French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

DISCOVER THE POLO
If there is an illustrious polo tournament in France, it is the Gold Cup that closes the world championship in Deauville and displays the biggest names in international polo. The tournament takes place every year in August on the polo fields located at the center of the tracks of the Deauville-La Touques racecourse. Since its creation in 1950, have been successively added: the emblematic silver cup level 16 goals, the bronze cup level 6/8 goals which allows amateurs to play against professionals and the ladies Cup. This feminine competition is a real success.

Sandrine Boyer Engel
Naiad Plant

Originally

In 1880 the first polo matches were already played in Deauville. It was in 1907 that the club founded by Baron Robert de Rothschild, Captain Joubert and the Duke of Gramont was really born. The land already occupied the heart from the Deauville-La Touques racecourse! Thanks to the Gold Cup, instituted by François André in 1950, the Polo in Deauville is the only French tournament and one of the three big European tournaments to be able to display a prize list comprising the names of all the biggest players of these last decades. Since the first edition won in 1951 by Cibao La Pampa, most of the polo gods, the famous handicaps 10, have trod with their horses on the grounds of the Deauville-La Touques racecourse.

The matches take place every afternoon in August. The final of the Gold Cup is scheduled after the horse racing of the Grand Prix of Deauville, the last weekend of August. All matches are commented and explained, often with a lot of humor. Polo players very often organize exhibition matches on the beach and parades in the city to meet spectators.

Naiad Plant

All polo events coming soon here

Polo school

Created by Evrard de Spa, in collaboration with the Deauville International Polo Club, the polo school benefits from an exceptional environment in the heart of the city. Thanks to the diversity of equipment offered on the inDeauville territory, polo can be learned all year round. Practiced in the Olympic arena of the Pôle International du Cheval Longines - Deauville whatever the season, polo lessons are also taught from May to September on the grass of the field located in the center of the Deauville-La Touques racecourse.

ALL POLO COURSES HERE

For the little story....

In 1912, we find in the steering committee of the polo club the name of Arthur Capel dit Boy Capel, great lover of Gabrielle Chanel. She opened the following year in Deauville her first hat shop on rue Gontaut-Biron. Gabrielle, who rides very well on horseback, is very diligent in polo and does not miss a match of her brilliant protector.

You will like also

Take a polo lesson with Evrard de Spa

Learn more

Deauville Cheval / Polo paradise

Learn more

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

DECOUVRIR LE POLO
S’il est un tournoi de polo illustre dans l’hexagone, c’est bien la Coupe d’Or qui clôture le championnat mondial à Deauville et affiche les plus grands noms du polo international. Le tournoi se déroule chaque année en août sur les terrains de polo situés au centre des pistes de l'hippodrome de Deauville - La Touques. Depuis sa création en 1950, se sont successivement ajoutés : l'emblématique coupe d'argent de niveau 16 goals, la coupe de bronze de niveau 6/8 goals qui permet à des amateurs de jouer contre des professionnels et la ladies Cup. Cette compétition au féminin rencontre un véritable succès.

 

Sandrine Boyer Engel
Naïade Plante

A l'origine

En 1880 se jouaient déjà les premiers matchs de polo à Deauville. C’est en 1907 que voit réellement le jour le club fondé par le Baron Robert de Rothschild, le capitaine Joubert et le Duc de Gramont. Les terrains occupaient déjà le cœur de l’hippodrome de Deauville-La Touques ! Grâce à la Coupe d’Or, instituée par François André en 1950, le Polo à Deauville est le seul tournoi français et l’un des trois grands tournois européens à pouvoir afficher un palmarès comportant les noms de tous les plus grands joueurs de ces dernières décennies. Depuis la première édition gagnée en 1951 par Cibao La Pampa, la plupart des dieux du polo, les fameux handicaps 10, ont foulé avec leurs chevaux les terrains de l’hippodrome de Deauville-La Touques.

Les matchs se déroulent tous les après-midi du mois d'août. La finale de la Coupe d'Or est programmée après la course hippique du Grand Prix de Deauville, le dernier week-end d'août. Tous les matchs sont commentés et expliqués, souvent avec beaucoup d'humour. Les joueurs de polo organisent très souvent des matchs d'exhibition sur la plage et des défilés en ville pour aller à la rencontre des spectateurs. 

Naïade Plante

Tout sur la Barrière Deauville Polo Cup

Toutes les dates ici

L'école de Polo
 

Créée par Evrard de Spa, en collaboration avec le Deauville International Polo Club, l'école de polo bénéficie d'un environnement exceptionnel en plein cœur de la ville. Grâce à la diversité des équipements proposés sur le territoire inDeauville, le polo s’apprend toute l’année. Pratiqués dans le manège olympique du Pôle International du Cheval Longines - Deauville quelle que soit la saison, les cours de polo sont également enseignés de mai à septembre sur l’herbe du terrain situé au centre de l'hippodrome de Deauville-La Touques.

 

TOUS LES COURS DE POLO ICI

Pour la petite histoire....

En 1912, on trouve dans le comité directeur du club de polo le nom d'Arthur Capel dit Boy Capel, grand amoureux de Gabrielle Chanel. Elle ouvre l'année suivante à Deauville sa première boutique de chapeaux rue Gontaut-Biron. Gabrielle, qui monte très bien à cheval, est très assidue au polo et ne  manque pas un match de son brillant protecteur. 

Vous aimerez aussi

Prendre une leçon de polo avec Evrard de Spa

En savoir plus

Deauville Cheval / Le paradis du polo

En savoir plus