Eglise Saint-Pierre - Copie - Copie

Rue de la chapelle

14800 SAINT-ARNOULT

Opening days and times

Classified Historical Monument in 1970, the buildings of the ancient parish church and of the prior chapel next to it, both built in the 11th century, are found on the hillside of the left bank of the Touques, and are dedicated to Saint-Arnoult. What we usually call “Saint-Arnoult chapel” actually corresponds to two buildings, the prior chapel and the parish church. The two buildings had quite a distinct function and vocation.

The prior chapel, founded in 1061, was under the authority of the monastery of Longpont-sur-Orge (91), where priors were named and sent everywhere in France. This priory is different from other buildings as it wasn’t founded by the Normans. It was a Clunisian Benedictine structure managed by a prior. It was the first Clunisian foundation established in Normandy. The Clunisian Benedictine monks remained on site up to the 13th century. In architectural terms, it reminds the Roman architecture of the Mont-Saint-Michel: it has two levels and includes a crypt (low oratory) and a chapel (high oratory).

The parish church, built before the church, is managed by a parish priest. Though partially in ruins, the church has elements belonging to two architectural periods: the Roman and the Gothic eras. A cemetery surrounded the church up to the beginning of the 19th century.

Several peregrines used to venerate and still venerate the two springs found on this site: the spring dedicated to Saint Arnoult has the shape of a bath and seems to be able to give strength and health to weak children. The source, dedicated to Saint Clair, is known to treat eye impairments.

In addition to the religious appointments, the association of the Amis du Prieuré de Saint Arnoult sur Touque regularly organizes concerts and visits to the priory: see the agenda

Go to the website of
Amis du Prieuré de Saint Arnoul sur Touque

Prieuré de Saint Arnoul sur Touques

Rue de la chapelle

14800 SAINT-ARNOULT

Classés Monuments Historiques en 1970, les bâtiments de l’ancienne église paroissiale et de la chapelle priorale qui la jouxte, toutes deux construites au XIe siècle, se dressent à flanc de coteau sur la rive gauche de la Touques, et sont dédiés à Saint-Arnoult. Ce qu'on appelle communément "la chapelle de Saint-Arnoult" correspond en réalité à deux édifices, la chapelle prieurale et l’église paroissiale. Les deux bâtiments avaient une fonction et une vocation bien distinctes.

La chapelle prieurale, fondée en 1061, dépendait du monastère de Longpont-sur-Orge (91), où des prieurs étaient nommés et envoyés un peu partout en France. Ce prieuré se distingue en n'étant pas une fondation normande et en étant bénédictin clunisien avec un Prieur titulaire. C’est la première fondation clunisienne établie en Normandie. Les moines bénédictins clunisiens subsistèrent sur place jusqu’au XIIIe siècle. Sur le plan architectural, elle n'est pas sans rappeler l'architecture romane du Mont-Saint-Michel : on y trouve deux niveaux, un crypte (oratoire bas) et la chapelle (oratoire haut).

L’église paroissiale, antérieure à la chapelle, était quant à elle tenue par un curé. Bien que partiellement en ruines, l’église souligne deux époques architecturales : romane et gothique. Un cimetière entourait l’église jusqu’au début du XIXe siècle.

De nombreux pèlerins vénéraient et vénèrent toujours les deux sources qui coulent sur le site : la source consacrée, à Saint Arnoul, en forme de baignoire, aurait pour vertu de redonner vigueur et santé aux enfants de faible constitution. La source, consacrée à saint Clair, est quant à elle réputée pour soigner les maux d'yeux.

Outre les temps spirituels, l'association des Amis du Prieuré de Saint Arnoul sur Touque organise ponctuellement des concerts et visites au Prieuré : voir
l'agenda.


Voir le site internet des
Amis du Prieuré de Saint Arnoul sur Touque

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture