French Dutch English German Spanish
> Menu
  • > An Olympic seawater swimming pool
  • > An architectural feat
  • > To know
  • > Practical information
Sandrine Boyer Engel
X Close
An Olympic saltwater pool

The Deauville swimming pool has it all: seawater pumped off Deauville and heated to 28 ° C all year round, a 50-meter Olympic pool and a unique architecture designed by Roger Taillibert, architect of first-rate sports equipment plan around the world. Completely renovated in 2006, it looks like a seashell from the outside. Inside, a huge vault captures the light. Dehumidification of the air, solarium, changing rooms, water treatment, acoustics, colors, furniture, everything is new and beautiful.

Naiad Plant
X Close
An architectural feat

Planned in 1924 in the establishment of the Baths of the sea by Charles Adda, the Olympic swimming pool will finally be realized only in 1966 at the initiative of Lucien Barrière who succeeded his uncle François André at the head of the Casino, the Golf, the Royal and Normandy hotels. It will be one of the first projects in France of the architect Roger Taillibert. This program is for him the first of a series of sports facilities, including the Parc des Princes stadium in Paris (1967 -1972) and the Olympic complex in Montreal (1972 -1976). It is also his subject of diploma at ENSBA. He opted for a daring achievement far from the “Normand” style then in vogue on the Côte Fleurie and implemented a process of thin long-span sails, experienced in the early 1960s and of which he became the specialist. The seawater swimming pool will be inaugurated in July 1966. Threatened with closure in 1977 due to its operating cost, it has been managed by the municipality since 1980. It was completely renovated in 2006.

Sandrine Boyer Engel
X Close
Namely

- 1 basin of 50 meters at 28 ° (sea water)
- 1 pool of 25 meters (sea water) at 30 ° from October to March
- 8 corridors (5 permanently open)

The swimming pool was completely renovated in 2006: improvement of water treatment with separate treatment of the 2 basins, improvement of heating and dehumidification of air, acoustics, boiler room, electrical installation, repair of beaches, restructuring and refurbishment of the changing rooms, the reception hall, the bar area, etc.) and the creation of an infirmary. Finally, the glass walls have been secured and the outdoor spaces renovated.

Sandrine Boyer Engel
X Close
Useful information

Located boulevard de la mer, facing the beach. Open all year except annual maintenance periods. Info: 02 31 14 02 17. All the details on the official website: www.mairie-deauville.fr.

My travel book

Menu

> Menu
  • > Une piscine olympique d'eau de mer
  • > Une prouesse architecturale
  • > A savoir
  • > Informations pratiques
Sandrine Boyer Engel
X Fermer
Une piscine olympique d'eau de mer

La piscine de Deauville a tout pour elle : une eau de mer pompée au large de Deauville et chauffée à 28°C toute l'année, un bassin olympique de 50 mètres et une architecture singulière signée Roger Taillibert, architecte d'équipements sportifs de premier plan à travers le monde. Entièrement rénovée en 2006, elle ressemble de l'extérieur à un coquillage. A l'intérieur, c'est une immense voûte qui capte la lumière.  Déshumidification de l’air, solarium, vestiaires, traitement de l’eau, acoustique, couleurs, mobilier, tout est neuf et beau.

Naïade Plante
X Fermer
Une prouesse architecturale

Prévue dès 1924 dans l'établissement des Bains de mer par Charles Adda, la piscine olympique ne se réalisera finalement qu'en 1966 à l'initative de Lucien Barrière qui succédait à son oncle François André à la tête du Casino, du Golf, de l’hôtel Royal et du Normandy. Ce sera l'un des premiers projets en France de l’architecte Roger Taillibert. Ce programme est pour lui le premier d’une suite d’équipements sportifs, parmi lesquels le stade du parc des princes à Paris (1967 -1972) et le complexe olympique à Montréal (1972 -1976). C’est aussi son sujet de diplôme à l'ENSBA. Il opte pour une réalisation audacieuse loin du style « Normand » alors en vogue sur la Côte Fleurie et met en œuvre un procédé de voiles minces à longue  portée, expérimenté au début des années 1960 et dont il devient le spécialiste. La piscine d’eau de mer sera inaugurée en juillet 1966. Menacée de fermeture en 1977 en raison de son coût de fonctionnement, elle est gérée par la municipalité depuis 1980. Elle a été totalement rénovée en 2006.

Sandrine Boyer Engel
X Fermer
A savoir

- 1 bassin de 50 mètres à 28° (eau de mer)
- 1 bassin de 25 mètres (eau de mer) à 30° d’octobre à mars
- 8 couloirs (5 ouverts en permanence)

La piscine a été entièrement rénovée en 2006 : amélioration du traitement de l'eau avec traitement séparé des 2 bassins, amélioration du chauffage et de la déshumidification de l'air, de l’acoustique, chaufferie, installation électrique, réfection des plages, restructuration et remise à neuf des vestiaires, du hall d'accueil, de l'espace bar…) et création d’une infirmerie. Enfin, les parois vitrées ont été mises en sécurité et les espaces extérieurs rénovés.

Sandrine Boyer Engel
X Fermer
Informations pratiques

Située boulevard de la mer, face à la plage. Ouverte toute l'année sauf périodes annuels d'entretien. Infos : 02 31 14 02 17. Tous les détails sur le site officiel : www.mairie-deauville.fr.