Winter walks

8 invigorating hikes

Walk in the Blonville-Villers marsh ©Naïade Plante
A walk in the Blonville-Villers marshesNaïade Plante

In winter, we like to snuggle up under a blanket, comfortably installed in the sofa, without feeling the urge to go outside. However, winter hikes are an opportunity to enjoy an outing in nature filled with calm and serenity. The sun is mild, the lights are cold, time stands still. From the seaside dykes to the parks along the Touques River, while linking Saint-Arnoult and Deauville with the greenway, our itineraries are easy to walk, striking, and offer a new look at Deauville.

1. The seaside dykes, an iodized walk

____________________

Behind the beach cabins, walkers like to stroll along the seawalls, looking for iodized air. Made of concrete or azobe wood, each one has its own atmosphere. A Villervillethe seawall promises a walk on the cliffs when the sea completely covers the beach. In Deauville, the mythical "Planches" are the symbol of the city, where the names of American actors and directors blossom every year on the lices bordering the Art Deco cabins. The seaside architecture is omnipresent on the dikes of Blonville-sur-Mer and Villers-sur-Merwhere the walkers walk, with the sea as far as the eye can see, accompanied by a string of villas, built in the second half of the 19th century. No matter what your desires are, you can enjoy the ephemeral scenery of winter and its charms: the soft sound of the waves' ballet, the clear blue of the sea, the impression that nature is resting before the summer season. At the end of the day, lovers of nature and beautiful colors like to linger and watch the last rays of the sun fade into the sea. The seaside walk is photogenic in any weather!

Favorite: all along the coast, from Villers-sur-Mer to Villerville, the Fauteuils en Seine, urban armchairs revisited by artists, dress up the dikes to discover the Côte Fleurie from a new angle.

The seaside dykes, for an iodized walk
From h. to b. and from l. to r.: the Deauville boards, the Blonville-sur-Mer promenade, the Villers-sur-Mer dike and the Villerville dikeLaurent Lachèvre / Laurie Lopez / Naïade Plante / Marine Le Guillard

2. The Parc des Lais de Mer, a garden facing the beach

____________________

A garden in the city is good, by the sea is better. The Parc des Lais de Meris 4 hectares of greenery that begins at the western end of the Planches de Deauville and extends to Tourgéville. On one side, half-timbered residences and the majestic Hôtel Barrière Le Royal*****; on the other, the sea and the buildings of the former Centre Nautique de Deauville. Throughout the walk, silence reigns, the trees have lost their leaves, nature is recovering before blooming again. On the way, we meet sportsmen who have come to brave the winter and train on the wooden equipment of the health course, children who have gone to have fun on the playground and riders in search of gliding on the skatepark installations.

Favorite: in the middle of the garden, couples come to seal their love by hanging a padlock on the large blue heart-shaped hook.

Parc des Lais de Mer ©Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Parc des Lais de Mer ©Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Sandrine Boyer-Engel

3. The Touques, two parks on the bank

____________________

Les Boucles de la Touques at Saint-Arnoult ©Etienne Chognard
Les Boucles de la Touques in Saint-Arnoult Etienne Chognard

InDeauville is crossed by the coastal river La Touques, one of the Pays d'Auge's main waterways. In Saint-Arnoult, its pedestrian banks, called Les Boucles de la Touquesare 1.5 km long and offer the chance to recharge your batteries in the midst of nature. Here, you can relax on a bench, play pétanque or enjoy the children's playground. In addition to ducks and swans, anglers can also fish for carp here, as fishing is permitted. A hiking trail has also been created, leading to the heights of Saint-Arnoult, the former church and chapel, dating from the 11th century and listed as a Monument Historique since 1970.

Parc des Rives de la Touques, Deauville ©Naïade Plante
The Park of the Banks of the Touques in DeauvilleNaïade Plant

At the entrance to Deauville, the Parc des Rives de la Touques is the green lung of the Touques peninsula. Often overlooked by visitors, this bank runs from the Pont des Belges to the sea. There are two possible routes: one is punctuated by a selection of images of Deauville as seen by photographers invited each year to the Planches Contact Festival; the second penetrates the vegetation thanks to a 99-metre-long azobé-wood walkway.

