Visit the distilleries and breweries

Normandy is the emblematic region of the apple, it is found in all its forms including a variety of golden spirits that the whole world envies. These beverages hide a know-how of several generations, several centuries or even almost a millennium. Cider, Calvados and Pommeau are all linked in their manufacturing process but all have their own secrets that you can discover by visiting the domains and distilleries of the territory.

At the origin of the three Norman alcohols

Castle of Breuil
The Cider
From the ripe apples fallen from the tree is made a juice which, after fermentation of several months, gives birth to cider whose bubbles roll along the palate, letting explode in mouth the flavors of apples of
Normandy apples. In the Pays d'Auge, ciders are slightly sweet and acidic, which makes them thirst-quenching and gives them an alcohol content of between 3.5% and 4.5%.
Note! Only semi-dry ciders that meet very precise specifications can obtain the Pays d'Auge Protected Designation of Origin (PDO).

Calvados
Calvados is born from cider, an aromatic nectar with a beautiful vermilion color. After a long fermentation of the cider, it is then distilled twice for many months before being put in oak barrels where it is peacefully left to age and mature. However, two years are the minimum required for it to obtain the AOC Calvados Pays d'Auge appellation.

The Pommeau
The cider and the calvados allowed the creation, in 1982, of the Pommeau, sweet and powerful at the same time mixing these two alcohols. The Calvados used is aged for at least 2 years and then the mixture is left to age for 18 months, its alcohol content then reaching about 18%.

Discovering the distilleries

Calvados Experience, a multi-sensory museum

In the heart of its birthplace, in Pont l'Evêque, embark on a unique historical experience by going back in time from the Vikings to our days on the tracks of Calvados, this elixir known throughout the world. This sensory journey will reveal the secrets and mysteries of the production process, from the apple to the bottle, ending your visit with a tasting of the best vintages. 

Calvados Père Magloire, l'Experience

13 Route de Trouville
14130 PONT-L'EVEQUE
France
02 31 64 30 31

The Calvados of the 5 senses at the Château du Breuil

See, touch, smell, listen and taste .... Here is the program of the Château du Breuil to deliver you the secrets of manufacture of Calvados Pays d'Auge and its V.I.P, its Very Important Apple! With its 22,000 apple trees it is undoubtedly the queen of the domain, if you also want to meet this guest of honour go to the Château du Breuil-en-Auge. You can enjoy a nice walk in the park and picnic in the middle of the apple trees. 

At Calvados Christian Drouin

Drouin Calvados is a family-run distillery located in authentic half-timbered buildings dating from the 7th century. The orchards preserve ancestral varieties of apples from the Pays d'Auge with a unique taste that gives the products an exceptional quality. Drouin Calvados has received more than 160 gold medals and awards! You can visit the estate to discover all the stages of cider and Calvados production, then taste Calvados from special vintages.

Calvados Christian Drouin

1895 route de Trouville
14130 PONT-L'EVEQUE
France
02 31 64 30 05

At the Manor of Apreval

The Manoir d'Apreval has no less than 17 varieties of apples in its orchard, which is certified organic and covers 25 hectares. These varieties allow the creation of Cidres, Calvados and apple juice typical of the Pays d'Auge. Guided tours and tastings are possible in the summer as well as a picnic area under the apple trees.

Manoir D'Apreval

15 chemin des Mesliers
14600 PENNEDEPIE
France
02 31 14 88 24

Distillerie Busnel SAS

The Busnel distillery, created in 1820 by Ernest Busnel, is the oldest of the great Calvados houses. In Cormeilles, in the heart of the Pays d'Auge, it has an ancestral know-how but is constantly innovating with new products combining tradition and modernity.

Distillerie Busnel SAS

Route de Lisieux
27260 CORMEILLES
France
02 32 57 38 80

Domaine de la Pommeraie

In a typically Norman setting located in the heart of the Pays d'Auge, in Gonneville sur Honfleur, with its thatched houses, the Domaine de la Pommeraie will reveal the fabulous history of Calvados... All the buildings built in the old style benefit from the latest modern techniques for storage and distillation.

