French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Isabel Muñoz

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2018

Half-man, half-beast

Isabel Muñoz was born in Barcelona in 1951, but it was in Madrid that she established her studio in 1970 and designed most of her work. In 1979, she decided to dedicate her life to photography. Press, advertising, cinema: commissioned photography will be his entry into this world. In 1982, she studied visual arts at the University of Rochester. In Maine, she discovers ancient techniques and learns to master light. She continued her teaching at ICP, International Center of Photography in New York, and became familiar with large format.

Man Ray, Tina Modotti, Lewis Carroll, Claude Cahun, Cindy Sherman, Tom of Finland populate his library and are the pillars of his inspiration. Passionate and great technician, she is recognized as one of the most qualified specialists in some of the most "noble" photographic processes such as the platinotype. Isabel Muñoz won in 2016 the national photography prize awarded by the Spanish Ministry of Culture. This distinction followed an exhibition presented at Tabacalera in Madrid from April 27 to June 17, 2018, The anthropology of feelings, and to the eponymous work.

François Cheval, exhibition curator, about the exhibition by Isabel Muñoz, Half-man, half-beast :
"Tested by photography, the image of this animal with which we have such a special relationship, the horse, acts on us as a repellant. What could be more unbearable, in fact, than these rustic and muscular beasts emerging from the water covered with foam! Following the example of these posted images of an idealized Camargue, they make any photographic attempt on the subject impossible. Here, without any fear, Isabel Muñoz reinvents the centaur. Half-man, half-beast, the mythological figure composes a contemporary form. When one makes the other a victim, when man sacrifices his share of nature, what is more current than this hybrid being, perfect reconciliation, not oppositions, but complementary. Master of time, photography has the advantage of being able to temporarily merge humanity and animality. The shapes, the muscles merge into an interlacing of contrasting tones. Power is combined with elegance in a world finally reunited. At Isabel Muñoz, any representation has a symbolic value. It obviously evokes an exemplary world in opposition to the real world. In this imaginary country, if not ideal, harmonious, the virtues of one and the other combine. Where mythology classifies the centaur in the category of fantastic animals, Isabel Muñoz sets it up as a model. It is in the reduction of gaps that the originality of the photographer's words is established, which, in the continuity of her work, opposes any standardization. Escaping classifications, bodies and attitudes defy the established order. Ambiguity is the only standard in a photography that has no other symbolic ambition than to make us see differently, that is to say, think badly!
Returning to the origins, the photographer, under the influence of Empedocles, recomposes the first generation of animated beings, made up only of scattered members. Results of improbable collages, these composite creatures deliver initiatory knowledge. The cumulative power of fragments arranged in unusual forms allows them to reveal buried knowledge to us. What do they have to teach us? Leaving the sea when everything was only water and darkness, they are the guardians of a natural order that is today overturned, destroyed. Surviving the flood, immortal, these symbolic representations show us the way and initiate wisdom!
"

My travel book

Isabel Muñoz

Photographe invitée au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2018

Mi-homme, mi-bête

Isabel Muñoz est née à Barcelone en 1951, mais c’est à Madrid qu’elle a établi son studio dès 1970 et a conçu la majeure partie de son œuvre. En 1979, elle décide de dédier sa vie à la photographie. Presse, publicité, cinéma : la photographie de commande sera son entrée dans ce monde. En 1982, elle étudie les arts visuels à l’université de Rochester. Dans le Maine, elle découvre les techniques anciennes et apprend à maîtriser la lumière. Elle poursuit son enseignement à ICP, International Center of Photography de New York, et se familiarise avec le grand format.

Man Ray, Tina Modotti, Lewis Carroll, Claude Cahun, Cindy Sherman, Tom of Finland peuplent sa bibliothèque et sont les piliers de son inspiration. Passionnée et grande technicienne, elle est reconnue comme l’une des spécialistes les plus qualifiés dans certains des procédés photographiques les plus "nobles" tel que le platinotype. Isabel Muñoz a remporté en 2016 le prix national de photographie délivré par le Ministère de la Culture espagnol. Cette distinction a donné suite à une exposition présentée à Tabacalera à Madrid du 27 avril au 17 juin 2018, L'anthropologie des sentiments, et à l'ouvrage éponyme. 

François Cheval, commissaire de l'exposition, à propos de l'exposition d'Isabel Muñoz, Mi-homme, mi-bête
"A l'épreuve de la photographie, l'image de cet animal avec lequel nous entretenons une relation si particulière, le cheval, agit sur nous comme un répulsif. Quoi de plus insupportable, en effet, que ces bêtes rustiques et musculeuses sortant de l'eau couvertes d'écume ! A l'exemple de ces images postées d'une Camargue idéalisée, elles rendent impossibles toute tentative photographique sur le sujet. Ici, sans crainte aucune, Isabel Muñoz réinvente le centaure. Mi-homme, mi-bête, la figure mythologique compose une forme contemporaine. Quand l'un fait de l'autre une victime, quand l'homme sacrifie sa part de nature, quoi de plus actuel que cet être hybride, réconciliation parfaite, non des oppositions, mais des complémentaires. Maître du temps, la photographie présente l'avantage de pouvoir fusionner temporairement humanitié et animalité. Les formes, les muscles se confondent en un entrelacs de tonalités contrastées. La puissance se conjugue à l'élégance dans un monde enfin réunifié. Chez Isabel Muñoz, toute représentation possède une valeur symbolique. Elle évoque d'évidence un monde exemplaire en opposition au monde réel. Dans ce pays imaginaire, si ce n'est idéal, harmonieux, les vertus de l'un et de l'autre se conjuguent. Là où la mythologie classe le centaure dans la catégorie des animaux fantastiques, Isabel Muñoz l'érige en modèle. C'est dans la réduction des écarts que s'établit l'originalité du propos de la photographe qui, dans la continuité de ses travaux, s'oppose à toute normalisation. Echappant aux classifications, les corps, les attitudes défient l'ordre établi. L'ambiguïté est la seule norme d'une photographie qui n'a d'autre ambition symbolique que nous faire voir autrement, c'est-à-dire mal penser ! 
Revenant ainsi aux origines, la photographe, sous l'influence d'Empédocle, recompose la première génération des être animés, constitués uniquement de membres épars. Résultats de collages improbables, ces créatures composites délivrent un savoir initiatique. La puissance cumulée des fragments agencés selon des formes inhabituelles les autorise à nous révéler des connaissances enfouies. Qu'ont-elles à nous enseigner ? Sorties de la mer quand tout n'était qu'eau et ténèbres, elles sont les gardiennes d'un ordre naturel aujourd'hui boulversé, détruit. Rescapées du déluge, immortelles, ces représentations symboliques nous indiquent le chemin et initient à la sagesse !
"