French Dutch English German Spanish

THE EXHIBITION ON THE BEACH: THE COMPLICITY OF DEAUVILLE WITH THE PHOTOGRAPHERS

There is no shortage of images to illustrate Deauville's complicity with the great photographers of the XXe century. Like the outdoor painters and the impressionists, they drew inspiration from Deauville influenced by the sea, the light and the atmosphere of the city. The beach exhibition - often their favorite place - is dedicated to them every year. Its particularity, a giant installation for exceptional and often unpublished images.

 

Roger Schall © Justine Jacquemot
Deauville, June 1938 Barry Wall attends a concert on the sea lice © Jacques Henri Lartigue

FLASHBACK ON A CENTURY OF COMPLICITY
From 1906, Jacques Henri Lartigue photographs the events and social life of Deauville. From 1919, the Séeberger brothers regularly go to Deauville at the request of the couturiers to immortalize, in a high place of elegance, women dressed by Paul Poiret, Jean Patou, Coco Chanel or Madeleine Vionnet ... Fashion photography has also attracted to the beach de Deauville, and in the architecture of its bathing cabins, Jean-Loup Sieff, Guy Bourdin, Peter Lindbergh... In 1952, Robert Capa, immortalizes the races, the Bar du Soleil and the crazy nights of Deauville. Robert Doisneau carried out an advertising campaign for Kodak in 1963 and took the opportunity to photograph the races. Photographers from Agence Magnum will come several times: Leonard freed in 1964, Bruno barbey in 1966, Sarah Moon and in 1970 Henri Cartier-Bresson in 1973. It was in 1980 that John batho realizes on the beach of Deauville, his famous series of parasols, in square formats, on Fresson paper. The story continues today thanks to the residences of the Festival Planche (s) Contact but also at the request of international magazines which choose Deauville as a photo studio.
 

Deauville, June 1938 Barry Wall attends a concert on the sea lice © Jacques Henri Lartigue

Koto Bolofo, the 2019 guest

Discover
2017: THE IDEAL STUDIO BY PETER KNAPP
First retrospective presented by the Planche (s) Contact festival, the fashion images produced in the 1970s and 80s by Peter Knapp for the Courrèges house or for the Elle or Stern magazines. The boards of Deauville and the seafront provided an ideal backdrop both for fashion and for a personal series entitled “Composites-Recomposés”. These blue monochrome photographs, which only have the sky as a motif, were worked on in Deauville where he deepened his research.
 
2018: LES ETES DEAUVILLAIS BY ROGER SCHALL (1934> 1950)
In the 30s, photographer Roger Schall (1904-1995) was engulfed in the media revolution constituted by the birth of the illustrated press. He is one of the first followers of Rolleiflex and its square images. He then established himself as one of the best French photoreporters. Multiplying reports and orders for VU, Match, L'Illustration, Marie-Claire,… he discovered Deauville in 1934 and produced until 1950 many images, with rigorous compositions.
 
2017: THE DEAUVILLE OF PETER LINDBERGH
Peter Lindbergh was one of the most influential contemporary photographers of our time working for the most prestigious international brands and magazines. Visionary, he shakes up the codes of post-modern fashion photography by inducting in his compositions a new image of women, modern and freed from old beauty codes, where little importance is attached to clothing. He produced timeless images, convinced that the interest of a subject lies elsewhere than in its age. Since 1980, the photographer had adopted the beach of Deauville for his fashion shots. Two or three times a year, for thirty-nine years, he has photographed Catherine Deneuve, Antonio Banderas, Pascal Greggory and many others on the beach.
In tribute to Joséphine Baker, in 1988 he revealed an unknown woman named Naomi Campbell there and made sublime portraits of Linda Evangelista and Kristen McMenamy. His last visit to Deauville, in May 2019, for Vogue Germany was a natural tribute to Karl Lagerfeld.

My travel book

L'EXPOSITION SUR LA PLAGE : LA COMPLICITE DE DEAUVILLE AVEC LES PHOTOGRAPHES

Les images ne manquent pas pour illustrer la complicité de Deauville avec les grands photographes du XXe siècle. Comme les peintres de plein air et les impressionnistes, ils ont puisé à Deauville une inspiration influencée par la mer, la lumière et l'atmosphère de la ville. L'exposition sur la plage - souvent leur lieu de prédilection - leur est dédiée chaque année. Sa particularité, une installation géante pour des images exceptionnelles et souvent inédites.

