French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

THE CLIFFS OF BLACK COWS, THE PALEONTOLOGICAL SITE OF CALVADOS

It was on the beach at Villers-sur-Mer that the Norman paleontological adventure began! The site of the Vaches Noires cliffs is famous for its fossils from the beginning of the 1716th century. It was here that Father Charles Bacheley (1795-XNUMX) discovered the first dinosaur remains found in France. These cliffs owe their name to the sailors, who when approaching the coast used them as a landmark and found that the large pieces of black chalk that fell on the beach looked like cows.

The site is classified as a natural area of ​​ecological, faunistic and floristic interest of type I. The thickets of the cliffs are a nesting place for several protected bird species, in particular the green woodpecker and the water hen.

© Julien Boisard
© Julien Boisard

140 million years ago, during the Jurassic period, the region was covered by a tropical sea. Qualified today as a paleontological deposit, these cliffs were formed by the accumulation of sediments deposited by this sea, hence the presence in number of fossils of marine reptiles, shark teeth, ammonites ...

Today, the cliffs rise up to 100m above sea level and are composed of a succession of layers of clay, marl and chalk, which makes it possible to discover fossils dating from several eras and to note the evolution of fauna and flora since the Jurassic.

Since 1995, they have been protected and access is prohibited because of the risk of landslides. For safety reasons, fossil collection is only allowed at the foot of the cliffs, which is the best place to find them because during the high tide, the waves make fossils appear in large quantities.

To preserve and share with the public the discoveries made on the cliffs, the Paléospace, a museum dedicated to local paleontology, opened its doors in 2011.

© Julien Boisard

FOSSIL HUNTING WITH BLACK COWS: THE ESSENTIAL MATERIAL

To go hunting for fossils, it is important to be well equipped, but above all, you have to pay attention to the hours of the tides so as not to find yourself stuck at the foot of the cliff by the rising tide.
Timetables are available at the tourist office and on the Internet.

Bring a large bag to put your fossils, rubber boots, comfortable clothes that fear nothing, a small pick or hammer and a chisel to unhook the chosen pieces stuck in the rocks, and an anorak for them. rainy days.
For the more knowledgeable, a small bottle of white vinegar makes it easy to differentiate between white rocks and limestone.

To learn all about the use of white vinegar among paleontologists, go to the Paléospace or on one of the guided tours.

My travel book

Menu

LES FALAISES DES VACHES NOIRES, LE SITE PALEONTOLOGIQUE DU CALVADOS

 

C'est sur la plage de Villers-sur-Mer qu'a commencé l'aventure paléontologique normande ! Le site des falaises des Vaches Noires est célèbre pour ses fossiles dès le début du XVIIIe siècle. C'est ici que l'abbé Charles Bacheley (1716-1795) a découvert les premiers restes de dinosaures trouvés en France. Ces falaises doivent leur nom aux marins, qui en approchant de la côte s’en servaient comme d’un repère et trouvaient que les gros morceaux de craies noires tombés sur la plage ressemblaient à des vaches. 

Le site est classé zone naturelle d'intérêt écologique, faunistique et floristique de type I. Les fourrés des falaises sont un lieu de nidification pour plusieurs espèces d'oiseaux protégés, notamment le pic vert et la poule d’eau. 

 

© Julien Boisard
© Julien Boisard

Il y a 140 millions d’années, à l’époque du Jurassique, la région était recouverte par une mer tropicale. Qualifiée aujourd’hui de gisement paléontologique, ces falaises se sont formées par l’accumulation de sédiments déposés par cette mer, d'où la présence en nombre de fossiles de reptiles marins, dents de requins, ammonites... 

Aujourd’hui, les falaises s’élèvent jusqu’à 100m d’altitude et sont composées d'une succession de couches d'argiles, de marnes et de craie, ce qui permet de découvrir des fossiles datant de plusieurs époques et de constater l’évolution de la faune et la flore depuis le Jurassique. 

Depuis 1995, elles sont protégées et l’accès est interdit à cause des risques d'éboulement. Pour des raisons de sécurité, le ramassage des fossiles est seulement autorisé au pied des falaises, qui est le meilleur endroit pour en trouver car pendant la marée haute, les vagues font apparaitre des fossiles en grande quantité. 

Pour préserver et partager avec le public les découvertes faites aux falaises, le Paléospace, musée dédié à la paléontologie locale, a ouvert ses portes en 2011. 

© Julien Boisard

LA CHASSE AUX FOSSILES AUX VACHES NOIRES : LE MATÉRIEL INDISPENSABLE

Pour partir à la chasse aux fossiles, il est important de bien s’équiper, mais avant tout, il faut faire attention aux heures des marées pour ne pas se retrouver coincé en pied de falaise par la marée montante.
Les horaires sont disponibles à l’office du tourisme et sur internet.

Munissez-vous d’un grand sac pour mettre ses fossiles, des bottes en caoutchouc, des vêtements confortables qui ne craignent rien, une petite pioche ou un marteau et un burin pour décrocher les morceaux choisis coincés dans les roches, et un anorak pour les jours de pluie. 
Pour les plus avertis, une petite bouteille de vinaigre blanc, permet de différencier facilement les roches blanches du calcaire.

Pour tout savoir de l’usage du vinaigre blanc chez les paléontologues, rendez-vous au Paléospace ou sur l’une des visites guidées.