French Dutch English German Spanish

Ebony Quartet

Pierre Colombet, Gabriel Le Magadure violin
Adrien Boisseau high
Raphael Merlin cello

After studying with Gábor Takács, Eberhard Feltz, György Kurtág and the Ysaÿe Quartet, their brilliant and unprecedented victory at the 2004 ARD international competition in Munich was the starting point of an ascent illustrated with many other distinctions. The momentum of the Ébène quartet, the charismatic play of its musicians, their fresh approach to traditions as well as their openness to new forms were able to reach a large and young audience.

The fundamental works of the classical repertoire remain at the forefront of current affairs for the four musicians: their interpretation of the quartets op. 95 and 127 by Ludwig van Beethoven will be a highlight of this season.

The Quartet will also perform in 2015/2016 in concert at Wigmore Hall in London, at LG Arts Center in Seoul, at the Philharmonie in Berlin, at Carnegie Hall in New York, among others; they will also give a cycle of three concerts in Brussels.

Passionate about teaching and transmission, they speak regularly at the National Conservatory of Music in Paris and at the Colburn School in Los Angeles, and get involved in festivals with original programming.

The first disc of the Ebony Quartet with works by Haydn was unanimously praised by critics. Their subsequent recordings of quartets by Béla Bartók, Johannes Brahms, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Claude Debussy, Gabriel Fauré, Félix and Fanny Mendelssohn, were awarded among others with the "Recording of the Year" award from Gramophone magazine, Strad Selection, the BBC “Recording of the Month”, the Midem Classic Award, the Shock of the Year Classica, the BBC Music Magazine Award. The Quartet was also named “Ensemble of the Year” at the Victoires de la Musique 2009. In 2010, the album “Fiction” and the corresponding DVD with a live recording of their jazz standard and film music arrangements brilliantly illustrate the singularity of this multi-faceted set. The release of their South American music album "Brazil", with main guests Stacey Kent and Bernard Lavilliers, marked the start of 2014. In the same year, Erato released the live recording (CD and DVD) of the concert of the Quartet with Menahem Pressler: "A 90th Birthday celebration" concert organized on the occasion of the pianist's birthday, in Paris, in November 2013.

The quartet, awarded in 2005 the Belmont Prize from the Forberg-Schneider foundation, allows them to play on exceptional instruments loaned by individuals. He is also in residence at the Singer-Polignac foundation. In the summer of 2015, the Ebène quartet was the winning quartet in residence of the Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

My travel book

Quatuor Ebène

Pierre Colombet, Gabriel Le Magadure violon
Adrien Boisseau alto
Raphaël Merlin violoncelle

Après avoir étudié auprès de Gábor Takács, Eberhard Feltz, György Kurtág et du Quatuor Ysaÿe, leur victoire éclatante et sans précédent au concours international de l’ARD 2004 à Munich fut le point de départ d’une ascension illustrée de multiples autres distinctions. L’élan du quatuor Ébène, le jeu charismatique de ses musiciens, leur approche fraîche des traditions tout comme leur ouverture aux formes nouvelles ont su toucher un public large et jeune.

Les œuvres fondamentales du répertoire classique demeurent au premier plan de l’actualité des quatre musiciens : leur interprétation des quatuors op. 95 et 127 de Ludwig van Beethoven sera un temps fort de cette saison.

Le Quatuor se produira par ailleurs en 2015/2016 en concert au Wigmore Hall de Londres, au LG Arts Center in Seoul, à la philharmonie de Berlin, au Carnegie Hall de New York, entre autres ; ils donneront également un cycle de trois concerts à Bruxelles.

Passionnés d’enseignement et de transmission, ils interviennent régulièrement au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris et à la Colburn School de Los Angeles, et s’impliquent dans des festivals aux programmations originales.

Le premier disque du Quatuor Ébène avec des œuvres de Haydn fut unanimement loué par la critique. Leurs enregistrements ultérieurs de quatuors de Béla Bartók, Johannes Brahms, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Claude Debussy, Gabriel Fauré, Félix et Fanny Mendelssohn, furent récompensés entre autres par l’award« Recording of the Year » du magazine Gramophone, Strad Selection, le BBC « Recording of the Month », le Midem Classic Award, le Choc de l’année Classica, le BBC Music Magazine Award. Le Quatuor fut également nommé « Ensemble de l’Année » aux Victoires de la musique 2009. En 2010, l’album « Fiction » et le DVD correspondant avec un enregistrement live de leurs arrangements de standard jazz et de musique de film illustrent brillamment la singularité de cet ensemble multi-facettes. La parution de leur album de musique sud américaine « Brazil », avec comme invités principaux Stacey Kent et Bernard Lavilliers, a marqué le début de 2014. Erato fit paraître, la même année, l’enregistrement live (CD et DVD) du concert du Quatuor avec Menahem Pressler : « A 90th Birthday celebration » concert organisé à l’occasion de l’anniversaire du pianiste, à Paris, en novembre 2013.

Le quatuor, distingué en 2005 du Prix Belmont de la fondation Forberg-Schneider, leur permet de jouer sur des instruments d’exception prêtés par des particuliers. Il est également en résidence à la fondation Singer-Polignac. Au cours de l'été 2015, le quatuor Ebène a été le quatuor lauréat en résidence des Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture