French Dutch English German Spanish

For these commemorations of the 75th anniversary of the liberation of the Côte Fleurie, the association will coordinate the participation of the various actors involved in this operation so that this moment of emotion is a total success, thanks to its constant action in the region in favor of of the duty to remember. They were very involved in the success of the arrival of Peruvian veteran Jorge Sanjinez, now aged 102, with the solidarity movement that has developed between Belgium and Normandy. 

The association of Friends of Mont Canisy brings together a hundred members (including 23 guides) who are passionate about local history, collectors of documents and materials from the period 1939-1945. Providing guided, commented and free calendar visits - visits scheduled annually, or which it can carry out punctually on request for organized groups, it endeavors to preserve the natural site, its flora and fauna.

The main goal of the association is to showcase the military works on the site, by providing free guided tours of the fortifications built on Mont Canisy by the Germans during the Second World War; by maintaining the surroundings of the structures in cooperation with the town hall of Bénerville-sur-Mer and the Conservatoire du Littoral under the control of the Regional Directorate of Cultural Affairs; by ensuring secure access and the conservation of a unique underground gallery dug under the structures by the German army in 1943. Each year, more than 3 visitors are welcomed during these visits.

The association also participates in annual national patriotic ceremonies (July 14, November 11, May 8, etc.), exceptional ceremonies (75th anniversary of the Liberation of the Côte Fleurie, etc.), various events such as Heritage Days ...
It also offers private tours by appointment for schools, companies, clubs, etc.
Finally, within the association has developed a group made up of members who own military vehicles who contribute to usual activities but also, in response to requests from local authorities or event companies, to ceremonies and presentations. dynamic or static for educational or festive purposes.
In 2018 the “Friends of Mont Canisy” were rewarded for their efforts by receiving the “So 14! »Awarded each year by the Departmental Council to 14 people or associations who fully contribute to the Calvados brand image.

Menu

Pour ces commémorations du 75ème anniversaire de la libération de la Côte Fleurie, l'association va coordonner la participation des différents acteurs impliqués dans cette opération pour que ce moment d’émotion soit une totale réussite, grâce à son action constante dans la région en faveur du devoir de mémoire. Ils ont beaucoup participé à la réussite de la venue du vétéran péruvien Jorge Sanjinez, aujourd'hui âgé de 102 ans, avec le mouvement de solidarité qui s'est développé entre la Belgique et la Normandie. 

L'association des Amis du Mont Canisy regroupe une centaine de membres (dont 23 guides) qui sont des passionnés d'histoire locale, des collectionneurs de documents et de matériels de la période 1939-1945. Assurant des visites calendaires guidées, commentées et gratuites –visites programmées annuellement, ou qu'elle peut réaliser ponctuellement sur demande pour des groupes constitués, elle s'attache à préserver le site naturel, sa flore et sa faune.

L’ association a pour but principal de mettre en valeur les ouvrages militaires sur le site, en assurant des visites guidées gratuites des fortifications construites sur le Mont Canisy par les Allemands pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale ; en entretenant les abords des ouvrages en coopération avec la mairie de Bénerville-sur-Mer et le Conservatoire du Littoral sous le contrôle de la Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles ; en assurant l’accès sécurisé et la conservation d’une galerie souterraine unique en son genre creusée sous les ouvrages par l’armée allemande en 1943. Chaque année, ce sont plus de 3 000 visiteurs qui sont accueillis lors de ces visites.

L'association participe également aux cérémonies patriotiques nationales annuelles (14 juillet, 11 novembre, 8 mai…), aux cérémonies exceptionnelles (75° anniversaire de la Libération de la Côte Fleurie , etc.), à diverses manifestations telles que les Journées du Patrimoine…
Elle propose aussi des visites privées sur rendez-vous pour des écoles, des entreprises, des clubs, etc.
Enfin , au sein de l’association s’est développée un groupe composé des membres propriétaires de véhicules militaires qui contribuent aux activités habituelles mais aussi, en réponse aux sollicitations de collectivités locales ou de sociétés d’évènementiel, à des cérémonies et à des présentations dynamiques ou statiques à caractère pédagogique ou festif.
En 2018 les « Amis du mont Canisy » ont été récompensés de leurs efforts en recevant le label « So 14 ! » attribué chaque année par le Conseil Départemental à 14 personnes ou associations qui contribuent pleinement à l’image de marque du Calvados.