Beach: 10 vitamin activities

Deauville BeachBeatrice Augier

Sea breeze, infinite view of the sea and the sound of the waves, the six beaches in Deauville each have their own soul: scientific in Villers-sur-Mer, steep in Villerville, art deco in Deauville or family-friendly in Blonville-sur-Mer . Haven of happiness for all desires, these fine sandy beaches satisfy thrill seekers aboard a sand yacht, fascinate nature lovers with their majestic cliffs of Vaches Noires and Roches Noires - Pointe du Heurt and amaze children with their beach clubs.

1. Walk along the Cliffs of the Black Cow

____________________

Step back in time on a guided tour of Black Cow Cliffs ! Geological curiosities dating from the Jurassic and Cretaceous (about 160 million years ago), these cliffs, more than 100 meters high, come from the accumulation of marine sediment deposits. Why "Black Cows"? The name would come from the words of sailors: the presence of large blocks of chalk crumbling at their feet on the beach and covered with algae which would evoke, seen from the sea, a herd of cattle grazing quietly. Today there are fossils of ammonites, sea urchins, nautiluses, but also plesiosaurs and ichthyosaurs.

For 2 hours, enjoy a family walk to take a deep breath of fresh air, discover all the secrets of this paleontological site and even collect fossils and other small trophies on the wet sand. To stimulate your curiosity even more, choose the Black Cow crossing, a 6km walk. Take the beach from Houlgate and discover the panorama of the cliffs as far as Villers-sur-Mer. These supervised nature walks are offered by the Paleospace.

Guided tour at the foot of the Black CowsDR
AmmoniteWilliam Gurnenwald
Black Cow CliffsJulien Boisard

2. Take a selfie on the Greenwich Meridian

____________________

Villers-sur-Mer beach is at the center of the world ... and for good reason! It is the first city to be crossed by the Greenwich Mean Time in continental Europe. This imaginary line connects the North Pole to the South Pole and separates the earth into two hemispheres, West and East. At the place marked on the seaside, the longitude is exactly 0. An ideal place to take a picture. A room Paleospace is dedicated to the Greenwich Meridian. It offers an intimate scenography highlighting the very beautiful marine objects from the Paris Observatory and the museum's own collections.

Greenwich Mean TimeJulien Boisard

3. Watch the sun go down in Villerville

____________________

Since Graves Park, a descent to the sea from the top of the Roches Noires cliffs - Pointe du Heurt and a network of trails have been developed. At the bend of the paths, there is exotic vegetation, witness to a time when beautiful villas occupied this space and where landscaped gardens were created from the XNUMXth century with rare species mixing with local plants, wild plant species, as well as recent plantations and ponds.

On the beach side, the site can be discovered by taking the seaside at low tide (caution is required not to be blocked at the foot of the cliff by the rising tide). Of guided tours and other nature outings are regularly organized to discover the fauna, flora and fossils of this exceptional geological site.

Sunset in Villerville ©Ville de Villerville
Graves ParkMarine Guillard

4. Kayaking on the sea

____________________

From the sea, take a seat in a kayak for a hike at the foot of the Roches Noires - Pointe du Heurt accompanied by an instructor. With Concept Sport Emotion, it is a new point of view on the cliffs which is offered to you. For 2h30, you will walk along the 4km of clay cliffs that line the coast, alternating gentle slopes and vertical walls, culminating at 60 meters above sea level. Between the collection of fossils, the observation of birds on the rocky flats or the geological and historical discovery of the places, this site classified as a Sensitive Natural Area is revealed in all its forms.

Kayak excursion with Concept Sport EmotionGwenaelle Huard-Marie

5. Take off in a sand yacht

____________________

Want speed on the sand? Taste freedom during a yachting course on wet sand, astride the beaches of Blonville-sur-Mer and Villers-sur-Mer! A real sand kart due to its speed and handling, sand yachting is accessible to everyone, adults and children alike. In a half-lying, half-sitting position, you will catch the wind, soar on two wheels and feel the breeze on your face. The sessions last 2 hours and are supervised by a monitor from Pole Nautique Villers-Blonville.

