French Dutch English German Spanish

COMMON ELEVEN, IDENTITY ELEVEN

A mosaic of identities compose in Deauville and endows the territory with a great wealth of points of view, places, events. To discover in the pages dedicated to each municipality ...

© Sandrine Boyer Engel

BENERVILLE-SUR-MER AND ITS SECRET GARDEN

Bérnerville-sur-mer, there are many stories: that of Gallimard, the first owner of Château Gabriel, later the residence of Yves Saint-Laurent, who considered the place as his haven of peace. It is also the story of Calouste Gulbenkian, a businessman and an esthete, who was one of the greatest art collectors of the XNUMXth century. He produced in Bénerville-sur-mer - with the help of Achille Duchesne - the work he dreamed of: a garden planted with rare essences, suitable for meditation. The place is open in summer. Bénerville-sur-mer is also the homeland of Santos-Dumont, another personality who marked the village.
Unmissable: the sunsets on the beach. The wooden lifeguard station is a nice landmark for photo lovers. The batteries of Mont-Canisy - another moment in great history - which can be visited free of charge on regular dates.

© Camille David

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER, THE PARADISE FOR CHILDREN

Its beach is probably their best playground as everything is organized for them, from the Mickey Club, to the entertainment including the sailing club. It is also a vast island of nature with a swamp of 120 hectares belonging to the Conservatoire du littoral and Mont Canisy which overlooks the entire coast.
Inescapable: early in the morning, discover the marsh and the many species of birds that take refuge there, admire the large murals by Jean Denis Maillart painted in 1961 on the walls of the Chapel, understand a cider farm, the farm of Place Bill… Take advantage of the beach and access it by small streets lined with seaside villas.

© 1616 prod

DEAUVILLE

To discover Deauville is to walk on the Planches with the sea as a garden, it is to discover its protected architecture in a resort where everything is accessible on foot or by bicycle. It is embarking on the Estuary, attending the unforgettable spectacle of a horse race, a polo match or an equestrian competition. It is to applaud a show in the Italian theater of the casino, to discover the new talents of American cinema, photography, literature or classical music, it is to meet artists inspired by the light and atmosphere of the city. It is wandering through the flavors of the market, tasting the products of a terroir of excellence, enjoying a moment of well-being or simply doing nothing and dreaming on the beach.
Must-sees: attend one of the six cultural festivals organized each year.

© Gwenaelle Huard-Marie

SAINT ARNOULT, THE RIVER

The banks of the Touques loop cross the village and its shops for over a kilometer, a place of healing for families, fishermen and walkers. Around its dapper half-timbered village, a multitude of attractions: one of the most beautiful golf courses in France located on Mont-Canisy overlooks the sea over 70 hectares; the Pole International du Cheval de Deauville - temple of equestrian sports - and the Deauville-La Touques racecourse, whose tracks end at the foot of the town; a large hotel offer and a beautiful five-star campsite with its bucolic lake.
Must-sees: the sports complex with its weight room in the heart of the village for practicing all sports, walking and cycling routes offered by the Town Hall, the 11th century priory chapel classified as a Cluniac site and historic monument.

SAINT GATIEN DES BOIS IN ALL NATURE

Its woods are the largest in Calvados and spread over 28 square km. If they are private, they can be explored on foot at specific times of the year and can be enjoyed at Val des Cîmes, which offers no less than ten tree climbing courses. The more athletic among us will also like its Académy golf course animated by golf teachers and sports coaches to improve its game and its aviation club installed at Deauville Normandy airport, entry point for the many foreign visitors?
The small village of Saint Gatien located in the heart of this large forest also has a significant cultural past. At the beginning of the 19th century, it attracted the great names of literature to the Chalet de Ulric Guttinger, an enchanting setting in a green setting which contributed to the artistic awakening of the Normandy Coast. You can still see the remains in the forest.

© Sandrine Boyer Engel

SAINT-PIERRE AZIF, AT THE HEART OF THE PRAIRIES OF THE PAYS D'AUGE

Very small town in the hinterland, Saint Pierre-Azif has nearly 200 inhabitants in the heart of the meadows of the Pays d 'Auge. Horse enthusiasts appreciate its equestrian clubs. Art lovers love its church with works from the Flemish school - Rubens, Jordaens, Lucas de Leiden, Van Helmont, Van Clef, Van Dyck. Watch for openings in summer to discover them with the inhabitants of the village. Walkers cross its many small paths or rest around the washhouse of modest and authentic architecture of the 19th century. You will also be able to appreciate the Eco-Domaine du Bouquetôt, an old breeding farm, a precious testimony of rural life and the vernacular heritage of the Augerons of the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries; where you can also rent a tree house!
Inescapable: the open days in February of the Colleville and Thenney stud farms.