Favorite: the Parc des Rives de la Touques offers a breathtaking view of Trouville-sur-Mer, its fish market and its casino. An ideal spot to take out your camera and immortalize the moment.

4. The green way, to link Saint-Arnoult and Deauville

____________________

The green lane connects the two city centers over a little more than 3km. What makes it unique? Its complete accessibility to pedestrians, rollerbladers, cyclists, and of course horseback riders. The walk follows the straight track of theDeauville-La Touques racetrack, crosses the Intercommunal Leisure Park, follows the banks of the Boucles de la Touques and passes behind the Pôle International du Cheval Longines - Deauville. The route is easy and quiet, winding through green spaces and trees, among horses, cows, ducks and swans!

Favorite : at dawn, from the Boulevard Mauger, passers-by have the chance to see the horses training on the fibrous sand track of the Deauville-La Touques racecourse. They are preparing for the day's races, organized for the Winter Meeting.

The green way, to link Saint-Arnoult and Deauville
The green way, to link Saint-Arnoult and DeauvilleNaïade Plante

5. The Marais de Blonville-Villers, a vast protected reedbed

____________________

The Marais de Blonville-VillersThe Marais de Blonville-Villers is 120 hectares of wet meadows, canals and ditches, an ecological richness partly protected by the Conservatoire du Littoral and a natural space with an unequalled fauna and flora. In its meadows grow hygrophilous plants such as phragmites, rushes and sedges. Here, pale green, brown, blue and, when the snow falls, white characterize this natural place in winter. The cows return to the barn and the grass no longer grows; they continue to feed on the marsh grass thanks to the hay harvested in summer. All year round, it is possible to observe the Grey Heron, but also the Starry Bittern from November to March.

Favorite: the Blonville-sur-Mer Equestrian Center takes advantage of its proximity to the marsh to organize horseback rides in the countryside, accessible to riders of all levels.

The Marais de Blonville-Villers and its winter colors
The Marais de Blonville-Villers and its winter colorsNaïade Plant
DR
Naïade Plante

6. Mount Canisy, a panorama on the sea

____________________

Located on the heights of Deauville, in Bénerville-sur-Mer, the Mont-Canisy dominates the Côte Fleurie at a height of 110 meters. Its strategic position, on a hill facing the bay of the Seine, meant that it was transformed several times into a coastal artillery position from 1793 to 1944. Today, it is a natural site protected by the Conservatoire du littoral which watches over its flora and fauna. It is home to more than 200 species of plants, several of which are protected. Among its fauna are three species of birds protected regionally (nightingale, spotted locustelle, hypolaïs polyglotte), several families of butterflies and a snake (coronelle lisse) protected nationally. The geological site of Mont-Canisy shows marine deposits rich in fossils and more particularly that of a coral reef, underlining the tropical climate that reigned in Normandy during the Jurassic period. With its military structures and natural caves, the site also favors the presence of bats.

View of the sea and the Augean countryside
View of the sea and the Augean countrysideEtienne Chognard
Casemates bear witness to the Second World War
Casemates bear witness to the Second World WarEtienne Chognard

7. The Vaches Noires cliffs, a walk back in time to the Jurassic period

____________________

Rich from a geological, historical and environmental point of view, the cliffs of the Vaches Noires at Villers-sur-Mer are both surprising and dazzling. Their 100 meters height, their 4.5 km length and their composition - layers of clay, marl and chalk - are the result of the accumulation of marine sediments from the Jurassic period, about 160 million years ago. Now protected, their access is forbidden, but their beauty remains fully visible from the beach, when the tide goes out. If the guided tours are organized only from March to November, the Paleospacea museum dedicated to local paleontology, preserves and shares with the public all year round the scientific discoveries made at Villers-sur-Mer.

Favorite: at the foot of the cliffs, you can find ammonites, sea urchins, nautilus and also plesiosaurs and Ichthyosaurs. To take a breath of fresh air and to put yourself in the shoes of a paleontologist, collect fossils and other small trophies of an ancient time!

The Falaises des Vaches Noires in Villers-sur-Mer
The Falaises des Vaches Noires in Villers-sur-Mer
Naïade Plante

8. Parc des Graves, from the top of the Roches Noires cliffs

The park is closed until May 5, 2024 due to cliff reinforcement work.