Sand yachting ©Lucile Loisel
YachtingLucile Loisel

6. Walk on seawalls

____________________

Behind the beach huts, walkers like to stroll along the dykes, in search of the sea air. It is from here that you can admire the different atmospheres that enliven the beaches depending on the time of day: early in the morning, you can see the fishermen off the coast, but also the horses trotting on the wet sand. In the afternoon, the fishing boats give way to water sports enthusiasts: on the sea, sailboats, kayaks and paddleboards rub shoulders. The beach comes alive and fills with umbrellas, towels and children's toys; multicolored kites dance in the sky. At the end of the day, lovers of nature and beautiful colors like to linger to see the last rays of the sun disappear into the sea. The walk by the sea is photogenic in all weathers!

 

 The dykes and promenades here 

From left to d. from h. in B. : the Promenade des Lais de Mer, the Planches de Deauville, the Promenade d'Ornano and the dyke of Villers-sur-Mer ©Paloma Gabet / Lucile Loisel / Delphine Barré-Lerouxel
From left to d. from h. in B. : the Promenade des Lais de Mer, the Planches de Deauville, the Promenade d'Ornano and the dyke of Villers-sur-MerPaloma Gabet / Lucile Loisel / Delphine Barré-Lerouxel

7. Go horseback riding on wet sand

____________________

A true institution on the Côte Fleurie, horses take advantage of the proximity to the sea every morning to come and relax and benefit from the benefits of sea water. Roches Noires cliffs - Pointe du Heurt in Villerville, contemplate the multicolored umbrellas in Deauville and cross the Marshes in Blonville-sur-Mer, these are the activities offered by the inDeauville equestrian centers for riders of all levels. On a group or private outing, enjoy the unique experience of treading the sand at a walk, trot or gallop while enjoying the sound of the waves.

 

 All walks on the beach here 

Horse ride on Deauville beachDelphine Barré Lerouxel
Horseback riding on the beach of Villers-sur-MerGrégory wait
Horse riding on the beachSandrine Chardon

8. Read on the beach

____________________

In summer, lovers of reading meet every day in front of The Read Kiosk at the beach, led by the team of Franciscans. Free of charge, borrow for the day a detective novel, a review, a documentary, a children's album… A large selection that feeds all literary appetites, including the youngest. No time to finish this captivating detective story? A nominative bookmark is slipped there. Put aside, the book will find its reader the next day. To devour on the deckchairs installed on the Boards or lying on the beach, feet in the sand.

"Read on the beach" kioskSimon Saint Jal
Kiosk Reading at the beach ©Sandrine Boyer-Engel
"Read on the beach" kioskSandrine Boyer-Engel

9. Have fun at the club

____________________

Rich in fun and sporting activities, the beach clubs are THE must-see summer event for children from 3 years old! Located on the beaches of Blonville-sur-Mer, Villers-sur-Mer et Deauville, find many facilities such as colorful inflatable games, trampolines, slides and adventure courses in which children bounce, jump, roll and laugh.

 

 All inDeauville children's clubs here 

Happy Deauville Club ©Happy Deauville Club
Happy Deauville ClubHappy Deauville Club
Villers-sur-Mer Beach ClubPatrice Lebris
Blonville-sur-Mer beach club ©Paloma Gabet
Blonville-sur-Mer Beach ClubPaloma Gabet

10. Take to the skies in a helicopter

____________________

With Héli Events, you can discover the Côte Fleurie from a great height. From theDeauville airport, this helicopter ride will allow you to walk along the coast and enjoy the beautiful natural panoramas as well as enjoy lovely views of the typically Norman seaside resorts. You will fly over Deauville at first, with its racetracks, its marina and even the sumptuous Hotel Barrière Hotel du Golf****, nestled in lush greenery. Then, direction the friendly Trouville, the charming Honfleur to finish with a breathtaking view of the Pont de Normandie. Admire the green countryside, the villas along the dikes, the Touques river which separates Deauville and Trouville, the sandy beaches and of course, the sea, as the only horizon.

