Visit
January 30, 2020

The Haras du Manoir joins the inDeauville network

Marie and Samuel Catel arrived in Saint-Pierre-Azif in 2016. In love with Deauville and its countryside, they left their previous equestrian center located in Haute-Normandie and set out to revitalize this structure. By acquiring the Haras du Manoir, they found an ideal setting for the development of their family and the possibility to live their passion.

Marie and Samuel are members of inDeauville and have joined the working group that has been set up to strengthen and further develop the horse industry, one of the levers of attractiveness of the territory.

Marie has been riding since she was three years old and Samuel is one of the European champions in para-dressage. Like her, he discovered riding at a very young age and was heading towards dressage when a serious accident deprived him of his right leg. A high-level athlete for ten years, he was a member of the French para-dressage team before returning to his favorite discipline: show jumping. Trained as a farm manager, riding instructor and instructor trainer, he likes to share and federate competition enthusiasts.
Marie works at the Centre International de Deauville and supports Samuel on a daily basis in the development of the stud farm.

When they arrived, Samuel and Marie enlarged the arena, redid the floor of the riding school, and reorganized the activity around three axes: learning and practicing riding, coaching riders and breeding. The team is composed of five people including one or two instructors depending on the period.

Enlarge
Elise Fossard
Reduce

Elise Fossard

Passing on the passion

The center includes two careers, a solarium, 35 boxes divided into two stables, and a cavalry of shetlands, ponies and horses. Lessons are given from gallop 1 to gallop 7 and with multiple formulas: initiations, discoveries, improvements, baptisms, private lessons, or training courses... From 3 years old, everything is possible. The courses are organized every weekend of the year and also every day during the school vacations. For learners who live nearby, the Haras also operates on an annual cycle from September to June.

For those who love horseback riding, there are many different routes starting from the stud farm located in the middle of nature, a few hundred meters from the small village of Saint-Pierre-Azif. In the spring, many like to ride through the Auvergne countryside, while others prefer a ride in the forest of Saint-Pierre-Azif. To gallop near the sea, Samuel and Marie join the beach of Blonville-sur-Mer for a very personalized course with a maximum of four riders of gallop 3 minimum.

Accompanying towards the high level

The Haras du Manoir is certified by the French Equestrian Federation. This label values the clubs which propose to pony or horse, initiation, improvement or competition practice. It is the second activity of the stud farm.
Samuel and Marie take their students to competitions every Sunday in order to accumulate points throughout the year and to present a team in show jumping at the French Equestrian Club Championships which take place in Lamotte-Beuvron in July. This French Open is the very first level of competition for riders. With 3,000 entries and 120 riders per event, one out of three French clubs comes to the Loir-et-Cher. In 2018, one of the Haras' students won a French Champion title and in 2019, the Haras du Manoir won a third place in team and individual.
The Haras team also coaches 25 riders on an amateur circuit and three riders on the veteran circuit. These riders are all over 45 years old and hold a galop 7. They participate in about ten competitions during the season from March to October.

The last part of the activity, the breeding of horses and the pension of horses where multiple formulas are possible. From their large boxes, the horses have a view of the largest of the stud's quarries and seem happy to evolve in its meadows. The Haras du Manoir has been awarded the Equures label, the only quality approach in favor of the environment and animal welfare specifically developed for equine structures.

Practical information
Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

Menu

Le Haras du Manoir rejoint le réseau inDeauville

Marie et Samuel Catel sont arrivés à Saint-Pierre-Azif, en 2016. Amoureux de Deauville et de sa campagne, ils quittent leur précédent centre équestre situé en Haute-Normandie et se lancent dans la redynamisation de cette structure. En acquérant le Haras du Manoir, ils ont trouvé un cadre idéal pour l'épanouissement de leur famille et la possibilité de vivre leur passion.

