French Dutch English German Spanish

Corinne Mercadier

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2015

© Corinne Mercadier
© Sandrine Boyer Engel

The sky starts here

Finalist in 2013 of the Photography Prize of the Academy of Fine Arts, Corinne Mercadier is part of the tradition of plastic photography. As part of Planche (s) Contact, she is continuing her series in Deauville The sky starts here, initiated in 2013. Scenes photographed during the day and then reworked in nocturnal atmospheres with dancers and objects, on the roof terraces of large establishments on the seafront (roofs of the Casino, the Hotel Normandy, the Olympic swimming pool in the form of seashells and Pompeian baths). So many unpublished and unknown decorations that reveal themselves for unique scenes.

“The sky begins here is a series which, as a project in 2013, was a finalist for the Academy of Fine Arts Prize. The Paris Observatory and the Château de Saint Germain-en-Laye were already the scene of achievements in 2014. The places that host these shots, whether dedicated to art, culture or leisure , form an exceptional constellation. Architecture links time and space on earth to the unknown that overlooks it. […] It is a question of considering the top of the buildings as a privileged space, to relate the city, the sea and the sky in a unique way, to stand at the “sublime point” invisible, usually, of the panorama ”.
Corinne Mercadier

The photographic work of Corinne Mercadier is linked until 2008 to the Polaroïd SX70. From these photos, she creates enlarged prints of different formats. The Landscapes series (1992) et Where does the sky begin? (1995-1996) surround the void, the horizon, and play with the notion of point of view and framework. From 2000, she manufactured flexible sculptures intended to be launched and photographed in series Once and no more (2000-2002), The Arles Suite (2003) The Eight gone (2006) et Long distance (2005-2007).

That year, the cessation of the production of the Polaroïd SX70 film prompted Corinne Mercadier to experiment with various photographic mediums, and her choice fell on digital tools. They have made fundamental changes to the camera systems and the aesthetics of its images. The first two series thus worked, Solo and Black Screen, will be presented during the Month of La Photo in Paris, in 2012.

In 2014, the Fotografiska Museum in Stockholm devoted a retrospective to him: "Wicked Gravity". In 2013, she was invited by the Réattu Museum of Arles to participate in the Cloud exhibition, and the City of Rennes shows on the Place de l'Hotel de Ville an exhibition bringing together 40 photographs from 1992 to 2012.

Corinne Mercadier has exhibited regularly since 1998 at the Les Filles du Calvaire gallery (Paris) where she is represented. His photographs were also exhibited at the Alan Klotz gallery in New York in 2006 and 2008; at the festival Fotofest in Houston, Texas; to the FIAC and Paris Photo (Les Filles du Calvaire stand); to the Primavera FotoGrafica from Barcelona; to thebow from Madrid and toAIPAD from New York.

In 2001, Corinne Mercadier receives the Altadis Prize and is exhibited at the gallery Durand-Dessert, from Paris, as well as at the Gallery Juana de Aizpuru from Madrid. In 2003, she obtained an order from the Museum Reattached d'Arles and the Ministry of Culture on the occasion of which it carries out The Arles Suite.

His photographs are present in the collections of The European House of Photography (Paris); of FNAC (National Contemporary Art Fund of Paris) of The National Library (Paris); of frac Ile-de-France (Regional Contemporary Art Fund); from the Collection Polaroid Corporation ; of Image Museum of Epinal; of Malraux Museum from Le Havre and Réattu Museum of Arles.

Corinne Mercadier has published most of her books with Filigranes editions: Where the sky begins ? (1996), Dreaming journal (1999) A monograph (2007), as well as his latest work, In front of a Dark Field (2012). His works were acquired by the art libraries of Angers, Nantes, Grenoble, Villefranche-sur-Saône, by Le Château d'Eau, in Toulouse and by L'Imagerie de Lannion.