Helicopter flight over the Côte FleuriePatrice Lebris

Where to eat

____________________

On the top floor of the Novotel **** in Deauville

New 4-star hotel in Deauville, the Novotel has an undeniable asset: its restaurant The Floor, on the 5th and last floor, with a panoramic view of the beach. At noon, take a seat on the terrace bathed in natural light and in the evening, admire the sunset from the large bay windows in a cozy atmosphere. In the kitchen, chef Romain Labrune offers bistronomic cuisine that follows the seasons: poke bowl, tartares, cheese and cold meats, and linguini sautéed with salmon. A feast for the eyes and taste buds.

On the dike of Villers-sur-Mer

To enjoy a peaceful moment facing the sea, take a seat on the restaurant terrace LA DIGUE DE Villers. Between its large bay windows offering a breathtaking view of the Villers beach and its modern and comfortable decoration, you find yourself wanting to settle there for a few hours. Seafood cuisine on the menu, everything that makes up the plate is fresh, local and seasonal. We find the traditional oysters, shellfish and crustaceans, but also dishes harmoniously combining French cuisine and Asian inspirations: homemade foie gras with hibiscus, Daikon ravioli-style crab and Yuzu gel.

Facing the sea of ​​Trouville

Halfway between the restaurant and the beach bar, the Perched Hut and its rooftop offer a breathtaking view of Trouville-sur-Mer, its jetty and its lighthouse. Its atmosphere, both cozy and offbeat, makes it an ideal spot for sunbathing while enjoying a cocktail, sweet and savory platters or a seafood plate.

The Floor ©Novotel
L'ETAGENovotel
Villers Dike ©Paloma Gabet
LA DIGUE DE VillersPaloma Gabet
The Treehouse ©Delphine Barré-Lerouxel
LA CABANE PERCHEEDelphine Barré-Lerouxel

Where to sleep

____________________

On the heights of Villerville at the Domaine du Grand Bec

It is at the end of a modest path that you discover a little corner of paradise, the Grand Bec domain, on the heights of Villerville. From the bedrooms, bathrooms, terraces, restaurant and even the heated outdoor swimming pool, the Estate offers a captivating panorama of the sea. During your breakfast facing the sea or while hitting the ball on the golf course. tennis, let yourself be carried away by the sound of the waves.

Behind the Boards at Villa Namouna

At the crossroads of Art Deco cabins, Boards and Olympic pool, Villa Namouna is ideally located close to Deauville beach. On 500m², there are no less than 10 bedrooms and adjoining bathrooms spread over the three floors: three on the ground floor, five upstairs and two on the garden level. On the ground floor, the large living room is illustrated as the heart of the villa. A large reception room located on the ground floor opening onto a terrace and a professional kitchen allows the organization of meals (25 to 30 people).

With a view of Trouville at the Petit Phare

At the end of Deauville, at the gates of Trouville-sur-Mer, The Little Lighthouse charms with its interior. Parquet and wicker furniture, this two-room studio is a perfect mix between the marine world and the Scandinavian style. Its large windows overlooking the beach of Trouville bring great natural light in the early morning. Take the opportunity to have breakfast on the balcony with a view of the lock, its fishing boats and sailboats. At nightfall, the coast shines with a thousand lights and becomes magical.

Domain of the Grand Beak
The Domaine du Grand BecGrand Bec domain
Villa Namouna
Villa NamounaSandrine Boyer-Engel
The little lighthouse
The Little LighthouseHonorate

All addresses

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices:

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Residence of the Clock
Empress Eugenie wharf
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean-Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

ANY TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Toques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Louis Delamare Promenade
(behind the aid station)
14800 Tourgeville
See opening hours

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Plage : 10 activités vitaminées

Plage de DeauvilleBéatrice Augier

Brise iodée, vue infinie sur la mer et bruit des vagues, les six plages inDeauville ont chacune une âme qui leur est propre : scientifique à Villers-sur-Mer, escarpée à Villerville, art déco à Deauville ou familiale à Blonville-sur-Mer. Havre de bonheur pour toutes les envies, ces plages de sable fin comblent les amateurs de sensations fortes à bord d’un char à voile, fascinent les amoureux de la nature avec leurs majestueuses falaises des Vaches Noires et des Roches Noires, séduisent les épicuriens en quête de bien-être lors d’une séance de réflexologie sur la plage et émerveillent les enfants grâce à leurs clubs de plages.

