French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

PORT BUILDINGS AND BELVEDERES
Extending over an area of ​​6,3 hectares between La Touques, the sea and the city center of Deauville, the new district of the Presqu'île has changed a lot and since 2020 has become a real gateway to the city. Close to the station, with homes, restaurants, public spaces, today it features beautiful architecture that respects the diversity of Deauville. It also includes port buildings and two belvederes, symbols of incessant renewal.

Beatrice Augier
Gilbert Hamel Collection

Hyphen between the city center and the Peninsula, gateway to the sea at the junction between the Morny and Yachts basins, designed by the architectural studio Xavier Bohl, the port buildings, inspiration from auger, transform the landscape of Deauville while reconnecting with elements of its past. They are each marked with a 28-meter-high signal tower which is inspired by the fixed light lighthouse, erected in 1874 and demolished in 1929. The architect was inspired by the old lighthouse by adopting the principle of period black and white stripes. On the Quai de la Marine side, the building houses the harbor master's office for the municipal port, the Deauville Yacht-Club and its sailing school, and the tower for the gangway machinery. On the Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie side, the building will soon host a restaurant and the second is accessible to the public who, from the belvedere, can admire a panoramic view of Deauville, Trouville-sur-Mer, the Touques estuary, the coast, and the valleys of the Auge countryside.
 

Gilbert Hamel Collection

Go up to the belvedere

Practical info here

 

"This complex is part of a strategic crossroads with a footbridge which provides a link between the old city center and the new district of the Presqu'île, while the perpendicular axis framed by the two towers offers a perspective on the sea, a door to the ocean. " The architect was inspired by the old lighthouse by taking the principle of the black and white bands of the time. "This is the whole philosophy that motivated this project", explains the architect. "Projecting into the future by drawing inspiration from the past. These two towers are elements that will structure the city's landscape by playing a signal role, a landmark for residents, navigators and tourists. He will assert the vocation of Deauville as a major place for yachting and fishing. "

Xavier bohl project architect

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

LES BATIMENTS PORTUAIRES ET LES BELVEDERES
S’étendant sur un territoire de 6,3 hectares entre La Touques, la mer et le centre-ville de Deauville, le nouveau quartier de la Presqu’île a beaucoup changé en quelques années. Depuis 2020, il est devenu une véritable entrée de ville. A deux pas de la gare, il arbore une belle architecture respectueuse de la diversité deauvillaise avec des habitations, des restaurants, des espaces publics, les bâtiments portuaires et deux belvédères, symboles d’un renouveau incessant.

© NaïadePlante
© NaïadePlante

Trait d'union entre le centre-ville et la Presqu'île, porte d'entrée vers la mer à la jonction entre les bassins Morny et des Yachts, imaginés par l'atelier d'architecture Xavier Bohl, les bâtiments portuaires, d'inspiration augeronne, transforment le paysage de Deauville tout en renouant avec des éléments de son passé. lIs sont marqués chacun d'une tour-signal de 28 mètres de haut qui s'inspire du phare à feu fixe, érigé en 1874 et démoli en 1929. L’architecte s'est inspiré de l’ancien phare en reprenant le principe des bandes noires et blanches de l'époque. Côté quai de la Marine, le bâtiment abrite la capitainerie du port municipal, le Deauville Yacht-Club et son école de voile, et la tour la machinerie de la passerelle. Côté quai de l’Impératrice Eugénie, le bâtiment accueillera prochainement un restaurant et la seconde tour est accessible au public qui, du belvédère, peut admirer une vue panoramique sur Deauville, Trouville-sur-Mer, l'estuaire de la Touques, le littoral et les vallons de la campagne augeronne.
 

© NaïadePlante
© Etienne Chognard
© NaïadePlante

Monter au belvédère

Les infos pratiques ici
 Xavier Bohl

"Cet ensemble s'inscrit comme un carrefour stratégique avec une passerelle qui offre une liaison entre le centre-ville ancien et le nouveau quartier de la Presqu'île alors que l'axe perpendiculaire encadré par les deux tours offre une perspective sur la mer, une porte vers l'océan." L’architecte s'est inspiré de l’ancien phare en reprenant le principe des bandes noires et blanches de l'époque. "C'est toute la philosophie qui a motivé ce projet", explique l'architecte. "Se projeter dans l'avenir en s'inspirant du passé. Ces deux tours sont des éléments qui vont structurer le paysage de la ville en jouant un rôle de signal, de repère pour les habitants, les navigateurs et les touristes. Il va affirmer la vocation de Deauville comme place majeure de la plaisance et de la pêche."

Xavier Bohl architecte du projet
Pour aller plus loin L'histoire de la presqu'île