____________________

At the bend of 800 meters of pedestrian paths, it is a large window on the sea which is offered to the walkers: right in front, the wild charm of Villerville beach, in the east, a point of view on Le Havre. The Parc des Graves is a vast green space where exotic vegetation, rare species, local plants (maritime crambe, Montpellier polypogon, fetid hellebore) and wild plant species cohabit all year round. A peaceful place to stroll, it is also a place to rest and have fun with a playground for children, picnic tables and petanque courts. From the park, a pathway leads directly to the beach, offering a completely different landscape for walking at the foot of the cliffs of the Roches Noires.

Favorite: two walking tours leave from the Parc des Graves; one of 6.8 km going to the semaphore located on the heights of Villerville, and one of 5.1 km along the coastal path. All of the inDeauville walking itineraries are available under this link.

The Parc des Graves, from the top of the cliffs of the Roches Noires
The Parc des Graves, from the top of the cliffs of the Roches NoiresCamille David

Practice

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

Les balades d'hiver

8 randonnées vivifiantes

Promenade dans le marais de Blonville-Villers ©Naïade Plante
Promenade dans le marais de Blonville-VillersNaïade Plante

En hiver, on aime se blottir sous un plaid, confortablement installé dans le canapé, sans éprouver l’envie de pointer son nez dehors. Pourtant, les randonnées hivernales sont l’occasion de profiter d’une sortie en pleine nature emplie de calme et de sérénité. Le soleil est doux, les lumières sont froides, le temps se fige. Des digues de bord de mer aux parcs bordant La Touques, tout en reliant Saint-Arnoult et Deauville avec la voie verte, nos itinéraires sont facilement praticables, saisissants, et offrent un nouveau regard sur inDeauville.

1. Les digues de bord de mer, une promenade iodée

____________________

Derrière les cabines de plage, les promeneurs aiment flâner sur les digues, en quête d’air iodé. En béton ou en bois d’azobé, chacune possède sa propre atmosphère. A Villerville, la digue promet une balade à flanc des falaises lorsque la mer recouvre totalement la plage. A Deauville, les mythiques Planches font office de symbole de la ville, où les noms d’acteurs et réalisateurs américains fleurissent chaque année sur les lices qui bordent les cabines Art Déco. L’architecture balnéaire est omniprésente sur les digues de Blonville-sur-Mer et Villers-sur-Mer, où les promeneurs marchent, avec la mer à perte de vue, accompagnés d’une enfilade de villas, construites dans la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle. Qu’importe les envies, on profite du décor éphémère de l’hiver et de ses charmes : le son doux du ballet des vagues, le bleu franc de la mer, l’impression que la nature se repose avant la saison estivale. En fin de journée, les amoureux de la nature et des belles couleurs aiment s’attarder pour voir les derniers rayons du soleil s’évanouir dans la mer. La balade en bord de mer est photogénique par tout temps !

Coup de cœur : tout le long du littoral, de Villers-sur-Mer à Villerville, les Fauteuils en Seine, des fauteuils urbains revisités par des artistes, habillent les digues pour découvrir la Côte Fleurie sous un nouvel angle.

Les digues de bord de mer, pour une promenade iodée
De h. en b. et de g. à d. : les Planches de Deauville, la promenade de Blonville-sur-Mer, la digue de Villers-sur-Mer et la digue de VillervilleLaurent Lachèvre / Laurie Lopez / Naïade Plante / Marine Le Guillard

2. Le Parc des Lais de Mer, un jardin face à la plage

____________________

Un jardin dans la ville, c’est bien, en bord de mer, c’est mieux. Le Parc des Lais de Mer, c’est 4 hectares de verdure qui débute à l’extrémité ouest des Planches de Deauville et s’étend jusqu’à Tourgéville. D’un côté, des résidences à colombages et le majestueux Hôtel Barrière Le Royal***** ; de l’autre, la mer et les bâtiments de l’ancien Centre Nautique de Deauville. Au long de la balade, le silence règne, les arbres ont perdu leurs feuilles, la nature se ressource avant de fleurir à nouveau. Sur le chemin, on croise des sportifs venus braver l’hiver et s’entraîner sur les équipements en bois du parcours santé, des enfants partis s’amuser sur l’aire de jeux et des riders en quête de glisse sur les installations du skatepark.