1. Marcher le long des Falaises des Vaches Noires

____________________

Remontez le temps lors d’une visite guidée aux Falaises des Vaches Noires ! Curiosités géologiques datant du Jurassique et Crétacé (il y a environ 160 millions d’années), ces falaises, hautes de plus de 100 mètres, proviennent de l’accumulation de dépôts de sédiments marins. Pourquoi "Vaches Noires" ? Le nom proviendrait de paroles de marins : la présence de gros blocs de craie éboulés à leurs pieds sur la plage et recouverte d'algues, qui évoqueraient, vus de la mer, un troupeau de bovins paissant tranquillement. On y trouve aujourd’hui des fossiles d’ammonites, d’oursins, de nautiles mais aussi de plésiosaures et d’Ichthyosaures.

Pendant 2 heures, profitez d'une balade familiale pour prendre un grand bol d’air frais, découvrir tous les secrets de ce site paléontologique et même collecter des fossiles et autres petits trophées sur le sable mouillé. Pour pousser encore plus votre curiosité, optez pour la traversée des Vaches Noires, une marche de 6km. Empruntez la plage au départ d’Houlgate et découvrez le panorama des falaises jusqu’à Villers-sur-Mer. Ces promenades nature sont proposées par le Paléospace et encadrées.

 

 Toutes les balades nature ici 

Visite guidée au pied des Vaches NoiresDR
AmmoniteWilliam Gurnenwald
Falaises des Vaches NoiresJulien Boisard

2. Faire un selfie sur le Méridien de Greenwich

____________________

La plage de Villers-sur-Mer est au centre du monde... Et pour cause ! C’est la première ville à être traversée par le Méridien de Greenwich en Europe continentale. Cette ligne imaginaire relie le pôle Nord au pôle Sud et sépare la terre en deux hémisphères, Ouest et Est. A l’endroit matérialisé sur le bord de mer, la longitude est exactement de 0. Un lieu idéal pour se prendre en photo. Une salle du Paléospace l'Odyssée est consacrée au Méridien de Greenwich. Elle propose une scénographie intimiste mettant en valeur les très beaux objets de marine de l’Observatoire de Paris et les propres collections du musée.

Méridien de GreenwichJulien Boisard

3. Voir le soleil se coucher à Villerville

____________________

Depuis le Parc des Graves, une descente à la mer du haut des Roches Noires et un réseau de sentiers ont été aménagés. Au détour des chemins, on y trouve une végétation exotique, témoin d’une époque où de belles villas occupaient cet espace et où étaient créés dès le XIXe siècle des jardins paysagers avec des essences rares se mêlant aux plantes locales, des espèces végétales sauvages, ainsi que des plantations récentes et des mares.

Côté plage, le site se découvre en empruntant le bord de mer à marée basse (la prudence s’impose pour ne pas être bloqué en pied de falaise par la marée montante). Des visites guidées et autres sorties nature sont régulièrement organisées pour découvrir la faune, la flore et les fossiles de ce site géologique exceptionnel.

Parc des GravesMarine Le Guillard
Falaises des Roches NoiresVille de Villerville
Plage de VillervilleCamille David

4. Randonner en kayak sur la mer

____________________

Depuis la mer, installez-vous dans un kayak pour une randonnée accompagnée d’un moniteur. Avec Concept Sport Emotion, c’est un nouveau point de vue sur les Roches Noires qui s’offre à vous. Pendant 2h30, vous longerez les 4km de falaises argileuses qui bordent la côte, alternant pentes douces et parois verticales, culminant à 60 mètres d'altitude. Entre la collecte des fossiles, l’observation des oiseaux sur les platiers rocheux ou la découverte géologique et historique des lieux, ce site classé Espace Naturel Sensible s’offrira à vous sous toute sa diversité.