Corinne Mercadier about her exhibition The sky starts here in Deauville:
"In Deauville I open a new chapter in the series I am currently working on, The sky starts here, staging on the roofs of remarkable buildings. The City gave me wide access to its particular roofs and I have kept two, by the sea, strange and theatrical: the "Pompeii baths" and the swimming pool.
From the roofs, the architecture - the human space par excellence - offers exceptional points of view on what surrounds the ground, but also on the unconstructed, unquantifiable and fluid space of the sky.
Heaven has an important part in the history of my work. The constellations, the symbolic organization of the disturbing intersidereal spaces are subjects of reverie which nourish my photographs and my drawings for a long time.
With the locations, the topography of the places and their history lead me to visions which are gradually fixed in scenes. Dancing characters and objects take place. I draw them on a workbook.
At this stage, I am accompanied by works that matter to me. Listening to what Deauville said to me, D¨rer, Kubrick, Spilliaert and Poe passed before my eyes. Melancholy and mystery.
Then begins the production of the objects, which play a central role in the shooting: whether they are launched or whether they are part of the attributes of a character, they come into contact with the body, the decor, the light, the weather.
Photography will perpetuate their passage at high speed. Time comes to take the picture, the light, the wind. It is chance that takes control of the road map with numbered scenes. It is he who has the last word, because he has the power to deposit on the sensor the trace of a symmetry, a strangeness that it would have been vain to desire. All this organization to circumscribe the field of games of chance. To make room for it, let it shape unexpected forms of reality. A long job awaits me. Solitary, enclosed with the star pixels of my raw files, I enter the real night of images. "

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Corinne Mercadier

Photographe invitée au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2015

© Corinne Mercadier
© Sandrine Boyer Engel

Le ciel commence ici

Finaliste en 2013 du Prix de photographie de l'Académie des Beaux-Arts, Corinne Mercadier s'inscrit dans la tradition de la photographie plasticienne. Dans le cadre de Planche(s) Contact, elle poursuit, à Deauville, sa série Le ciel commence ici, initiée en 2013. Des mises en scènes photographiées de jour puis retravaillées dans des ambiances nocturnes avec danseurs et objets, sur les toits-terrasses des grands établissements du front de mer (toits du Casino, de l'Hôtel Normandy, de la piscine olympique en forme de coquillage et des bains pompéiens). Autant de décors inédits et méconnus qui se révèlent pour des mises en scènes singulières.

« Le ciel commence ici est une série qui, à l'état de projet en 2013, a été finaliste du Prix de l'Académie des Beaux-Arts. L'Observatoire de Paris et le Château de Saint Germain-en-Laye ont déjà été le théâtre de réalisations en 2014. Les lieux qui accueillent ces prises de vues, qu'ils soient dédiés à l'art, à la culture ou aux loisirs, forment une exceptionnelle constellation. L'architecture lie le temps et l'espace terrestres à l'inconnu qui la surplombe. […] Il s'agit de considérer le sommet des bâtiments comme un espace privilégié, pour mettre en relation la ville, la mer et le ciel de façon unique, se poster au « point sublime » invisible, habituellement, du panorama ».
Corinne Mercadier

L'oeuvre photographique de Corinne Mercadier est liée jusqu'en 2008 au Polaroïd SX70. A partir de ces clichés, elle réalise des tirages agrandis de différents formats. Les séries Paysages (1992) et Où commence le ciel ? (1995-1996) cernent le vide, l'horizon, et jouent avec la notion de point de vue et de cadre. A partir de 2000, elle fabrique des sculptures souples destinées à être lancées et photographiées dans les séries Une fois et pas plus (2000-2002), La Suite d'Arles (2003), Le Huit envolé (2006) et Longue Distance (2005-2007).

Cette année-là, l'arrêt de la fabrication de la pellicule Polaroïd SX70 pousse Corinne Mercadier à expérimenter divers médiums photographiques, et son choix se porte sur les outils numériques. Ils ont apporté des modifications fondamentales aux dispositifs de prises de vues et à l'esthétique de ses images. Les deux premières séries ainsi travaillées, Solo et Black Screen, seront présentées durant le Mois de La Photo à Paris, en 2012.

En 2014, le Musée Fotografiska de Stockholm lui consacre une rétrospective : « Wicked Gravity ». En 2013, elle est invitée par le Musée Réattu d'Arles à participer à l'exposition Nuage, et la Ville de Rennes montre sur la place de l'Hôtel de Ville une exposition rassemblant 40 photographies de 1992 à 2012.

