Les Franciscaines - Deauville > January 27 to May 12, 2024

EXHIBITION: SPORT, FOR THE BEAUTY OF THE GESTURE

The Paris 2024 Summer Olympics provide a unique opportunity to put culture on the same wavelength as sport. Les Franciscaines is joining in this national enthusiasm by dedicating an exhibition to exploring the sporting gesture in its artistic, technical and spiritual dimensions. 

The exhibition takes a close look at the sporting gesture, whether it's foundational or sufficiently distinctive to symbolize the discipline. Athletes are called upon to discipline their bodies to make them ever more efficient. An expression of the athlete's genius, the sporting gesture has always been a source of inspiration for artists who, through their works, seize upon this rich material to exalt the beauty of the human body captured in effort.
Eight sporting disciplines reveal the aesthetics of the gesture in search of perfection: tennis, soccer, rugby, boxing, high jump, diving, archery and running.

From the photographic canon that captures the truth of the gesture to artists' views that idealize or even transcend it, through a selection of works of art, documentary images, models and photographs from the collections of the INSEP, the Musée National du Sport, the Centre Pompidou and the iconothèque of the newspaper L'Équipe, the exhibition highlights the back-and-forth between sport and culture, two worlds that constantly enrich each other.

ANDRÉ HAMBOURG: LONG LIVE SPORT!

The visit continues in the Galerie des Maîtres with a second exhibition dedicated to the representation of sport in the work of André Hambourg (1909-1999).
Sportsmen setting sail for the regattas at Deauville, races and horse shows in the region that he painted with fervor, sailors practicing fencing or running aboard the helicopter carrier "Jeanne d'Arc", where he served as Painter to the Navy, watercolors of skiers on his only trip to the mountains, André Hambourg was a great lover of outdoor activities.

 

RESERVATIONS

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

Les Franciscaines - Deauville > 27 janvier au 12 mai 2024

EXPOSITION : LE SPORT, POUR LA BEAUTÉ DU GESTE

Les Jeux Olympiques d'été de Paris 2024 donnent une occasion unique de mettre la culture au diapason du sport. Les Franciscaines s'inscrit dans cet enthousiasme national en consacrant une exposition à l'exploration du geste sportif dans sa dimension artistique, technique et spirituelle. 

L'exposition observe à la loupe le geste sportif, fondateur ou suffisamment distinctif pour en symboliser la discipline. L'athlète est sommé de discipliner son corps pour le rendre toujours plus performant. Expression du génie de l’athlète, le geste sportif constitue depuis toujours une source d’inspiration pour les artistes qui, à travers leurs oeuvres, s'emparent de cette riche matière pour exalter la beauté du corps humain saisi dans l'effort. 
Huit disciplines sportives révèlent l'esthétique du geste en quête de perfection : le tennis, le football, le rugby, la boxe, le saut en hauteur, le plongeon, le tir à l’arc et la course.

Du canon photographique qui capte la vérité du geste aux vues d’artiste qui l’idéalisent voire le transcendent, à travers une sélection d'oeuvres d’art, d’images documentaires, de maquettes et de photographies issues notamment des collections de l’INSEP, du Musée National du Sport, du Centre Pompidou ou encore de l’iconothèque du journal L’Équipe, l’exposition met en évidence l’aller-retour entre sport et culture, deux mondes qui s’enrichissent constamment l’un l’autre.

ANDRÉ HAMBOURG : VIVE LE SPORT !

La visite se poursuit dans la Galerie des Maîtres avec une deuxième exposition consacrée au sport dédiée à la représentation du sport dans l’oeuvre d’André Hambourg (1909-1999).
Sportifs qui se lancent en mer pour des régates à Deauville, courses et les concours hippiques de la région qu'il peint avec ferveur, marins qui pratiquent l'escrime ou la course à pied à bord du porte-hélicoptère "Jeanne d’Arc", où il officie comme Peintre de la Marine, aquarelles de skieurs lors de son unique voyage à la montagne, André Hambourg était un grand amoureux des activités de plein air.

 

RESERVATIONS

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture