French Dutch English German Spanish

In 1975: BIRTH OF THE AMERICAN CINEMA FESTIVAL

In 1975, the American Film Festival was still only an abstraction, a concept, an idea in the air ...
Nothing predisposed Deauville to become a high place of cinema and yet it was in the spotlight since 1966 with the film by Claude Lelouch "A man and a woman".

In reality, in 1975, around fifty films had already been produced in Deauville since 1950, including The Baron de l'Ecluse by Jean Delannoy with Jean Gabin, Micheline Presle in 1959; Dangerous Liaisons by Roger Vadim with Gérard Philippe, Jeanne Moreau, JL Trintignant in 1959.
When the idea for the Festival comes to them, André Halimi and Lionel Chouchan have two or three possible host cities in mind. It is with the Mayor of Deauville, Michel d'Ornano that they find the greatest attention. With conviction, they obtain the support of Lucien Barrière, CEO of the Group bearing his name. André Halimi and Lionel Chouchan want to quench a passion and Michel d'Ornano and Lucien Barrière are looking for a way to attract tourists beyond the horse-racing season. Thanks to this quartet, the American Film Festival was born in September 1975.

Placed under the sign of discovery, the Deauville festival lived for 20 years with no other ambition than to be the showcase of American cinema in Europe, so no competition. From the start, this is the condition set by the big American firms to lend their films. (04/09/1992: opening of the CID for the 18th festival.) In 1995, the festival acquired a prize list but only independent films entered in competition.
Today, the festival aims, among other things, to help the dissemination and promotion on the European market of previously unreleased American films produced independently. The festival also has the mission of celebrating the great American cinema of the past through retrospectives, tributes or carte blanche to great figures from across the Atlantic.

My travel book

1975 : NAISSANCE DU FESTIVAL DU CINEMA AMERICAIN

En 1975, le Festival du Cinéma Américain n’était encore qu’une abstraction, un concept, une idée en l’air…
Rien ne prédisposait Deauville à devenir un haut lieu du cinéma et pourtant elle était sous les feux des projecteurs depuis 1966 avec le film de Claude Lelouch « Un homme et une femme ».

En réalité, en 1975, une cinquantaine de films a déjà été réalisée à Deauville depuis 1950 dont Le Baron de l’Ecluse de Jean Delannoy avec Jean Gabin, Micheline Presle en 1959 ; Les Liaisons dangereuses de Roger Vadim avec Gérard Philippe, Jeanne Moreau, JL Trintignant en 1959.
Lorsque l’idée du Festival leur vient, André Halimi et Lionel Chouchan, ont en tête deux ou trois villes d’accueil possibles. C’est auprès du Maire de Deauville, Michel d’Ornano qu’ils trouvent la plus grande attention. Avec force de conviction, ils obtiennent l’adhésion de Lucien Barrière, PDG du Groupe portant son nom. André Halimi et Lionel Chouchan veulent assouvir une passion et Michel d’Ornano et Lucien Barrière cherchent un moyen d’attirer des touristes au-delà de la saison hippique. Grâce à ce quatuor, le Festival du Cinéma Américain voit le jour en septembre 1975.

 

Placé sous le signe de la découverte, le festival de Deauville a vécu pendant 20 ans sans autre ambition que d’être la vitrine du cinéma américain en Europe, donc pas de compétition. Dès le début, c’est la condition fixée par les grandes firmes américaines pour prêter leurs films. (04/09/1992: ouverture du CID pour le 18e festival.) En 1995, le festival se dote d’un palmarès mais uniquement les films indépendants entrent en compétition.
Aujourd’hui, le festival a pour but, entre autres, d’aider à la diffusion et la promotion sur le marché européen de films américains inédits produits de manière indépendante. Le festival a également pour mission de célébrer le grand cinéma américain du passé à travers rétrospectives, hommages ou carte blanche à de grandes figures du cinéma d’Outre-Atlantique.

 

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture