Wang lin

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2015

© Wang Lin
© Sandrine Boyer Angel

Double meaning

Ex-stewardess today focused on her photographic work, Wang Lin pursues in Deauville a quest for identity started several years ago. Between frontal, almost documentary panoramas, and conceptual and poetic scenes, Wang Lin brings a new look to Deauville Normandy airport.

Born in 1973 in Tianjin, Wang Lin joined Hainan Airlines as a flight attendant in 1992, at the age of 19. Ten years later, she resigns to join theAcademy of Fine Arts from beijing in order to study photography. Graduated in 2005, she joined OKAirline, which allowed him for five years to reconcile his two passions, fly and photograph. His documentary series on the life of flight attendants begins to be exposed and attracts a lot of attention on websites. This enthusiasm leads to her dismissal by her employer and to a lawsuit, which she will lose.

Today, Wang Lin devotes himself entirely to photographic creation. His work remains autobiographical. Centered on his identity as a cabin crew, Wang Lin tells his story through a series of self-portraits in imaginary landscapes. Her new research portrays her as a sleepwalking air hostess in an abandoned airport in Tianjin, her hometown, as a metaphor for modern China caught up in the construction and renovation virus.

In the vein of this identity and personal quest, she wanted to continue in Deauville the work started in Tianjin and in her series "Stray Tulips" by going to the Deauville-Normandie airport site. There, between almost documentary frontal views and conceptual stagings, she brought her sensitivity as a woman photographer and ex-flight attendant and continued her self-portraitist work to render an unprecedented version of the Deauvillaise terminal.

Jean Loh, exhibition curator about the exhibition Double meaning by Wang Lin: 
"Pronounced with a slight English accent on the boards of Deauville, the title "Double meaning", taken from Wang Lin's work, adds to the already flagrant visual shift a touch of exoticism, as soon as we discover that these photographs are taken by a former Chinese flight attendant. 
Taking advantage of Deauville airport, Wang Lin finds his familiar tarmac to start a new part of his autobiographical work. Like a fallen angel who can no longer fly, Wang Lin plays the game of "
it existed"so dear to Roland Barthes:"I am there and I am no longer there"Between the airstrip and the beach, between sky and sea, between the sailor and the air, with delicacy and sensitivity, Wang Lin expresses his heartbreak between gravity and freedom."

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices:

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Residence of the Clock
Empress Eugenie wharf
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean-Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

ANY TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Toques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Louis Delamare Promenade
(behind the aid station)
14800 Tourgeville
See opening hours

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Wang Lin

Photographe invitée au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2015

© Wang Lin
© Sandrine Boyer Engel

Double Entendre

Ex-hôtesse de l'air aujourd'hui centrée sur son travail photographique, Wang Lin poursuit à Deauville une quête identitaire commencée il y a plusieurs années. Entre panoramas frontaux, presque documentaires, et mises en scènes conceptuelles et poétiques, Wang Lin apporte un regard nouveau sur l'aéroport Deauville Normandie.

Née en 1973 à Tianjin, Wang Lin rejoint Hainan Airline comme hôtesse de l'air en 1992, à l'âge de 19 ans. Dix ans après, elle démissionne pour s'inscrire à l'Académie des Beaux-Arts de Pékin afin d'étudier la photographie. Diplômée en 2005, elle rejoint Okay Airline, qui lui a permis durant cinq ans de concilier ses deux passions, voler et photographier. Sa série documentaire de la vie des hôtesses de l'air commence à être exposée et suscite énormément d'attention sur les sites Internet. Cet enthousiasme conduit à son licenciement par son employeur et à un procès, qu'elle perdra.

Aujourd'hui, Wang Lin se consacre entièrement à la création photographique. Son travail demeure autobiographique. Centrée sur son identité de personnel naviguant, Wang Lin se raconte à travers une série d'autoportraits dans des paysages imaginaires. Ses nouvelles recherches la mettent en scène en hôtesse de l'air somnambule dans un aéroport abandonné de Tianjin, sa ville natale, comme une métaphore de la Chine moderne rattrapée par le virus de la construction et de la rénovation.

Dans la veine de cette quête identitaire et personnelle, elle a souhaité continuer à Deauville le travail commencé à Tianjin et dans sa série « Stray Tulips » en se rendant sur le site de l'aéroport Deauville-Normandie. Là, entre vues frontales presque documentaires et mises en scènes conceptuelles, elle a apporté sa sensibilité de femme photographe et ex-hôtesse de l'air et continué son travail autoportraitiste pour rendre une version inédite de l'aérogare Deauvillaise.

Jean Loh, commissaire de l'exposition à propos de l'exposition Double Entendre de Wang Lin : 
"Prononcé avec un léger accent anglais sur les planches de Deauville, le titre "Double entendre", tiré du travail de Wang Lin, ajoute au décalage visuel déjà flagrant une touche d'exotisme, dès lors que l'on découvre que ces photographies sont prises par une ancienne hôtesse de l'air chinoise. 
Prenant avantage de l'aéroport de Deauville, Wang Lin retrouve son tarmac familier pour entamer un nouveau volet de son travail autobiographique. Comme un ange déchu qui ne peut plus voler, Wang Lin joue le jeu de "
ça a existé" si cher à Roland Barthes : "Je suis là et je ne suis plus là". Entre la piste d'atterissage et la plage, entre ciel et mer, entre le marin et l'aérien, avec délicatesse et sensibilité, Wang Lin exprime son déchirement entre la pesanteur et la liberté."