Randonnée kayak avec Concept Sport EmotionGwenaelle Huard-Marie

5. S'envoler en char à voile

____________________

Envie de vitesse sur le sable ? Goûtez à la liberté lors d'un cours de char à voile sur le sable mouillé, à cheval sur les plages de Blonville-sur-Mer et Villers-sur-Mer ! Véritable kart des sables de par sa vitesse et son pilotage, le char à voile est accessible à tous, adultes comme enfants. En position mi-allongée, mi-assise, vous prendrez le vent, vous envolerez sur deux roues et sentirez la brise sur votre visage. Les séances durent 2h et sont encadrées par un moniteur du Pôle Nautique Villers-Blonville.

Char à voilePNVB

6. Faire une balade à cheval sur le sable mouillé

____________________

Véritable institution sur la Côte Fleurie, les chevaux profitent chaque matin de la proximité avec la mer pour venir se détendre et bénéficier des bienfaits de l’eau de mer. Longer les falaises des Roches Noires à Villerville, contempler les parasols multicolores à Deauville et traverser le Marais à Blonville-sur-Mer, telles sont les activités proposées par les centres équestres inDeauville pour les cavaliers de tous niveaux. En balade collective ou privée, vivez l’expérience unique de fouler le sable mouillé au pas, au trot ou au galop tout en profitant du bruit des vagues.

 

 Toutes les balades sur la plage ici 

Balade à cheval sur la plage de DeauvilleDelphine Barré Lerouxel
Balade à cheval sur la plage de Villers-sur-MerGrégory Wait
Balade à cheval sur la plageSandrine Chardon

7. Lire sur la plage

____________________

Cet été, les amoureux de la lecture se retrouvent tous les jours devant Le Kiosque Lire à la plage, animé par l’équipe des Franciscaines. Gratuitement, empruntez pour la journée un roman policier, une revue, un documentaire, un album jeunesse… Une large sélection qui nourrit tous les appétits littéraires y compris les plus jeunes. Pas le temps de finir ce roman policier captivant ? Un marque-page nominatif y est glissé. Mis de côté, le livre retrouvera son lecteur dès le lendemain. A dévorer sur les transats installés sur les Planches ou allongé sur la plage, les pieds dans le sable.

Kiosque "Lire sur la plage"Simon Saint-Jal
Kiosque "Lire sur la plage"Simon Saint-Jal

8. Lâcher prise lors d’une séance de réflexologie

____________________

Quoi de mieux que de combiner les plaisirs du farniente et du bien-être ? Pour la première fois, des séances de réflexologie, plantaire ou crânienne, sont proposées sur la plage de Deauville. Cette discipline millénaire pratiquée dans la Chine ancienne est une technique douce qui utilise la stimulation de points spécifiques sur le crâne ou les pieds afin de traiter des troubles physiques comme psychiques. Allongé sur une table de massage au milieu des mythiques parasols, respirez le grand air marin et laissez-vous porter par les mains expertes d’une praticienne. Objectif : recharger les batteries et retrouver équilibre et bien-être.

Séance de réflexologieLéo Lemasson
Séance de réflexologieLéo Lemasson

9. S'amuser au club

____________________

Riches en activités ludiques et sportives, les clubs des plages sont LE rendez-vous estival incontournable pour les enfants dès 3 ans ! Situés sur les plages de Blonville-sur-Mer, Villers-sur-Mer, Deauville et Villerville, retrouvez de nombreuses installations comme les jeux gonflables colorés, les trampolines, les toboggans et les parcours aventures dans lesquels les enfants rebondissent, sautent, roulent et rient.

 

 Tous les clubs enfants inDeauville ici 

Club Ados de DeauvilleDR
Club de Blonville-sur-MerDellon Olivier
Club Plage de Villers-sur-MerPatrice Lebris
Villerville ParcDR

10. Prendre de la hauteur en hélicoptère

____________________

Avec Héli Evénements, vous pourrez découvrir la Côte Fleurie de très haut. Au départ de l’aéroport de Deauville, cette balade en hélicoptère vous permettra de longer le littoral et d’en apprécier les beaux panoramas naturels ainsi que de profiter de jolies vues sur les stations balnéaires typiquement normandes. Vous survolerez Deauville dans un premier temps, avec ses hippodromes, son port de plaisance et même le somptueux Hôtel Barrière l’Hôtel du Golf****, niché dans un écrin de verdure. Puis, direction la sympathique Trouville, la charmante Honfleur pour finir avec une vue imprenable sur le Pont de Normandie. Admirez la campagne verdoyante, les villas qui longent les digues, le fleuve de la Touques qui sépare Deauville et Trouville, les plages de sable fin et bien sûr, la mer, comme seul horizon.

