French Dutch English German Spanish

THE HISTORY OF BOATING

From the beginnings of Deauville, boating took on a dominant place in the life of the city

SBE
B. Augier

If the Morny basin was created to promote the establishment of a port economy, boating appeared in Deauville in 1880. The English nobles of the time came in sailboats and steam yachts: the Star of India, the Sona, or the Cutty Sark are then the names of the most famous boats moored in the Morny Basin.

The life of the Deauville Yacht Club (created in 1928) was then in full swing with the Blue and White lunches which brought together to the club a number of yachtmen and their friends. "Stars" of sailing at the time came to sail in Deauville: Franck Guillet and his 8m JI Coq Gaulois, Virginie Hériot and his 6m JI Petite Aile, Serge Paulmier and his cruiser Solveig II, Philippe de Rothschild and his Cupid Crazy or the Olympic champion Jacques Lebrun. A craze that stopped during the war years and resumed in 1947. On several occasions, we hosted the French Dragon Championship, the French Shark Championship, the International Nautical Rally of the Touring Club of France. The year 1962 saw the creation of a great classic: the Cowes - Deauville race.

B. Augier

Two marinas

A port in the city center - the municipal port

Inaugurated in August 1866 by the Duchess of Morny, the municipal port of Bassin Morny is located in the heart of Deauville opposite the SNCF station. Nearly 400 boats park there year-round. The Deauville Yacht Club runs the regatta program, a dozen from April to October and manages its sailing school on sail, the only one in Calvados.

Find out more about the municipal port ...

Port-Deauville - the 2nd port

Spread over an area of ​​more than 10 hectares, protected by a breakwater breakwater in a granite block 770 meters long, this port is accessible 16 hours a day. Its bold architecture was imagined in the 70s on the concept of marinas.

Learn more about marinas ...

My travel book

L'HISTOIRE DU NAUTISME

Dès les débuts de Deauville le nautisme prend une place dominante dans la vie de la ville

SBE
B. Augier

Si le bassin Morny fut créé pour favoriser l’installation d’une économie portuaire, le nautisme se manifeste à Deauville dès 1880.  Les nobles anglais de l’époque viennent en voiliers et yachts à vapeur : le Star of India, le Sona, ou le Cutty Sark sont alors les noms des plus célèbres bateaux amarrés dans le Bassin Morny.

La vie du Deauville Yacht Club (créé en 1928) battait alors son plein avec les déjeuners Bleu et blanc qui réunissaient au club nombre de yachtmen et leurs amis. Des " stars " de la voile de l'époque venaient naviguer à Deauville : Franck Guillet et son 8 m J.I. Coq Gaulois, Virginie Hériot et son 6 m J.I. Petite Aile, Serge Paulmier et son croiseur Solveig II, Philippe de Rothschild et son Cupidon Fou ou encore le champion olympique Jacques Lebrun. Un engouement qui s’arrête pendant les années de guerre et reprend en 1947. A plusieurs reprises, on accueille le Championnat de France des Dragon, le Championnat de France des Requin, le Rallye Nautique International du Touring Club de France. L'année 1962 vit la création d'une grande classique : le course Cowes – Deauville.

B. Augier

Deux ports de plaisance

Un port en centre-ville - le port municipal

Inauguré en août 1866 par la Duchesse de Morny, le port municipal du Bassin Morny se situe au coeur de Deauville face à la gare SNCF. Près de 400 bateaux y stationnent à l’année. Le Deauville Yacht Club anime le programme des régates, une dizaine d'avril à octobre et gère son école de voile sur habitable, la seule du Calvados.

En savoir plus sur le port municipal...

 

Port-Deauville - le 2e port

Etendu sur une superficie de plus de 10 hectares, protégée d’une digue brise-lames en bloc de granit longue de 770 mètres, ce port est accessible 16 heures par jour. Son architecture audacieuse a été imaginée dans les années 70 sur le concept des marinas.

En savoir plus sur les marinas...