Marie et Samuel sont adhérents à inDeauville et ont intégré le groupe de travail qui s'est mis en place pour conforter et développer encore la filière cheval, l'un des leviers d'attractivité du territoire.

Marie monte à cheval depuis l'âge de trois ans et Samuel est l'un des champions européens du para-dressage. Comme elle, il a découvert l'équitation très jeune et se dirigeait vers le dressage lorsqu'un grave accident le prive de sa jambe droite. Athlète de haut niveau pendant dix ans, il a fait partie de l’équipe de France de para-dressage avant de revenir aujourd'hui à sa discipline de prédilection : le saut d’obstacles. Formé à la conduite et la gestion d'exploitation agricole, moniteur d'équitation et formateur de moniteurs, il aime partager et fédérer les passionnés de compétitions.  
Marie travaille au Centre International de Deauville et soutient au quotidien Samuel pour le développement du haras.

A leur arrivée, Samuel et Marie agrandissent la carrière, refont le sol du manège, et ré-organisent l'activité autour de trois axes : l'apprentissage et la pratique de l'équitation, le coaching de cavaliers et l'élevage. L'équipe est composée de cinq personnes dont une à deux monitrices selon les périodes.

Agrandir
Elise Fossard
Réduire

Elise Fossard

Transmettre la passion

Le centre comprend deux carrières, un solarium, 35 boxes répartis en deux écuries, et une cavalerie de shetlands, poneys et chevaux. On y dispense des cours du galop 1 au galop 7 et avec de multiples formules : initiations, découvertes, perfectionnements, baptêmes, cours particuliers, ou stages...A partir de 3 ans, tout est possible. Les stages sont organisés tous les week-ends de l'année et également tous les jours pendant les vacances scolaires. Pour les apprenants qui résident à proximité, le Haras fonctionne aussi sur un cycle annuel de septembre à juin.

Pour les amoureux des balades à cheval, les parcours sont variés et nombreux en partant du Haras situé en pleine nature à quelques centaines de mètres du petit village de Saint-Pierre-Azif. Au printemps, beaucoup aiment silloner la campagne augeronne, d'autres préfèrent un parcours dans la forêt de Saint-Pierre-Azif. Pour galoper près de la mer, Samuel et Marie rejoignent la plage de Blonville-sur-Mer pour un parcours très personnalisé avec un maximum de quatre cavaliers de galop 3 minimum.

Accompagner vers le haut niveau

Le Haras du Manoir est labellisé par la Fédération Française d'Equitation. Ce label valorise les clubs qui proposent à poney ou à cheval, initiation, perfectionnement ou pratique de la compétition  C'est la deuxième activité du Haras.
Samuel et Marie embarquent leurs élèves en compétition chaque dimanche en vue de cumuler des points toute l'année et de présenter une équipe en concours de saut d'obstacles aux Championnats de France d'Equitation Club qui se déroulent à Lamotte-Beuvron en juillet. Cet Open de France est le tout premier niveau de compétition pour les cavaliers. 3000 engagés, 120 partants par épreuves : un club français sur trois fait le déplacement en Loir-et-Cher. En 2018, l'un des élèves du Haras a remporté un titre de Champion de France et en 2019, le Haras du Manoir a remporté une troisième place en équipe et en individuel.
L'équipe du Haras coache aussi 25 cavaliers sur un circuit amateurs et trois cavaliers sur le circuit vétérans. Ces derniers de plus de 45 ans sont tous titulaires du galop 7 et participent à une dizaine de concours sur la saison qui va de mars à octobre.

Dernier volet d'activité,  l'élevage des chevaux et la pension de chevaux où de multiples formules là aussi sont possibles. Depuis leur grands boxes, les chevaux ont vue sur la plus grande des carrières du haras et semblent heureux d'évoluer dans ses prairies. Le Haras du Manoir bénéficie du label Equures, seule démarche de qualité en faveur de l'environnement et du bien-être animal spécifiquement développé pour les structures équines.

Les infos pratiques