Domaine de la Pommeraie

The village
14600 GONNEVILLE-SUR-HONFLEUR
France
02 31 89 20 11

Calvados Pierre Huet

A family distillery specializing in the production of Calvados since 1865, the estate, located on the Route du Cidre, extends over 30 hectares of orchards and boasts an innovative distillery, unique in Normandy, heated with wood chips.

Calvados Pierre Huet

5 Avenue des Tilleuls
14340 CAMBREMER
France
02 31 63 01 09

The Cider Route

The Cider Route is a 40 km tourist itinerary that passes through the most beautiful manor houses, the most beautiful castles and the most beautiful typical villages of the Pays d'Auge. Along this route, you will find more than fifteen producers who will invite you to come and taste their best cider in their cellars. You will also be able to meet other manufacturers of artisanal products such as wool or dairy products.

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

Parcourir les distilleries et brasseries

La Normandie est la région emblématique de la pomme, on la trouve sous toutes ses formes dont une déclinaison de plusieurs alcools dorés que le monde entier nous envie. Ces breuvages cachent un savoir-faire de plusieurs générations, de plusieurs siècles voire presque d’un millénaire. Le Cidre, le Calvados et le Pommeau sont tous les trois liés dans leur processus de fabrication mais ont tous des secrets que vous pourrez découvrir en visitant domaines et distilleries du territoire.

A l'origine des trois alcools normands

Château du Breuil
Le Cidre
Des pommes mûres à point et tombées de l’arbre est fait un jus qui, après fermentation de plusieurs mois, donne naissance au cidre dont les bulles roulent le long du palais, laissant exploser en bouche les saveurs des pommes de
Normandie. Dans le Pays d’Auge les cidres sont légèrement sucrés et acidulés, ce qui les rend désaltérant et leur confère un taux d’alcool entre 3,5% et 4.5%.
A savoir ! Seuls les cidres demi-sec répondant à un cahier des charges bien précis peuvent obtenir l’Appellation d’Origine Protégée (AOP) Pays d’Auge.

Le Calvados
Du cidre naît le Calvados, nectar aromatique à la belle couleur vermeille. Après longue fermentation du cidre il est alors distillé deux fois pendant de longs mois avant d’être mis en fûts en bois de Chêne où il est paisiblement laissé, à vieillir et à s’affiner. Deux ans sont cependant minima pour qu’il puisse obtenir l’appellation AOC Calvados Pays d’Auge.

Le Pommeau
Le cidre et le calvados ont permis la création, en 1982, du Pommeau, doux et puissant à la fois mêlant ces deux alcools. Le Calvados utilisé est âgé d’au moins 2 ans puis le mélange est laissé à vieillir pendant 18 mois, son taux d’alcool atteint alors environ 18%.

A la découverte des distilleries

Calvados Expérience, un musée mutli-sensoriels

Au coeur de son lieu de naissance, à Pont l’Evêque, embarquez pour une expérience historique unique en remontant le temps des Vikings à nos jours sur les traces du Calvados, cet élixir connu dans le monde entier. Ce voyage sensoriel vous révèlera les secrets et mystères de fabrications, de la pomme à la bouteille, en terminant votre visite par une dégustation des meilleurs crus. 

Calvados Père Magloire, l'Experience

Route de Trouville
14130 PONT-L'EVEQUE
France
02 31 64 30 31

Le Calvados aux 5 sens du Château du Breuil

Voir, toucher, sentir, écouter puis déguster…. Voici le programme du Château du Breuil pour vous livrer les secrets de fabrication du Calvados Pays d’Auge et de sa V.I.P, sa Very Importante Pomme ! Avec ses 22 000 pommiers elle est sans aucun doute la reine du domaine, si vous aussi vous souhaitez rencontrer cette invitée de marque rendez-vous au Château du Breuil-en-Auge. On peut profiter d'une belle balade dans le parc et y pique-niquer au milieu des pommiers. 