Corinne Mercadier a exposé régulièrement depuis 1998 à la galerie Les Filles du Calvaire, (Paris) par laquelle elle est représentée. Ses photographies ont également été exposées à la galerie Alan Klotz à New-York en 2006 et 2008 ; au festival Fotofest à Houston au Texas ; à la FIAC et à Paris Photo (stand Les Filles du Calvaire) ; à la Primavera FotoGrafica de Barcelone ; à l'Arco de Madrid et à l'AIPAD de New-York.

En 2001, Corinne Mercadier reçoit le prix Altadis et est exposée à la galerie Durand-Dessert, de Paris, ainsi qu'à la Galerie Juana de Aizpuru de Madrid. En 2003, elle obtient une commande du Musée Réattu d'Arles et du Ministère de la Culture à l'occasion de laquelle elle réalise La Suite d'Arles.

Ses photographies sont présentes dans les collections de La Maison Européenne de la Photographie (Paris) ; du FNAC (Fonds National d'Art Contemporain de Paris) de La Bibliothèque Nationale (Paris) ; du FRAC d'Ile-de-France (Fonds régional d'Art Contemporain) ; de la Collection Polaroïd Corporation ; du Musée de l'Image d'Epinal ; du Musée Malraux du Havre et du Musée Réattu d'Arles.

Corinne Mercadier a publié la plupart de ses livres aux éditions Filigranes : Où commence le ciel ? (1996), Dreaming Journal (1999), Une monographie (2007), ainsi que son dernier ouvrage, Devant un Champ Obscur (2012). Ses oeuvres ont été acquises par les artothèques d'Angers, de Nantes, de Grenoble, de Villefranche-sur-Saône, par Le Château d'Eau, à Toulouse et par L'Imagerie de Lannion.

Corinne Mercadier à propos de son exposition Le ciel commence ici à Deauville : 
"A Deauville j'ouvre un nouveau chapitre de la série à laquelle je travaille actuellement, Le cielle commence ici, des mises en scène sur les toits de bâtiments remarquables. La Ville m'a ouvert en grand l'accès à ses toitures particulières et j'en ai concervé deux, en bord de mer, étranges et théâtrale : les "Bains pompéiens" et la piscine. 
Depuis les toits, l'architecture - l'espace humain par excellence - offre des points de vue exceptionnels sur ce qui entoure au sol, mais aussi sur l'espace non-construit, inquantifiable et fluide du ciel. 
Le ciel a une part importante dans l'histoire de mon travail. Les constellations, l'organisation symbolique des inquiétants espaces intersidéraux sont des sujets de rêverie qui nourrissent mes photographies et mes dessins depuis longtemps. 
Avec les repérages, la topographie des lieux et leur histoire m'amènent vers des visions qui se fixent peu à peu en scènes. Des personnages dansant et des objets prennent place. Je les dessine sur un carnet de travail. 
A ce stade, je me fais accompagner par des oeuvres qui comptent pour moi. En écoutant ce que Deauville me disait, sont passés devant mes yeux D¨rer, Kubrick, Spilliaert et Poe. Mélancolie et mystère. 
Puis commence la fabrication des objets, qui tiennent un rôle central dans la prise de vue : qu'ils soient lancés ou qu'ils fassent partie des attributs d'un personnages, ils entrent en relation avec le corps, le décor, la lumière, le temps. 
La photographie perpétuera leur passage à grande vitesse. Arrive le temps de la prise de vue, la lumière, le vent. C'est le hasard qui prend alors la main sur la feuille de route aux scènes numérotées. C'est lui qui a le dernier mot, car il a le pouvoir de déposer sur le capteur la trace d'une symétrie, d'une étrangeté qu'il aurait été vain de désirer. Toute cette organisation pour circonscrire le terrain des jeux du hasard. Pour lui faire place, le laisser façonner des formes inattendues du réel. Un long travail m'attend. Solitaire, enfermée avec les pixels-étoiles de mes fichiers bruts, j'entre dans la vraie nuit des images."