of the imagination are found in this unique 6200 m2 space: a separate space-time where the history of Deauville vibrates as much as that of the world.

A UNIQUE CULTURAL PLACE

Taking place in a remarkable building of the Deauville heritage invested since 1878 by the Congregation of the Franciscan Sisters, it is a permanent and unique place of culture that opens its doors. At the crossroads of innovations, between museum, theater, and media library, this new equipment will make the cultural life of Deauville resound and will enhance events and festivals so that artists, works and visitors can meet.

The linking of works, cultural practices and spaces, usually distinct, characterizes Les Franciscaines, which puts “the imagination to work”. The architectural project, carried out by the Moatti et Rivière firm, combines the enhancement of an exceptional heritage and its inclusion in a contemporary expression that invites contemplation, reverie and conviviality. The Chapel, adorned with its XNUMXth century stained-glass windows, The Cloître, topped with a spectacular glass roof and its large chandelier, the Creativity Rooms and the Exhibition Court are all spaces that will host shows, conventions and events.

An abundant program, structured around temporary exhibitions, shows, conferences and mediation workshops will punctuate the life of this friendly place in which deauville residents and visitors will be able to settle in reading and documentation spaces structured around themes dear to Deauville horse, cinema, entertainment, photography, lifestyle and youth.

To discover within the Franciscans: a collection of exceptional contemporary photographs and a museum dedicated to the painter André Hambourg (1909-1999), most of whose work has been the subject of a substantial donation by his widow to the City of Deauville; supplemented by pieces collected by the painter or exchanged with other artists: Marie Laurencin, Foujita, Van Dongen, Derain…
Three major temporary exhibitions will reveal to the public each year works from the museum's collections as well as pieces on loan from major national and international museums.

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Les Franciscaines - Deauville

LES FRANCISCAINES : ON OUVRE LE 13 MAI

Les Franciscaines ouvre ses portes ! L’imaginaire à l’oeuvre et les oeuvres de l’imaginaire se retrouvent dans cet espace unique de 6200 m2 : un espace-temps à part où vibre l’histoire de Deauville autant que celle du monde.

UN LIEU CULTUREL UNIQUE

Prenant place dans un bâtiment remarquable du patrimoine deauvillais investi depuis 1878 par la Congrégation des soeurs Franciscaines, c'est un lieu de culture permanent et unique qui ouvre ses portes. A la croisée des innovations, entre musée, théâtre, et médiathèque, ce nouvel équipement fera retentir la vie culturelle deauvillaise et en sublimera les événements et festivals pour qu’artistes, oeuvres et visiteurs se rencontrent.

La mise en relation des oeuvres, des pratiques culturelles et des espaces, habituellement distincts, caractérise Les Franciscaines qui met « l’imaginaire à l’oeuvre ». Le projet architectural, réalisé par le cabinet Moatti et Rivière allie la valorisation d’un patrimoine exceptionnel et son inscription dans une expression contemporaine qui invite à la contemplation, à la rêverie et à la convivialité. La Chapelle, parée de ses vitraux XIXe, Le Cloître, coiffé d’une verrière spectaculaire et de son grand lustre, les Salons de créativité et la Cour des expositions sont autant d’espaces qui accueilleront spectacles, conventions et événements.

Une programmation foisonnante, articulée autour d’expositions temporaires, de spectacles, de conférences et d’ateliers de médiation rythmera la vie de ce lieu convivial au sein duquel deauvillais et visiteurs pourront s’installer dans des espaces de lecture et de documentation structurés autour de thèmes chers à Deauville cheval, cinéma, spectacle, photographie, art de vivre et jeunesse.

A découvrir au sein des Franciscaines : une collection de photographies contemporaines exceptionnelle et un musée dédié au peintre André Hambourg (1909-1999), dont la majeure partie de l’oeuvre a fait l’objet d’une donation conséquente par sa veuve à la Ville de Deauville ; complétée par des pièces collectionnées par le peintre ou échangées avec d’autres artistes : Marie Laurencin, Foujita, Van Dongen, Derain…
Trois grandes expositions temporaires révèleront au public chaque année les oeuvres issues des collections du musée ainsi que des pièces prêtées par de grands musées nationaux et internationaux.