French Dutch English German Spanish

DEAUVILLE Deauville Yacht Club> October 3 to 9

MINI 6.50 - CALVADOS CUP 2020

First edition of the Calvados Cup, a 300-mile double-handed race from Deauville on courses in the Baie de Seine.

The Calvados Cup is dedicated to mini 6,50, boats small in size (6,5 meters) but real bombs intended for pure performance, designed to tackle the most difficult conditions in complete safety. Organized by the Deauville Yacht Club, in partnership with the City of Deauville and the Department of Calvados, this race is a great first for all skippers because there has so far been no competition for this category of boats in the Channel.

The course
The Mini 6.50-Calvados Cup 2020 will start from Deauville on Wednesday October 7, 2020 at 14 p.m. for a course in the Bay of the Seine along the Calvados coast. The "mini-cars" will return to Deauville on Friday 9 October, subject to weather conditions.

This event will qualify for the Mini Transat 2021 which will link the Sables d'Olonne to Saint-François in Guadeloupe via the Canary Islands.

A little history...
The birth certificate of the races aboard these fabulous small sailboats dates from October 8, 1977, in Penzance (United Kingdom): 24 sailboats of 6,50m take off with only one sailor on board to Antigua via the Canaries. The Mini Transat was born. Reconnecting with the adventurous spirit of the first transatlantic races far from the gigantism of contemporary transatlantic races, they will find themselves every odd year on their favorite playground: the Atlantic.

 

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

DEAUVILLE Deauville Yacht Club > 3 au 9 octobre

MINI 6.50 - CALVADOS CUP 2020

Première édition de la Calvados Cup, une course en double de 300 milles au départ de Deauville sur des parcours en Baie de Seine.

La Calvados Cup est dédiée aux mini 6,50, des bateaux petits par la taille (6,5 mètres) mais véritables bombes destinées à la performance pure, conçus pour affronter les conditions les plus difficiles en toute sécurité. Organisée par le Deauville Yacht Club, en partenariat avec la Ville de Deauville et le Département du Calvados, cette course est une grande première pour tous les skippers car il n'existait pas jusqu'à présent de compétition pour cette catégorie de bateaux en Manche.

Le parcours
La Mini 6.50-Calvados Cup 2020 partira de Deauville le mercredi 7 octobre 2020 à 14h pour un parcours en baie de Seine le long des côtes du Calvados. Les "mini-bolides" seront de retour à Deauville vendredi 9 octobre, sous réserve des conditions météorologiques.

Cette épreuve sera qualificative pour la Mini Transat 2021 qui reliera les Sables d’Olonne à Saint-François en Guadeloupe via les îles Canaries.

Un peu d'histoire...
L'acte de naissance des courses à bord de ces petits voiliers fabuleux date du 8 octobre 1977, à Penzance (Royaume Uni) : 24 voiliers de 6,50m prennent le large avec un seul marin à bord vers Antigua via les Canaries. La Mini Transat est née. Renouant avec l'esprit aventureux des premières transatlantiques loin du gigantisme des courses transatlantiques contemporaines, ils vont se retrouver toutes les années impaires sur leur terrain de jeu favori : l'Atlantique.