ANIMAL AND PLANT SPECIES OF THE MARSH

Plant species of the marsh

Marsh marigold
From the same family as the Buttercup, the Marsh marigold illuminates the place with its magnificent golden yellow at the beginning of spring. It gives the start of the beautiful days. Affectionate of the wet environments one will find it preferentially in the ditches. Impossible to miss!

Observation: March to May

Loose-flowered Orchid
The loose-flowered orchid is characteristic of wet meadows. The activity of mowing suits it perfectly as long as it is not done before mid-June to allow it to reproduce. It is one of the two typical orchid species that thrive in marshes, along with the helleborine epipactis. It can grow in great quantities and stands of several hundred feet are not rare.

Observation: May to July

Marshmallow officinale
Have you noticed this large plant with a fluffy appearance and a flower that looks strangely like the hollyhock? It is the marshmallow officinale. Both are close cousins of the Malvaceae family.
Originally the sweet called "marshmallow" was made with the mucilage from its roots. Replaced by animal gelatin for economic reasons, the plant is no longer used in the composition of this confectionery.

Observation: July to September

Giant Hogweed
This perennial species settles very easily in natural areas and spreads in abundance. It belongs to the same family as the Carrot and the Cigaree. The notable difference is that it can measure more than 4 meters!
This species is a danger for the native flora because it does not allow other plants to grow in the shade of its large leaves that sometimes exceed 1 m2. Moreover, it is toxic and can cause blisters and burns when in contact with the sun. As it does not grow in areas open to the public, it is therefore recommended to stay on the paths.

Observation: July to October

 

Animal species of the marsh

Ashy Heron
In flight, hovering over the meadows, or stationary, posted in the expectation of a prey, the Grey Heron is part of the regulars of the places. It can be observed almost all year round. It feeds in the pastures or at the edge of the ponds hunting occasionally frogs and field mice.

Observation: all year round

White Stork
Often attached to the image of Alsace, the stork has colonized other regions. Normandy is one of its privileged host lands. Several hundred pairs nest there, including one in the marsh since 2012. This one gave birth to three young the same year, two of which were able to take off for Spain. The parents will remain faithful to their breeding ground.

Observation: April to July

Starry Bittern
The Starry Bittern is more discreet than the Heron or the Stork. With its very mimetic plumage, it camouflages itself at the edge of the reed beds. This host is only passing through during the winter. For the moment the site does not present reedbeds large enough for it to nest! Amusing particularity: its little melodious song resembles the mooing of a cow.

Observation: November to March

Tree frog
A frog that climbs trees? Yes, it also exists in Normandy. In fact the tree frog is not very rare but knows how to be discreet. You can nevertheless enjoy its love songs by walking in the evening in the spring by soft nights, around the "stork's plot". At this period the males gather in choir in order to increase the range of their song and thus attract the females of the surroundings.

Observation: April to October

Close

Contact us :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Residence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See the opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See the opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See the opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du General Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See the opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See the opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first aid station)
14800 Tourgéville
See the opening hours

LES ESPECES ANIMALES ET FLORALES DU MARAIS

Les espèces végétales du marais

Populage des marais
De la même famille que le Bouton d’or, le Populage des marais illumine les lieux de son magnifique jaune doré dès le début du printemps. Il donne le top départ des beaux jours. Affectionnant les milieux humides on le trouvera préférentiellement dans les fossés. Impossible de passer à côté !

Observation : mars à mai

Orchis à fleurs lâches
L’orchidée à fleurs lâches est caractéristique des prairies humides. L’activité de fauche lui convient parfaitement pour peu que celle-ci ne se fasse pas avant la mi-juin pour lui permettre de se reproduire. Elle fait partie des deux espèces d’orchidées typiques qui affectionnent les marais avec l’Epipactis helléborine. Elle peut pousser en grande quantité et des peuplements de plusieurs centaines de pieds ne sont pas rares.

Observation : mai à juillet

Guimauve officinale
Avez-vous remarqué cette grande plante à l’aspect duveteux dont la fleur ressemble étrangement à la rose trémière ? C’est la Guimauve officinale. Toutes deux sont  de proches cousines de la famille des Malvacées.
A l’origine la sucrerie appelée "guimauve" était fabriquée avec le mucilage tiré de ses racines. Supplantée par la gélatine animale pour des raisons économiques, la plante n’entre plus dans la composition de cette confiserie.

Observation : juillet à septembre

Grande Berce du Caucase
Cette espèce vivace s’installe très facilement dans les espaces naturels et se répand en abondance. Elle appartient à la même famille que la Carotte, et la Cigüe. La différence notable est qu’elle peut mesurer plus de 4 mètres !
Cette espèce est un danger pour la flore indigène car ne permet pas aux autres plantes de pousser à l’ombre de ses grandes feuilles qui dépassent parfois 1 m2. De plus, elle est toxique et peut engendrer des cloques ainsi que des brûlures à son contact sous l’effet du soleil. Ne poussant pas dans les secteurs ouverts au public, il est donc recommandé de rester sur les cheminements.

Observation : juillet à octobre

 

Les espèces animales du marais

Héron cendré
En vol, planant au dessus des prairies, soit immobile, posté dans l’attente d’un proie, le Héron cendré fait partie des habitués des lieux. On peut l’observer presque toute l’année. Il se nourrit dans les pâtures ou au bord des mares chassant à l’occasion grenouilles et mulots.

Observation : toute l'année

Cigogne blanche
Souvent attachée à l’image de l’Alsace, la Cigogne a colonisé d’autres régions. La Normandie fait partie de ses terres d’accueil privilégiées. Plusieurs centaines de couples y nichent, dont un dans le marais depuis 2012. celui-ci a donné naissance à trois petits la même année, dont deux ont pu prendre leur envol vers l’Espagne. Les parents resteront fidèles à leur lieu de reproduction.

Observation : avril à juillet

Butor étoilé
Le Butor étoilé est plus discret que le Héron ou la Cigogne. Avec son plumage très mimétique, il se camoufle au bord des roselières. Cet hôte n’est que de passage durant l’hiver. Pour le moment le site ne présente pas de roselière assez grande pour qu’il niche ! Particularité amusante : son chant peu mélodieux ressemble au meuglement d'une vache.

Observation : novembre à mars

Rainette arboricole
Une grenouille qui grimpe aux arbres ? Mais si, cela existe aussi en Normandie. En fait la Rainette arboricole n’est pas très rare mais sait se montrer discrète. Vous pourrez malgré tout profiter de ses chants d’amour en vous promenant le soir au printemps par de douces nuits, aux alentours de la "parcelle aux cigognes". A cette période les mâles se réunissent en chorale afin d’augmenter la portée de leur chant et ainsi attirer les femelles des environs.

Observation : avril à octobre