Coup de cœur : au milieu du jardin, les couples viennent sceller leur amour en accrochant un cadenas sur le grand accroche-cœur bleu, en forme de cœur.

Le Parc des Lais de Mer ©Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Le Parc des Lais de Mer ©Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Sandrine Boyer-Engel

3. La Touques, deux parcs en bord de rive

____________________

Les Boucles de la Touques à Saint-Arnoult ©Etienne Chognard
Les Boucles de la Touques à Saint-Arnoult Etienne Chognard

InDeauville est traversé par le fleuve côtier La Touques, l'un des principaux cours d'eau du Pays d'Auge. A Saint-Arnoult, ses rives piétonnières, nommées Les Boucles de la Touques, s'étendent sur 1,5 km et permettent de se ressourcer au milieu de la nature. On peut s’y reposer sur un banc, jouer à la pétanque ou profiter de l’aire de jeux pour les enfants. Outre les canards et les cygnes, les pêcheurs peuvent également y taquiner la carpe, la pêche y étant autorisée. Un circuit de randonnée a d’ailleurs été créé, menant sur les hauteurs de Saint-Arnoult, les anciennes église et chapelle, datant du XIe siècle et classées aux Monuments Historiques depuis 1970.

Le Parc des Rives de la Touques à Deauville ©Naïade Plante
Le Parc des Rives de la Touques à DeauvilleNaïade Plante

A l’entrée de Deauville, le Parc des Rives de la Touques est le poumon vert de la Presqu’île de la Touques. Souvent méconnue des visiteurs, cette rive part du Pont des Belges et se poursuit jusqu'à la mer. Deux cheminements sont possibles : un parcours est ponctué d’une sélection d’images de Deauville vue par les photographes invités chaque année au Festival Planches Contact ; le second pénètre le milieu végétal grâce à une estacade en bois d’azobé longue de 99 mètres.

Coup de cœur : le Parc des Rives de la Touques offre une vue imprenable sur Trouville-sur-Mer, son marché aux poissons et son casino. Un spot idéal pour sortir son appareil photo et immortaliser le moment.

4. La voie verte, pour relier Saint-Arnoult et Deauville

____________________

La voie verte relie les deux centres-villes sur un peu plus de 3km. Ce qui la rend unique ? Son entière accessibilité aux piétons, rollers, cyclistes, et bien sûr cavaliers. La balade suit la piste en ligne droite de l'hippodrome de Deauville-La Touques, traverse le Parc de loisirs intercommunal, emprunte les rives des Boucles de la Touques et passe à l'arrière du Pôle International du Cheval Longines - Deauville. Le parcours aménagé se fait en toute facilité et tranquillité, serpentant entre espaces verts et arborés, parmi les chevaux, vaches, canards et cygnes !

Coup de cœur : à l’aube, depuis le Boulevard Mauger, les passants ont la chance d’apercevoir les chevaux s’entraîner sur la piste en sable fibré de l’hippodrome de Deauville-La Touques. Ils se préparent pour les courses du jour, organisées à l’occasion du Meeting d’Hiver.

La voie verte, pour relier Saint-Arnoult et Deauville
La voie verte, pour relier Saint-Arnoult et DeauvilleNaïade Plante

5. Le Marais de Blonville-Villers, une vaste roselière protégée

____________________

Le Marais de Blonville-Villers, c’est 120 hectares de prairies humides, de canaux et de fossés, une richesse écologique protégée en partie par le Conservatoire du Littoral et un espace naturel doté d’une faune et d’une flore inégalables. Dans ses prairies poussent des plantes hygrophiles telles que des phragmites, joncs et carex. Ici, ce sont le vert pâle, la marron, le bleu et, quand la neige tombe, le blanc qui caractérisent ce lieu naturel en hiver. Les vaches rentrent à l’étable et l’herbe ne pousse plus ; elles continuent à se nourrir de l’herbe du marais grâce au foin récolté l’été. Toute l’année, il est possible d’observer le Héron Cendré, mais aussi le Butor étoilé de novembre à mars.

Coup de cœur : le Centre Equestre de Blonville-sur-Mer profite de sa proximité avec le marais pour organiser des balades à cheval dans la nature, accessibles aux cavaliers de tout niveau.