© city of touques

TOUQUES, THE HISTORICAL CITY

Streets and flower-filled squares, a stream that runs along the houses that you can descend by kayak, half-timbered facades typical of the Pays d'Auge, Touques likes to preserve its history and the craft tradition. Its artists' workshops - in the former stables of the Haras de Meautry - house sculptors, master glassmakers, mosaicists…. And because it was the second largest metropolis in Normandy in the Middle Ages, in June it offers The Medieval. In the heart of the village, XNUMXth-century halls shelter a market and flea markets…
Must-sees: The XNUMXth century Saint Pierre church, considered one of the most beautiful Romanesque constructions in the Pays d'Auge. The exceptional capitals reflect the different artistic trends that crossed Normandy during the ducal period. Jazz aperitifs on summer Fridays in the village square.

TOURGEVILLE, BETWEEN GOLF AND HORSES

Horse and golf are on his arms! and rightly so!
The first found a stable and track at the Clairefontaine racecourse, the only tri-disciplinary racetrack on the Normandy coast, hosting flat, trot and obstacle races exclusively on grass, which offers an abundant entertainment program in summer. The second is a 27-hole course recognized by the greatest golfers, combining art and nature. One of the routes is punctuated with contemporary sculptures and its seven ponds are a real paradise for the surrounding flora and fauna.
Must-sees: the Clairefontaine Grand Prix, which closes the hippodrome season every year, rally the group of Nordic walkers "Les Normandiques" for its long and invigorating walks. Pass by the Chemin de l'Orgeuil, you will discover the Manors of Tourgéville, long owned by Claude Lelouch.

© Calvados Tourism

VAUVILLE

Jewel of the Pays d'Auge, at the gates of Deauville and Trouville-sur-mer, Vauville, a veritable lung of greenery, is illustrated by its XNUMXth century church with its rectangular bell tower and the Haulle farmhouse with its porch. two colors, its wash house and its two rivers. In this authentic and restful village, we also breed horses and among the best. On the Haras du Quesnay list of names: the names that have marked French breeding such as Le Fabulous, Green Dancer, Riverman, Sir Gaylord, Gay Mecene, Bellypha, Saint Cyrien, Bering, Highest Honor, Anabaa ... or more recently Trêve qui has twice won the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe, the Prix de Diane and the Grand Prix de Saint Cloud ... There is also the Haras de la Forge, home of the gold medal show jumping riders at the Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games.
Must-sees: The pictorials of Vauville which bring artists together every year to its Chapel.

© Julien Boisard

VILLERS-SUR-MER IN THE CENTER OF THE WORLD

It is the first French city approached by Le Méridien de Greenwich. Around this elegant seaside village rich in cultural events, preserved natural spaces: the cliffs of the Black Cows and their paleontological deposit, marshes on more than 30 hectares, and a beach sheltered from the prevailing winds. Full of nature and oxygen with multiple family activities.
Must-sees: the Paléospace and its Normandy dinosaurs, the shell festival on the last weekend in October, the streets of Villers-sur-Mer lined with pretty seaside villas.

VILLERVILLE, THE VILLAGE ON THE FALAISE

This is where Henri Verneuil put his camera more than 50 years ago to shoot a Monkey in winter with the famous duo Gabin - Belmondo. An artistic aura that Villerville continues to bring to life by welcoming young actors each year to produce “A Festival in Villerville” (end of August). Originally a fishing village, built on the cliff that extends to Trouville, Villerville is bordered by tall, narrow houses that open onto the seaside and the Parc des Graves, a natural area with protected paths. The panorama is breathtaking and there are many reasons to go.
Must-sees: Flea markets in the garage, the seaside festival, the Château farm where you can buy organic products and admire a pond, century-old beeches and a redwood tree. The “a monkey in winter” circuit on the filming locations, including the famous Normand Cabaret which has retained the charm of 1962.

My travel book

ONZE COMMUNES, ONZE IDENTITES

Une mosaïque d'identités composent in Deauville et dote le territoire d'une grande richesse de points de vue, de lieux, d'événements. A découvrir dans les pages dédiées à chaque commune...
 

 

© Sandrine Boyer Engel

BENERVILLE-SUR-MER ET SON JARDIN SECRET

Bérnerville-sur-mer, ce sont beaucoup d’histoires : celle de Gallimard, premier propriétaire du  Château Gabriel par la suite résidence d’Yves Saint-Laurent qui considérait le lieu comme son havre de paix. C’est aussi l’histoire de Calouste Gulbenkian, homme d'affaire doublé d'un esthète, qui fut l'un des plus grands collectionneurs d'art du XXe siècle. Il a réalisé à Bénerville-sur-mer – aidé d’Achille Duchesne – l’œuvre dont il rêvait : un jardin planté d’essences rares, propice à la méditation. Le lieu est ouvert en été. Bénerville-sur-mer est aussi la patrie de Santos-Dumont, une autre personnalité qui a marqué le village.
Incontournables : les couchers de soleil sur la plage. Le poste de secours en bois est un joli repère pour les amoureux de la photo. Les batteries du Mont-Canisy – autre moment de la grande Histoire – qui se visitent gratuitement à dates régulières.

