French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

SARAH MOON

Photographer

© Sara Moon
© Naïade Plante
© Hélène Reitzaum

Deauville facing the sea

A fashion and advertising photographer since 1968, Sarah Moon quickly won praise and prizes in Paris, London, New York or Tokyo, where her exhibitions were very noticed. His photos have been published in numerous magazines, as well as in books (Unlikely memories, Little Red Riding Hood, 12345…).

Since 1980, she has signed over XNUMX advertising films, as well as several feature films. Sarah Moon is the author of a very personal photographic work, highlighting the transience of beauty, the ephemeral and the wear of time.

Invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2014, Sarah Moon photographed Deauville Beach in winter, imagining a series entitled Deauville facing the sea, when everything is asleep, numbed by the cold and the storm. "I am delighted to have had this opportunity to work freely in Deauville. I spent two days in the mist. It was magnificent. I had the feeling of a real privilege to see this place always so festive in these "The light changed all the time, it was very beautiful. I saw this architecture, and endless lines, when they are usually cut by silhouettes", welcomes the photographer. In Deauville, "there are breakthroughs in the sun, the sky turns from gray to blue, it goes very quickly. It's a real festival!", She adds. "I photograph privilege, evanescence - the improbable or the beauty - I seek emotion there and the quest is all the more desperate, will she write. Often I envy those who know how to photograph life. I run from it - I start from nothing - I testify to nothing - I invent a story that I don't tell, I imagine a situation that does not exist - I create a place where I erase another, I move the light - I hope for chance and I want more than anything to be touched at the same time as I aim ".

A major exhibition by Sarah Moon is planned for April 2020 at the Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris.

About the series Deauville facing the sea :
"Blanceh card - January 8 - winter. The sky merges with the sea - the sea draws in filigree - the sand is piled up flush with the boards.
The cold - the silence - the calm - the city has put out its garlands.
Night falls at 5 am - from my window the cabins, like a stopped train, in front of the deserted street.
The next day the light changed - no one on the beach - to the law, a tiny horse. I look at the horizon - I photograph the lines - everything is far away. I photograph the absence, the lack, the baths, the suspended time, the reflection of the clouds on the windows of the closed Ciro's.
And so on - at low tide, at high tide - on Boulevard de la Mer, from one end to the other and up to the dike - I go, I come, I stop. And then the wind picks up - the blue becomes gray - then darker still - and I retrace my steps.
The city was behind me, I stayed facing the sea.
"
Sarah Moon.

Since 2019, Sarah Moon has been President of the Festival Planche (s) Contact Jury.

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

SARAH MOON

Photographe

© Sara Moon
© Naïade Plante
© Hélène Reitzaum

Deauville face à la mer

Photographe de mode et de publicité depuis 1968, Sarah Moon obtient très vite éloges et prix à Paris, Londres, New-York ou Tokyo, où ses expositions sont très remarquées. Ses photos font l’objet de publications dans de nombreux magazines, ainsi que dans des livres (Souvenirs improbables, Le Petit Chaperon rouge, 12345…).

Depuis 1980, elle a signé plus de cent cinquante films publicitaires, ainsi que plusieurs longs métrages. Sarah Moon est l’auteur d’une oeuvre photographique très personnelle, mettant en lumière la fugacité de la beauté, l’éphémère et l’usure du temps.

Invitée au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2014, Sarah Moon a photographié la plage de Deauville l’hiver, imaginant une série intitulée Deauville face à la mer, quand tout est endormi, engourdi par le froid et la tempête. "Je suis ravie d'avoir eu cette opportunité de travailler librement à Deauville. J'ai passé deux jours dans la brume. Ce fut magnifique. J'ai eu le sentiment d'un réel privilège de voir cet endroit toujours si festif dans ces conditions-là. La lumière changeait tout le temps, c'était très beau. Je voyais cette architecture, et des lignes sans fins, quand elles sont habituellement coupées par des silhouettes", se félicite la photographe. A Deauville, "il y a des percées de soleil, le ciel passe du gris au bleu, cela va très vite. C'est un vrai festival !", ajoute-t-elle. "Je photographie le privilège, l'évanescence — l'improbable ou la beauté — j'y cherche l'émotion et la quête en est d'autant plus désespérante, écrira-t-elle. Souvent j'envie ceux qui savent photographier la vie. Moi, je la fuis — je pars de rien — je ne témoigne de rien — j'invente une histoire que je raconte pas, j'imagine une situation qui n'existe pas — je crée un lieu où j'en efface un autre, je déplace la lumière — j'espère le hasard et je souhaite plus que tout être touchée en même temps que je vise".

Une grande exposition de Sarah Moon est prévue en avril 2020 au Musée d’Art Moderne de la  Ville de Paris.

A propos de la série Deauville face à la mer
"Carte blanceh - le 8 janvier - l'hiver. Le ciel se confond avec la mer - la mer de dessine en filigrane - le sable s'entasse au ras des planches. 
Le froid - le silence - le calme - la ville a éteint ses guirlandes. 
La nuit tombe à 5 heures - de ma fenêtre les cabines, comme un train arrêté, devant la rue déserte. 
Le lendemain la lumière a changé - personne sur la plage - au loi, un cheval minuscule. Je regarde l'horizon - je photographie les lignes - tout est loin. Je photographie l'absence, le manque, les bains, le temps suspendu, le reflet des nuages sur les vitres du Ciro's fermé.
Et ainsi de suite - à marée basse, à marée haute - sur le boulevard de la Mer, d'un bout à l'autre et jusqu'à la digue - je vais, je viens, je m'arrête. Et puis le vent se lève - le bleu devient gris - puis plus sombre encore - et je retourne sur mes pas. 
La ville était dans mon dos, je suis restée face à la mer.

Sarah Moon. 

Depuis 2019, Sarah Moon est Présidente du Jury du Festival Planche(s) Contact.