Vol en hélicoptère au-dessus de la Côte FleuriePatrice Lebris

Où manger

____________________

Au dernier étage du Novotel**** à Deauville

Nouvel hôtel 4 étoiles à Deauville, le Novotel a un atout indéniable : son restaurant L’Etage, au 5e et dernier étage, avec vue panoramique sur la plage. Le midi, prenez place sur la terrasse baignée par la lumière naturelle et le soir, admirez le coucher du soleil depuis les grandes baies vitrées dans une ambiance feutrée. En cuisine, le chef Romain Labrune propose une cuisine bistronomique au rythme des saisons : poke bowl, tartares, planches de fromages et charcuterie et linguine sautées au saumon. Un régal pour les yeux et les papilles.

Sur la digue de Villers-sur-Mer

Pour profiter d’un instant paisible face à la mer, prenez place sur la terrasse du restaurant La Digue de Villers. Entre ses grandes baies vitrées offrant une vue époustouflante sur la plage villersoise et sa décoration moderne et confortable, on se prend à avoir envie de s'y installer pour quelques heures. Cuisine de la mer au menu, tout ce qui compose l’assiette est frais, local et de saison. On retrouve les traditionnels huîtres, coquillages et crustacés, mais aussi des plats mêlant harmonieusement cuisine française et inspirations asiatiques : foie gras maison à l’hibiscus, Daikon façon ravioles tourteau et gel Yuzu.

Face à la mer de Trouville

A mi-chemin entre le restaurant et le bar de plage, la Cabane Perchée et son rooftop offrent une vue imprenable sur Trouville-sur-Mer, sa jetée et son phare. Son ambiance à la fois cosy et décalée en font un spot idéal pour prendre un bain de soleil tout en savourant un cocktail, des planches sucrées-salées ou une assiette de fruits de mer.


Où dormir

____________________

Sur les hauteurs de Villerville au Domaine du Grand Bec

C’est au bout d’un chemin modeste que vous découvrez un petit coin de paradis, le Domaine du Grand Bec, sur les hauteurs de Villerville. Depuis les chambres, les salles de bains, les terrasses, le restaurant et même la piscine extérieure chauffée, le Domaine offre un panorama subjuguant sur la mer. Lors de votre petit-déjeuner face à la mer ou en tapant la balle sur le terrain de tennis, laissez-vous porter par le bruit des vagues.

Derrière les Planches à la Villa Namouna

Au carrefour des cabines Art Déco, des Planches et de la Piscine Olympique, la Villa Namouna est idéalement située à deux pas de la plage de Deauville. Sur 500m², on ne compte pas moins de 10 chambres et salles de bains attenantes réparties sur les trois étages : trois au rez-de-chaussée, cinq à l’étage et deux au rez-de-jardin. Au rez-de-chaussée, le vaste séjour s’illustre comme le cœur de la villa. Une grande salle de réception située en rez-de-jardin donnant sur une terrasse et une cuisine professionnelle permet l'organisation de repas (25 à 30 personnes).

Avec vue sur Trouville au petit Phare

A l’extrémité de Deauville, aux portes de Trouville-sur-Mer, Le petit Phare charme par son intérieur. Parquet et mobilier en osier, ce studio deux pièces est un mix parfait entre le monde marin et le style scandinave. Ses grandes vitres dominant la plage de Trouville apportent une grande luminosité naturelle au petit matin. Profitez-en pour prendre le petit-déjeuner sur le balcon avec vue sur l’écluse, ses bateaux de pêche et ses voiliers. A la nuit tombée, la côte brille de mille feux et devient féerique.

Toutes les adresses