© Camille David

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER, LE PARADIS DES ENFANTS

Sa plage est probablement leur meilleur terrain de jeux tant tout y est organisé pour eux, du Club Mickey, aux animations en passant par le club de voile. C’est aussi un vaste ilôt de nature avec un marais de 120 hectares appartenant au Conservatoire du littoral et le Mont Canisy qui surplombe toute la côte.
Incontournables : tôt le matin, découvrir le marais et les nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux qui s’y réfugient, admirer les grandes fresques murales de Jean Denis Maillart peintes en 1961 à même les murs de la Chapelle, comprendre une exploitation cidricole, la ferme du lieu Bill…Profiter de la plage, on y accède par de petites rues bordées de villa balnéaires.

© 1616 prod

DEAUVILLE

Découvrir Deauville, c’est marcher sur les Planches avec la mer pour jardin, c’est découvrir son architecture protégée dans une station ou tout est accessible à pied ou à vélo. C’est s’embarquer sur l’Estuaire, assister au spectacle inoubliable d’une course de chevaux, d’un match de polo ou d’une compétition équestre. C’est applaudir un spectacle dans le théâtre à l’italienne du casino, découvrir les nouveaux talents du cinéma américain, de la photographie, de la littérature ou de la musique classique, c’est aller à la rencontre d’artistes inspirés par la lumière et l’atmosphère de la ville. C’est déambuler dans les saveurs du marché, déguster les produits d’un terroir d’excellence, profiter d’un moment de bien-être ou simplement ne rien faire et rêver sur la plage.
Incontournables : assister à l’un des six festivals culturels organisés chaque année.

© Gwenaelle Huard-Marie

SAINT ARNOULT, LA RIVERAINE

Les rives de la boucle de la Touques traversent le village et ses commerces sur plus d’un kilomètre, lieu de ressourcement pour les familles, les pêcheurs et les promeneurs. Autour de son village à colombages pimpants, une multitude d’attraits : l’un des plus beaux golfs de France situé sur le Mont-Canisy domine la mer sur 70 hectares ; le Pôle International du Cheval de Deauville – temple des sports équestres - et l’hippodrome de Deauville-La Touques dont les pistes s’achèvent au pied de la commune ; une large offre hôtelière et un beau camping cinq étoiles avec son lac bucolique.
Incontournables : le complexe sportif avec sa salle de musculation au cœur du village pour pratiquer tous les sports, les itinéraires de marche et pistes cyclables proposés par la Mairie, la Chapelle prieurale du 11e siècle classée site clunisien et monument historique.

SAINT GATIEN DES BOIS EN TOUTE NATURE

Ses bois sont les plus vastes du Calvados et s'étalent sur 28 km carrés. S'ils sont privés, on peut les parcourir à pied à des périodes précises de l'année et en profiter au Val des Cîmes qui propose pas moins de dix parcours accrobranche. Les plus sportifs d'entre nous aimeront aussi sa golf académy animée par des professeurs de golf et coachs sportifs pour améliorer son jeu et son club d'aviation installé sur l'aéroport de Deauville Normandie, point d'entrée pour les nombreux visiteurs étrangers ?
Le petit village de Saint Gatien située au coeur de cette grande forêt affiche aussi un passé culturel marquant. Il attirait au début du 19eme siècle les grands noms de la littérature au Chalet de Ulric Guttinger, un cadre enchanteur dans un écrin de verdure qui a contribué à l'éveil artistique de la Côte Normande. On peut encore en voir les vestiges dans la forêt.
 

© Sandrine Boyer Engel

SAINT-PIERRE AZIF, AU CŒUR DES PRAIRIES DU PAYS D’AUGE

Toute petite commune de l’arrière-pays, Saint Pierre-Azif compte près de 200 habitants au cœur des prairies du Pays d’ Auge. Les passionnés de cheval apprécient ses clubs équestres. Les amoureux de l’art affectionnent son église dotée d’œuvres de l’école flamande – Rubens, Jordaens, Lucas de Leyde, Van Helmont, Van Clef, Van Dyck. Surveillez les ouvertures en été pour les découvrir avec les habitants du village. Les promeneurs sillonnent ses nombreux petits chemins ou se reposent autour du lavoir d’architecture modeste et authentique du 19e siècle. Vous pourrez aussi apprécier l’Eco-Domaine du Bouquetôt, ancienne ferme d’élevage, précieux témoignage de la vie rurale et du patrimoine vernaculaire augerons du XVII et XVIIIe siècles ; où l’on peut aussi louer une cabane dans les arbres !
Incontournables : les journées portes ouvertes en février des haras de Colleville et du Thenney.
 