La Spiriterie Française - Château du Breuil - Normandie

Les Jourdains
14130 LE BREUIL-EN-AUGE
France
02 31 65 60 00
02 31 65 60 06

Chez Calvados Christian Drouin

Distillerie familiale et artisanale, les Calvados Drouin se situent dans des bâtiments authentiques en colombages de l’architecture augeronne du  VIIe siècle. Les vergers conservent des variétés de pommes ancestrales du Pays d’Auge au goût unique qui donnent aux produits une qualité d’exception. Les Calvados Drouin ont d’ailleurs reçu plus de 160 médailles d’or et des prix d’honneur ! On peut visiter le domaine pour découvrir toutes les étapes de fabrication du cidre et du Calvados, puis déguster du Calvados issu de cuvées spéciales.

Calvados Christian Drouin

1895 route de Trouville
14130 PONT-L'EVEQUE
France
02 31 64 30 05

Au Manoir d'Apreval

Le Manoir d’Apreval compte pas moins de 17 variétés de pommes dans son verger à l’appellation Agriculture Biologique qui s’étend sur 25 hectares. Ces variétés permettent de créer des Cidres, Calvados et jus de pommes bien typiques du Pays d’Auge. Les visites guidées et dégustation sont possibles l’été ainsi qu’un espace pique-nique champêtre sous les pommiers.

Manoir D'Apreval

15 chemin des Mesliers
14600 PENNEDEPIE
France
02 31 14 88 24

Distillerie Busnel SAS

La distillerie Busnel, créée en 1820 par Ernest Busnel, est la plus ancienne des grandes maisons de Calvados. A Cormeilles, au cœur du pays d’Auge, elle dispose d'un savoir-faire ancestral mais innove sans cesse avec de nouveaux produits alliant ainsi tradition et modernité.

Distillerie Busnel SAS

Route de Lisieux
27260 CORMEILLES
France
02 32 57 38 80

Domaine de la Pommeraie

Dans un cadre typiquement normand situé au coeur du Pays d'Auge, à Gonneville sur Honfleur, avec ses maisons à toit de chaume, le Domaine de la Pommeraie vous révèlera la fabuleuse histoire du Calvados… L'ensemble des bâtiments construits à l'ancienne bénéficie des dernières techniques modernes pour le stockage et la distillation.

Domaine de la Pommeraie

Le bourg
14600 GONNEVILLE-SUR-HONFLEUR
France
02 31 89 20 11
06 07 67 50 60

La Route du Cidre

La Route du Cidre est un itinéraire touristique de 40 km qui passe par les routes aux plus beaux manoirs, aux plus beaux châteaux et aux plus beaux villages typiques du Pays d’Auge. Au fil de ce parcours, vous retrouverez plus d'une quinzaine producteurs qui vous inviteront à venir déguster leur meilleur cidre dans leur cave. Vous pourrez également rencontrer d’autres fabricants de produits artisanaux comme la laine ou les produits laitiers.

A la découverte des bières locales !

La Brasserie Bel Orge

Benoît Boisanfray a toujours baigné dans l’univers de la brasserie, son grand-père était brasseur dans le Calvados. Depuis 2016, il brasse avec amour, passion et respect des matières premières pas moins de quatre bières dans sa micro-brasserie Bel Orge. Avoir le label Agriculture Biologique (AB) sonnait comme une évidence pour Benoît qui essaie d’ailleurs d’utiliser des ingrédients les plus locaux possibles. Ses bières s’inspirent des bières traditionnelles britanniques, moins sucrées que ses cousines belges, et très aromatiques. Blonde et ronde avec du blé, Blanche légère avec une pointe de coriandre, Copper Ale délicate ou Noire avec du caractère, choisissez celle qui vous convient !
Il est possible de visiter gratuitement l'atelier tous les samedis (5 personnes maximum) pour tout savoir des techniques et secrets du brassage de la bière ! La brasserie est également ouverte tous les jours pour la vente à emporter.
VILLERS-SUR-MER

Brasserie Bel Orge

6 rue des Grives
14640 VILLERS-SUR-MER
France
06 71 61 55 62
Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture