Michel Onfray

Philosopher, Author

Michel Onfray, born in 1959. Doctor of philosophy. Twenty years teaching in a technological high school in Caen, resigning from National Education in 2002. Philosopher, author of more than fifty books translated in more than twenty five countries.
In October 2002, he created the Popular University of Caen.

The Popular University of Caen
The principle
The Popular University retains from the traditional University the quality of the information transmitted, the principle of the cycle which makes it possible to envisage personal progression, the need for content transmitted before any debate. It keeps philosophical coffee open to all audiences, the critical use of knowledge, interactivity and the practice of dialogue as a means of accessing content.

The functioning
Free admission is the basic principle: no age required, no qualifications or levels required, no registration or knowledge test, no exams or diplomas issued. The course is given once a week over a two-hour session: the first is an argued presentation, the second a discussion of it. The cycle runs from mid-October to mid-May. It revolves around the school holidays of the Academy of Caen.

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices:

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Residence of the Clock
Empress Eugenie wharf
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean-Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

ANY TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Toques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Louis Delamare Promenade
(behind the aid station)
14800 Tourgeville
See opening hours

Michel Onfray

Philosophe, Auteur

Michel Onfray, né en 1959. Docteur en philosophie. Vingt ans enseignant en lycée technologique à Caen, démissionnaire de l’Éducation nationale en 2002. Philosophe, auteur de plus de cinquante livres traduits dans plus de vingt cinq pays.
Il crée en octobre 2002 l'Université Populaire de Caen.

L'Université Populaire de Caen
Le principe
L’Université Populaire retient de l’Université traditionnelle la qualité des informations transmises, le principe du cycle qui permet d’envisager une progression personnelle, la nécessité d’un contenu transmis en amont de tout débat. Elle garde du café philosophique l’ouverture à tous les publics, l’usage critique des savoirs, l’interactivité et la pratique du dialogue comme moyen d’accéder au contenu.

Le fonctionnement
La gratuité est le principe de base : pas d’âge requis, ni de titres ou de niveaux demandés, pas d’inscriptions ni de contrôle des connaissances, pas d’examens, ni de diplômes délivrés. Le cours est dispensé une fois par semaine sur une séance de deux heures : la première est un exposé argumenté, la seconde une discussion de celui-ci. Le cycle s’étend de mi-octobre à mi-mai. Il s’articule autour des vacances scolaires de l’Académie de Caen.