© ville de touques

TOUQUES, LA CITE HISTORIQUE

Rues et places fleuries, un ruisseau qui court le long des maisons que l’on peut descendre en kayak, des façades à colombages typiques du Pays d’Auge, Touques aime préserver son histoire et la tradition artisanale. Ses ateliers d’artistes – dans les anciennes écuries du Haras de Meautry – abritent sculpteurs, maître-verriers, mosaïstes… . Et parce qu’elle fut au Moyen-âge la deuxième métropole de Normandie, elle propose en juin Les médiévales. Au cœur du village, des halles du XVe siècle abritent un marché et des brocantes…
Incontournables : L’église Saint Pierre du XIe siècle, considérée comme l’une des plus belles constructions romanes du Pays d’Auge. Les chapiteaux, exceptionnels, reflètent les différents courants artistiques qui ont traversé la Normandie à la période ducale. Les apéros-jazz les vendredis d’été sur la place du village.

TOURGEVILLE, ENTRE GOLF ET CHEVAUX

Le cheval et le golf figurent sur ses armes ! et à juste titre !
Le premier a trouvé écurie et piste à  l’hippodrome de Clairefontaine, seul hippodrome tri-disciplinaire de la côte normande, accueillant courses de plat,  trot et d’obstacles exclusivement sur herbe qui propose en été un foisonnant programme d’animations. Le second, c’est un 27 trous reconnu par les plus grands joueurs de golf où se marient art et nature.  L’un des parcours est ponctué de sculptures contemporaines et ses sept étangs sont un véritable paradis pour la faune et la flore environnante.
Incontournables : le Grand Prix de Clairefontaine qui clôture tous les ans la saison de l’hippodrome, rallier le groupe de marcheurs nordiques « Les Normandiques » pour ses longues et vivifiantes balades. Passez par le chemin de l’Orgeuil, vous découvrirez les Manoirs de Tourgéville, longtemps propriété de Claude Lelouch.
 

© Calvados Tourisme

VAUVILLE

Joyau du Pays d’Auge, aux portes de Deauville et Trouville-sur-mer, Vauville, véritable poumon de verdure, s’illustre par son église du XIIe siècle avec son clocher de forme rectangulaire et la ferme de la Haulle avec son porche de deux couleurs, son lavoir et ses deux rivières. Dans ce village authentique et reposant, on élève aussi des chevaux et parmi les meilleurs. Au palmarès du Haras du Quesnay : les noms qui ont marqué l’élevage français comme Le Fabuleux, Green Dancer, Riverman, Sir Gaylord, Gay Mecene, Bellypha, Saint Cyrien, Bering, Highest Honor, Anabaa...ou plus récemment Trêve qui a remporté deux fois le Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe, le Prix de Diane et le grand Prix de Saint Cloud... On y trouve aussi le Haras de la Forge, résidence des cavaliers de saut d’obstacle médaillés d’or aux Jeux olympiques de Rio de Janeiro.
Incontournables : Les picturales de Vauville qui rassemblent chaque année des artistes dans sa Chapelle.

© Julien Boisard

VILLERS-SUR-MER AU CENTRE DU MONDE

C’est la première ville française abordée par le Méridien de Greenwich. Autour de ce village balnéaire élégant riche en animations culturelles, des espaces naturels préservés : les falaises des Vaches noires et leur gisement paléontologique, des marais sur plus de 30 hectares, et une plage abritée des vents dominants. Le plein de nature et d’oxygène avec de multiples activités à faire en famille.
Incontournables : le Paléospace et ses dinosaures de Normandie, la fête de la coquille le dernier week-end d’octobre, les rues de Villers-sur-Mer longées de jolies villas balnéaires.

VILLERVILLE, LE VILLAGE SUR LA FALAISE

C’est là qu’Henri Verneuil posa sa caméra il y a plus de 50 ans pour tourner un Singe en hiver avec le fameux duo Gabin – Belmondo. Une aura artistique que Villerville continue de faire vivre en accueillant de jeunes comédiens chaque année pour produire « Un Festival à Villerville » (fin août). Village de pêcheurs à l’origine, construit sur la falaise qui s’étend jusqu’à Trouville, Villerville est bordé de maisons hautes et étroites qui débouchent sur le bord de mer et le Parc des Graves, espace naturel aménagé de sentiers et protégé. Le panorama est à couper le souffle et les raisons d’y aller nombreuses.
Incontournables : Les brocantes du garage, la fête de la mer, la ferme du Château ou l’on peut acheter des produits bio et admirer un étang, des hêtres centenaires et un séquoïa. Le circuit « un singe en hiver » sur les lieux de tournage du film dont le fameux Cabaret Normand qui a su conserver le charme de 1962.