 

Roger Schall © Justine Jacquemot
Deauville, juin 1938 Barry Wall assiste à un concert sur les lais de mer © Jacques Henri Lartigue

FLASHBACK SUR UN SIECLE DE COMPLICITE
Dès 1906, Jacques Henri Lartigue photographie les événements et la vie mondaine de Deauville. A partir de 1919, les frères Séeberger se rendent régulièrement à Deauville à la demande des couturiers pour immortaliser, en un haut lieu de l’élégance, les femmes habillées par Paul Poiret, Jean Patou, Coco Chanel ou Madeleine Vionnet...  La photographie de mode a également attiré sur la plage de Deauville, et dans l’architecture de ses cabines de bain, Jean-Loup Sieff, Guy Bourdin, Peter Lindbergh...  En 1952, Robert Capa, immortalise les courses, le Bar du Soleil et les folles nuits deauvillaises. Robert Doisneau réalisa en 1963 une campagne publicitaire pour Kodak et en profitera pour photographier les courses. Les photographes de l’Agence Magnum viendront à plusieurs reprises : Leonard Freed en 1964, Bruno Barbey en 1966, Sarah Moon en 1970 et Henri Cartier-Bresson en 1973.  C’est en 1980 que John Batho réalise sur la plage de Deauville, sa célèbre série de parasols, en formats carrés, sur papier Fresson. L'histoire se poursuit aujourd'hui grâce aux résidences du Festival Planche(s) Contact mais aussi à la demande de magazines internationaux qui choisissent Deauville comme studio photo.
 

Deauville, juin 1938 Barry Wall assiste à un concert sur les lais de mer © Jacques Henri Lartigue

Koto Bolofo, l'invité 2019

Découvrir
2017 : LE STUDIO IDEAL DE PETER KNAPP
Première rétrospective présentée par le festival Planche(s) Contact, les images de mode réalisées dans les années 1970-80 par Peter Knapp pour la maison Courrèges ou pour les magazines Elle ou Stern.  Les planches de Deauville et le front de mer ont fourni un décor idéal tant pour la mode que pour une série  personnelle intitulée  « composés-recomposés ». Ces photographies monochromes bleues, qui n'ont pour motif que le ciel,  ont été travaillées à Deauville où il a approfondit ses recherches.
 
2018 : LES ETES DEAUVILLAIS DE ROGER SCHALL (1934 > 1950)
Dans les années 30, le photographe Roger Schall (1904- 1995) s’engouffre dans la révolution médiatique que constitue la naissance de la presse illustrée. Il est l’un des premiers adeptes du Rolleiflex et de ses images carrées. Il s’impose alors comme l’un des meilleurs photoreporters français. Multipliant les reportages et commandes pour VU, Match, L’Illustration, Marie-Claire, … il découvre Deauville en 1934 et réalise jusqu’en 1950 de nombreuses images, aux compositions rigoureuses.
 
2017 : LE DEAUVILLE DE PETER LINDBERGH
Peter Lindbergh fut l’un des photographes contemporains les plus marquants de notre époque travaillant pour les plus prestigieuses marques et magazines internationaux. Visionnaire, il bouscule les codes de la photographie de mode post-moderne en intronisant dans ses compositions une nouvelle image de la femme, moderne et affranchie des codes de beauté anciens, où peu d’importance est portée au vêtement. Il a réalisé des images intemporelles, convaincu que l’intérêt d’un sujet réside ailleurs que dans son âge.   Depuis 1980, le photographe avait adopté la plage de Deauville pour ses prises de vues de mode. Deux à trois fois par an, trente-neuf ans durant, il a photographié sur la plage Catherine Deneuve, Antonio Banderas, Pascal Greggory et beaucoup d’autres.
En hommage à Joséphine Baker, il y a révélé en 1988 une inconnue nommée Naomi Campbell et réalisé de sublimes portraits de Linda Evangelista et Kristen McMenamy. Sa dernière venue à Deauville, en mai 2019, pour Vogue Allemagne fut un hommage naturel à Karl Lagerfeld.