Le Marais de Blonville-Villers et ses couleurs d'hiver
Le Marais de Blonville-Villers et ses couleurs d'hiverNaïade Plante
DR
Naïade Plante

6. Le Mont-Canisy, un panorama sur la mer

____________________

Situé sur les hauteurs de Deauville, à Bénerville-sur-Mer, le Mont-Canisy domine la Côte Fleurie à 110 mètres de hauteur. Sa position stratégique, sur une colline face à la baie de Seine, lui valut à plusieurs reprises d’être transformé en position d’artillerie côtière de 1793 à 1944. C’est aujourd’hui un site naturel protégé par le Conservatoire du littoral qui veille sur sa flore et sa faune. Il abrite plus de 200 espèces de plantes, dont plusieurs sont protégées. Parmi sa faune résident trois espèces d’oiseaux protégées régionalement (rossignol philomèle, locustelle tachetée, hypolaïs polyglotte), plusieurs familles de papillons et une couleuvre (coronelle lisse) protégée nationalement. Le gisement géologique du Mont-Canisy montre des dépôts marins riches en fossiles et plus particulièrement celui d’un récif corallien, soulignant le climat tropical qui régnait au Jurassique en Normandie. Avec ses ouvrages militaires et grottes naturelles, le site favorise aussi la présence de chauves-souris.

Point de vue sur la mer et la campagne augeronne
Point de vue sur la mer et la campagne augeronneEtienne Chognard
Des casemates témoignent de la Seconde Guerre mondiale
Des casemates témoignent de la Seconde Guerre mondialeEtienne Chognard

7. Les Falaises des Vaches Noires, une balade au temps du Jurassique

____________________

Riches d'un point de vue géologique, historique et environnemental, les falaises des Vaches Noires à Villers-sur-Mer étonnent et éblouissent à la fois. Leurs 100 mètres de hauteur, leurs 4,5 km de longueur et leur composition - couches d'argiles, de marnes et de craie - sont le résultat de l’accumulation de dépôts de sédiments marins du Jurassique, il y a environ 160 millions d’années. Aujourd'hui protégées, leur accès est interdit, mais leur beauté reste totalement visible depuis la plage, lorsque la marée baisse. Si les visites guidées sont organisées uniquement de mars à novembre, le Paléospace, musée dédié à la paléontologie locale,  préserve et partage toute l'année avec le public les découvertes scientifiques découvertes à Villers-sur-Mer.

Coup de cœur : au pied des falaises, on trouve aujourd’hui des fossiles d’ammonites, d’oursins, de nautiles mais aussi de plésiosaures et d’Ichthyosaures. Pour prendre un grand bol d’air frais et se mettre dans la peau d'un paléontologue, collectez des fossiles et autres petits trophées d'un ancien temps !

Les Falaises des Vaches Noires à Villers-sur-Mer
Les Falaises des Vaches Noires à Villers-sur-Mer
Naïade Plante

8. Le Parc des Graves, du haut des falaises des Roches Noires

En raison des travaux de confortement de la falaise, le parc est fermé jusqu’au 5 mai 2024.

____________________

Au détour de 800 mètres de chemins piétonniers, c’est une grande fenêtre sur la mer qui s’offre aux promeneurs : droit devant, le charme sauvage de plage de Villerville, à l’est, un point de vue sur Le Havre. Le Parc des Graves est un vaste espace verdoyant où végétation exotique, essences rares, plantes locales (crambe maritime, polypogon de Montpellier, hellébore fétide) et espèces végétales sauvages cohabitent toute l’année. Lieu paisible où se balader, c’est également un endroit où se reposer et s'amuser avec une aire de jeux pour enfants, des tables de pique-nique et des terrains de pétanque. Depuis le parc, un sentier mène directement à la plage, offrant ainsi un tout autre paysage de balade au pied des falaises des Roches Noires.

Coup de cœur : deux circuits pédestres partent du Parc des Graves ; un de 6,8km allant jusqu’au sémaphore situé sur les hauteurs de Villerville, et un de 5,1 km le long du sentier du littoral. Tous les itinéraires de randonnées inDeauville sont disponibles sous ce lien.

Le Parc des Graves, du haut des falaises des Roches Noires
Le Parc des Graves, du haut des falaises des Roches NoiresCamille David

Pratique

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture