French Dutch English German Spanish

LE PALEOSPACE L'ODYSSEE - AN ATYPICAL AND FUN MUSEUM

Ideally located on the marsh, near the beach and the Vaches Noires cliffs, the Paléospace de Villers-sur-Mer is an atypical museum which invites you to return to the Jurassic era, 160 million years ago, when a warm sea covered Normandy. Spectacular, interactive and sensory reconstructions make it a cultural, scientific but also fun place!
Open since April 2011, the Paléospace offers a permanent exhibition space of 300 m² focused on the interpretation of three sites located in Villers-sur-Mer: the Vaches Noires cliffs, the Villers-Blonville marsh and the Greenwich meridian .

The Paléospace reopens on June 27, 2020.

www.paleospace-villers.fr
www.paleospace-villers.fr

The museum is organized in several thematic areas:
- La dinosaur hall of Normandy where large carnivores and herbivores are unveiled: the Streptospondylus, the Lexovisaurus, the Dubreuillosaurus valesdunensis ... These fossil remains, discovered on Norman lands, represent a first in France.
- Jurassic gallery, tells the story of the fossils of the Vaches Noires and Normandy cliffs in Jurassic. Large skeletons and small fossils make it possible to understand what was the environment which sheltered these marine living beings and how they arrived to us after 160 million years.
- The Greenwich Meridian Room, where we set off in search of longitude, following in the footsteps of the great scientists of the 18th and 19th centuries who went beyond the knowledge of their time to find a reliable measurement method.
- The alcove of the Marais, to discover the history of the 110 hectare coastal marsh, the flora and fauna that inhabit it. It is the only natural green space on the Côte Fleurie. Yet close to the sea, it is a freshwater marsh.
- The 360 ​​° planetarium to discover the cosmos in a commented journey through the Milky Way, constellations, planets and stars ...

www.paleospace-villers.fr
© Julien Boisard
www.paleospace-villers.fr

Workshops, guided tours, temporary exhibitions ...

The Paléospace l'Odyssée's agenda here

A cultural, scientific but also fun tool

The visitor is guided in its discovery by interactive models (multimedia, games ...), a tactile route, the museum collections and objects from the collections of the Paléospace partners: the National Museum of Natural History, the Observatory of Paris and the Museum of Natural History of Le Havre.

At the heart of the museum, a "cliff wall" crosses the entire length of the building. Its appearance evokes the cliffs of the Black Cows and the natural materials recall the proximity of the marshes.

The visit also continues outside the museum by exploring the five-hectare park designed as a free play area. The "treasure hunt" route allows you to discover the marsh, the gabion, the plants and animals living on the site. Children can have fun with educational games: an ammonite-goose game, a hopscotch-geological time scale or an area dedicated to "prehistoric animals". Adults take advantage of a relaxation area in front of the gabion pond (lounge chairs, chaise lounges and hammocks). The park also accommodates groups: picnic area, areas for outdoor workshops ...

Visit the Paléospace - Musée de France Reservation, opening hours, prices ....

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

LE PALEOSPACE L'ODYSSEE - UN MUSEE ATYPIQUE ET LUDIQUE

Idéalement situé sur le marais, à proximité de la plage et des falaises des Vaches Noires, le Paléospace de Villers-sur-Mer est un musée atypique qui vous propose de revenir au temps du Jurassique, il y a 160 millions d'années, lorsqu'une mer chaude recouvrait la Normandie. Reconstitutions spectaculaires, interactives et sensorielles en font un lieu culturel, scientifique mais aussi ludique ! 
Ouvert depuis avril 2011, le Paléospace offre un espace d'exposition permanente de 300 m² axé sur l'interprétation de trois sites localisés à Villers-sur-Mer : les falaises des Vaches Noires, le marais de Villers-Blonville et le méridien de Greenwich.

www.paleospace-villers.fr
www.paleospace-villers.fr

Le musée est organisé en plusieurs espaces thématiques :
- La salle des dinosaures de Normandie où de grands carnivores et herbivores se dévoilent : le Streptospondylus, le Lexovisaurus, le Dubreuillosaurus valesdunensis… Ces restes fossiles, découverts sur les terres normandes, représentent une première en France.
- La galerie Jurassique, raconte l’histoire des fossiles des falaises des Vaches Noires et de la Normandie au Jurassique. Grands squelettes et petits fossiles permettent de comprendre quel était le milieu qui abritait ces êtres vivants marins et comment sont-ils parvenus jusqu’à nous après 160 millions d’années.
- La salle du Méridien de Greenwich, où on part en quête de la longitude en suivant les pas des grands scientifiques du 18e et 19e siècles qui sont allés au-delà des connaissances de leur époque pour trouver une méthode de mesure fiable.
- L'alcôve du Marais, pour découvrir l’histoire du marais littoral de 110 hectares, la faune et la flore qui le peuplent. Il constitue le seul espace vert naturel de la Côte Fleurie. Pourtant proche de la mer, il s’agit d’un marais d’eau douce.
- La planétarium 360° pour découvrir le cosmos dans un voyage commenté à travers la voie lactée, constellations, planètes et étoiles...

www.paleospace-villers.fr
© Julien Boisard
www.paleospace-villers.fr

Ateliers, visites, séances de planétairum, exposition...

L'agenda du Paléospace ici

Un outil culturel, scientifique mais aussi ludique

Le visiteur est guidé dans sa découverte par des maquettes interactives (multimédias, jeux...), un parcours tactile, les collections du musée et les objets issus des collections des partenaires du Paléospace : le Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, l’Observatoire de Paris et le Muséum d’Histoire naturelle du Havre.

Au cœur du musée, un "mur-falaise" traverse le bâtiment dans toute sa longueur. Son aspect évoque les falaises des Vaches Noires et les matériaux naturels rappellent la proximité des marais.

 

 

La visite se poursuit aussi à l’extérieur du musée par l'exploration du parc de cinq hectares conçu comme un espace de jeu en liberté. Le parcours "jeu de piste" permet de découvrir le marais, le gabion, les plantes et les animaux vivant sur le site. Les enfants peuvent s'amuser avec des jeux pédagogiques : une ammonite-jeu de l’oie, une marelle-échelle des temps géologiques ou encore une zone consacrée aux "animaux préhistoriques". Les adultes profitent d’un espace de détente devant la mare du gabion (chaises longues, méridiennes et hamacs). Le parc permet également l’accueil des groupes : aire de pique-nique, zones pour les ateliers de plein-air...

Visiter Le Paléospace - Musée de France En pratique