French Dutch English German Spanish

Peter Lindbergh

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2017

Catherine Deneuve, 1991 © Peter Lindbergh
Milla's shoes, 1990 © Peter Lindbergh

Deauville by Peter Lindbergh

Born in 1944 in Germany and died on September 3, 2019 in Paris, Peter Lindbergh is one of the most striking contemporary photographers of our time. A visionary, he shakes up the codes of post-modern fashion photography by inducting into his compositions a new image of women, modern and freed from old codes of beauty, where little importance is given to clothing.
Peter Lindbergh creates timeless images, between a humanist approach and the idealization of women. Convinced that the interest of a subject resides elsewhere than in his age, he shakes up the standards of fashion photography at a time when we are used to exaggeratingly retouching images. He explains that " the responsibility of photographers today must be to liberate women and, in short, everyone, from the obsession of youth and perfection ».
Since the late 1970s, Lindbergh has worked for prestigious brands and magazines, including the American, Italian and German editions of the Vogue, the American edition of Harper's Bazaar as well as magazines, Rolling Stone, Vanity Fair, Wall Street Journal Magazine, Visionaire, Interview et W.
It was in 1980 that Peter Lindbergh produced his first fashion report in Deauville for Vogue Italy. It has never stopped coming back every year, seduced by the space of the beach and its changing lights.
In 2017, he returned to Deauville for a monumental exhibition with twenty-two photographs presented in a monumental installation testify to this strong encounter between a place and an artist. Peter Lindbergh's first outdoor exhibition, the installation Le Deauville by Peter Lindbergh was installed on the very premises where these photographs were taken.

Babeth Djian, member of the Contact Board (s) jury, about the exhibition Deauville by Peter Lindbergh :
"No one better than the immense photographer Peter Lindbergh has been able to reveal the woman herself in her naked, disturbing and moving truth.
From Catherine Deneuve to Naomi Campbell, Deauville beach has been one of her favorite places for its special light.
This decor, both inspiring and poetic, served as a canvas to sublimate and immortalize the most beautiful women of our time.
"

My travel book

Peter Lindbergh

Photographe du festival Planches Contact 2017

Catherine Deneuve, 1991 ©Peter Lindbergh
Milla’s shoes, 1990 ©Peter Lindbergh

Le Deauville de Peter Lindbergh

Né en 1944 en Allemagne et décédé le 3 septembre 2019 à Paris, Peter Lindbergh est l’un des photographes contemporains les plus marquants de notre époque. Visionnaire, il bouscule les codes de la photographie de mode post-moderne en intronisant dans ses compositions une nouvelle image de la femme, moderne et affranchie des codes de beauté anciens, où peu d’importance est portée au vêtement.
Peter Lindbergh réalise des images intemporelles, entre approche humaniste et idéalisation de la femme. Convaincu que l’intérêt d’un sujet réside ailleurs que dans son âge, il bouscule les normes de la photographie de mode à une époque où l’on a l’habitude d’exagérément retoucher les images. Il explique que « la responsabilité des photographes, aujourd’hui, doit être de libérer les femmes et, en somme, tout le monde, de la hantise de la jeunesse et de la perfection ».
Depuis la fin des années 1970, Lindbergh a travaillé pour de prestigieuses marques et magazines, notamment les éditions américaines, italiennes et allemandes du Vogue, l’édition américaine du Harper’s Bazaar ainsi que les magazines, Rolling Stone, Vanity Fair, Wall Street Journal Magazine, Visionaire, Interview et W.
C’est en 1980 que Peter Lindbergh réalise son premier reportage de mode à Deauville pour Vogue Italie. Il n’a cessé depuis de revenir chaque année, séduit par l’espace de la plage et ses lumières changeantes.
En 2017, il revient à Deauville pour une exposition monumentale avec vingt-deux photographies présentées dans une installation monumentale témoignent de cette rencontre forte entre un lieu et un artiste. Première exposition de plein-air de Peter Lindbergh, l’installation Le Deauville de Peter Lindbergh a été implantée sur les lieux même où ces photographies ont été réalisées.

Babeth Djian, membre du jury Planche(s) Contact, à propos de l'exposition Le Deauville de Peter Lindbergh
"Personne mieux que l'immense photographe Peter Lindbergh n'a su révéler la femme elle-même dans sa vérité nue, troublante et émouvante. 
De Catherine Deneuve à Naomi Campbell, la plage de Deauville a été un de ses lieux de prédilection pour sa lumière si particulière.
Ce décor, à la fois inspirant et poétique, lui a servi de toile pour sublimer et immortaliser les plus belles femmes de notre époque.
"

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture