French Dutch English German Spanish

Claude Nori

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2017

© Claude NORI
© Claude NORI

Deauville, Dolce Vita

Born in 1949 in Toulouse to Italian emigrant parents, Claude Nori understands from 1968 the expressive potentialities of the photographer, although he intended for the cinema. In 1974, he founded Contrejour, with Bernard Plossu and a group of agitators, photographers and critics. At the same time newspaper, publishing house and gallery in Montparnasse, Contrejour quickly becomes the place to meet and disseminate the new photography. Claude Nori later creates the magazine Camera International, the Notebooks of Photography and publishes nearly 140 works on the main French photographers.
In 1999, with his wife Isabelle Nori, he moved to Biarritz where they founded the Terre d'Images festival.
He is the author of several books on Italy, adolescence, seaside towns ( An Italian summer, The Geometry of flirting, Stromboli, A loving photographer….), works he experiences as creative territories since his first book Glasses published in 1975 and prefaced by Agnès Varda.
Latest exhibitions: Photomed Festival (Sanar), Château d'Eau (Toulouse, 2011), Valid Foto Gallery (Barcelona), Rencontres d'Arles (2011), European House of Photography (Paris, 2011), Polka Gallery (Paris, 2015, 2016).

Claude Nori about his exhibition Deauville, Dolce Vita :
"The seaside towns look alike and are all different. We leave our troubles there, we breathe better, we contemplate the sunset, the woman we love standing out on the sea or the ocean at dusk.
We throw ourselves into the water, salt sticks to our skin, we swim, we dry ourselves in the sun, the rain surprises us, we smile, we're alone, happy, we're sad, we're going to have a drink, maybe even being two in the salons of a Grand Hotel, the bears pass by, lazy dolce.
And then happiness passes on a bicycle, so simple, moving, blond hair, a braid, a smile, a simple deep look, we want to leave everything, start a new life, make cinema.

Deauville, unforgettable images, Anouk and Jean-Louis, and perhaps also Marcello and Anita because the Dolce Vita is also hidden where you least expect it, between dream and reality on the wet boards of a summer night. It is so strong and so difficult to photograph a happiness that passes and flees too quickly, lovers who kiss awkwardly, Coline, Sarah, Isabelle, Marie who take the light. Dolce Vita is already slipping through our hands, but a few grains of photography remain stuck to our fingers."

My travel book

Claude Nori

Photographe invité au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2017

©Claude NORI
©Claude NORI

Deauville, Dolce Vita

Né en 1949 à Toulouse de parents émigrés italiens, Claude Nori comprend dès 1968 les potentialités expressives de la photographe, bien qu’il se destinait au cinéma.  En 1974, il fonde Contrejour, en compagnie de Bernard Plossu et d’un groupe d’agitateurs, photographes et critiques. A la fois journal, maison d'édition et galerie à Montparnasse, Contrejour devient rapidement le lieu de rencontre et de diffusion de la nouvelle photographie. Claude Nori crée plus tard la revue Camera International, les Cahiers de la Photographie et publie près de 140 ouvrages sur les principaux photographes français.
En 1999, avec sa femme Isabelle Nori, il s’installe à Biarritz où ils fondent le festival Terre d’Images.
Il est l’auteur de plusieurs livres sur l’Italie, l’adolescence, les cités balnéaires ( Un été Italien, La Géométrie du flirt, Stromboli, Un photographe amoureux….), des ouvrages qu’il expérimente comme des territoires de création depuis son premier livre Lunettes  publié en 1975 et préfacé par Agnès Varda.
Dernières expositions : Festival Photomed (Sanar), Château d’Eau (Toulouse, 2011), Galerie Valid Foto (Barcelone), Rencontres d’Arles (2011), Maison Européenne de la Photographie (Paris, 2011), Galerie Polka (Paris, 2015, 2016).

Claude Nori à propos de son exposition Deauville, Dolce Vita
"Les villes balnéaires se ressemblent et sont toutes différentes. On y laisse ses ennuis, on respire mieux, on contemple le couche du soleil, le femme qu'on aime se découpant sur la mer ou l'océan au crépuscule. 
On se jette dans l'eau, le sel colle à la peau, on nage, on se sèche au soleil, la pluie nous surprend, on sourit, on est seul, heureux, on est triste, on va boire un drink, peut-être même deux dans les salons d'un Grand Hôtel, les ours passent, dolce farniente. 
Et puis un bonheur passe sur une bicyclette, si simple, émouvant, des cheveux blonds, une tresse, un sourire, un regard profond simple, on a envie de tout quitter, refaire une vie, se faire du cinéma. 

Deauville, des images inoubliables, Anouk et Jean-Louis, et peut-être aussi Marcello et Anita car la Dolce Vita se cache aussi où l'on s'y attend le moins, entre le rêve et la réalité sur les planches mouillées d'une nuit d'été. C'est si fort et si difficile de photographier un bonheur qui passe et s'enfuit trop vite, des amoureux qui s'embrassent gauchement, Coline, Sarah, Isabelle, Marie qui prennent la lumière. Déjà la Dolce Vita nous glisse entre les mains mais quelques grains de photographie restent collées à nos doigts."