French Dutch English German Spanish

Martin Parr

Photographer

Martin Parr
Martin Parr

Guest at the 2020 Contact Plates Festival

Martin Parr is one of the most famous documentary photographers of his generation. With more than 100 books and around thirty others published by him, his photographic heritage is already established.
Parr also acts as a curator and editor. He was curator of two photographic festivals, Arles in 2004 and the Brighton Photo Biennial in 2010. More recently, he was curator of the exhibition Strange and Familiar at the Barbican Center in London.
Martin Parr has been a member of Magnum since 1994 and was its President from 2013 to 2017. In 2013 Parr was appointed Associate Professor of Photography at the University of Ulster (Northern Ireland).
The works of Martin Parr are among the collections of the largest museums, such as the Tate, the Center Pompidou and the Museum of Modern Art in New York. In 2017, Martin Parr created the Martin Parr Foundation.
In 2019, the National Portrait Gallery in London hosted a major exhibition of his work entitled "Only Human".

OUR ENGLISH NEIGHBORS

In 2020, a year marked by Brexit, Planches Contact wanted to give a nod to England with iconic photographs by Martin Parr and by dedicating an exhibition to him for the first time in Deauville. The choice fell on the series "The last resort", a work carried out from 1982 to 1985, on the holidays of families with modest incomes in New Brighton, seaside resort in decline. With irony, sarcasm, sometimes tenderness, he tells with this series, the transformation of lifestyles and the development of the consumer society. This series, published and presented at the Rencontres d'Arles in 1986, is now "cult". 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Exhibition from October 17 to January 3, 2020 - On the beach - In front of Place Claude Lelouch

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Martin Parr

Photographe

Martin Parr
Martin Parr

Invité au festival planches contact 2020

Martin Parr est l’un des photographes documentaires plus célèbres de sa génération. Avec plus de 100 livres et une trentaine d’autres publiés par lui, son héritage photographique est d’ores et déjà établi.
Parr agit également comme curateur et éditeur. Il a été commissaire de deux festivals photographiques, Arles en 2004 et la Brighton Photo Biennial en 2010. Plus récemment, il a été commissaire de l’exposition Strange and Familiar au Barbican Center de Londres.
Martin Parr est membre de l’agence Magnum depuis 1994 et en a été le Président de 2013 à 2017. En 2013, Parr a été nommé professeur de photographie associé l’université d’Ulster (Irlande du Nord).
Les œuvres de Martin Parr figurent parmi les collections des plus grands musées, comme la Tate, le Centre Pompidou et le Museum of Modern Art de New York. En 2017, Martin Parr a créé la Martin Parr Foundation.
En 2019, la National Portrait Gallery de Londres a accueilli une exposition majeure de son travail intitulée « Only Human ».

NOS VOISINS LES ANGLAIS

En 2020, année marquée par le Brexit, Planches Contact a voulu faire un clin d’œil à l' Angleterre avec des photographies iconiques de Martin Parr et en lui consacrant pour la première fois une exposition à Deauville. Le choix s'est porté sur la série "The last resort", un travail réalisé de 1982 à 1985, sur les vacances de familles aux revenus modestes à New Brighton, station balnéaire en déclin. Avec ironie, sarcasme, parfois tendresse, il raconte avec cette série, la transformation des modes de vie et le développement de la société de consommation. Cette série, publiée et présentée aux Rencontres d'Arles en 1986 est désormais "culte". 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Exposition du 17 octobre au 3 janvier 2020 - Sur la plage - En face de la Place Claude Lelouch