What to do in Touques

Touques has lived a thousand and one lives. An ancient maritime gateway to the Pays d'Auge, the town was conquered by the Vikings and was once the stronghold of William the Conqueror. From its 2000-year history, the town has kept its old-world soul. A medieval atmosphere emanates from its flower-decked main street and its small adjoining passageways of typically Auvergne timber-framed houses. Historic, inspiring, unsuspected, intrepid, Touques has so much to offer.

What to do in Touques ©Camille Hermant
Camille Hermant

A little history...

What to do in Touques History of a medieval heritage

It's hard to imagine a port and salt works in the old town... And yet! From the Middle Ages to the 19th century, Touques had such a successful salt industry and port area that it became the political and economic heart of the Pays d'Auge. With its privileged position on the estuary, the Dukes of Normandy and Kings of England would moor here to reach the mighty fortress at Château de Bonneville-sur-Touques.

The construction of the seaside resorts on the Côte Fleurie in the mid-19th century attracted many holidaymakers, despite the villages in the hinterland. Today, Touques has lost none of its splendor and has preserved the vestiges of its medieval past.

The must-haves

Meet the artisans of the Quartier des Arts

What to do in Touques Le Quartier des Arts ©Ville de Touques
Town of Touques

Built around theSaint-Pierre churchthe Quartier des Arts is a center for artistic creation, established in the former stables of the Haras de Meautry - graciously bequeathed to the town of Touques by Baron Guy de Rothschild - but also in the former presbytery of the church. A veritable living space where seven sculptors, ceramists, painters, mosaicists and finial specialists live together year-round; where imagination abounds; where a simple sketch is transformed into a work of art. Open to the public, the showcases conceal a gold mine of beautiful finds, decorative objects, tableware, original porcelain pieces and know-how that the artists don't hesitate to share during a visit to their workshop or a hands-on class.

A stone's throw from the stables is a beautiful green half-timbered building: the Galerie des Créateurs. Created by Dominique and Michel Laborde, this permanent exhibition and sales space promotes contemporary artistic creation. Their leitmotiv: to exhibit as many materials as possible - ceramics, glass, wood, cardboard, paper - and to renew the exhibitions every two months, to welcome numerous visitors every weekend, whom they have managed to win over.

Admire local architecture

What to do in Touques? Admire Augeron architecture ©Camille Hermant
Camille Hermant

Tucked away in the heart of a green valley, Touques is one of those Auvergne towns that has managed to preserve its heritage over the centuries. Unchanged since the Middle Ages, the low-slung houses are timelessly beautiful; the facades, adorned with half-timber, stone or brick in a variety of hues, sparkle under the reflections of a stream; the narrow streets and adjacent passages with their imperfect symmetry confirm the charm of the past. A remarkable heritage doubly honoured: Touques was the first town in Calvados to be awarded the label "Petite cité de caractèreIn 2019, Touques was the first town in Calvados to be awarded the "Petite cité de caractère" label, and is now proud to have five of its buildings listed as Monuments Historiques.

L'Saint-Pierre church was the first to receive this distinction, in 1840. Considered the most beautiful Romanesque church in the Pays d'Auge, it was desacralized in favor of theéglise Saint-Thomasalso a listed building. Directly linked to the Touques port trade, theAdmiralty and the Manoir du Grenier à Sel respectively housed the port administration and two employees of the Ferme Générale, responsible for controlling salt production. And because Auvergne's soil is the best for raising horses, the fabulous Haras de Meautry manor house faces the Quartier des Arts.

What to do in Touques? Admire the architecture of Touques ©Ville de Touques / Camille Hermant
Ville de Touques / Camille Hermant

Family leisure activities

What to do in Touques? Family leisure activities ©Dama Factory
Dama Factory

There's no shortage of recreational activities in Touques! A traditional outing with the kids Bowling de Deauville unveils ten lanes raised by screens. After slipping on your shoes and trying your hand at a strike, head for the arcade games or billiards. The latest in immersive, innovative entertainment, Dama Factory offers 6 hectares of land for outdoor sports and 1,000m² of indoor experiences. With a dozen activities to choose from, you'll be spoilt for choice between connected mini-golf, theAction Game and shuffleboard. To let off steam in fine weather, the outdoor area is full of fun, with laser game, 5-a-side soccer and an inflatable park. Tennis enthusiasts and experienced backhand players come here to play on grass with a Wimbledon look, or to try out padel; for more traditional courts, the Touques Côte Fleurie Tennis Club is the place to be. Tennis de Touques Côte Fleurie and theAmirauté Tennis Club are equipped with quick, green set or clay courts.

What to do in Touques? Family leisure activities ©Tennis de Touques / Bowling de Deauville / Dama Factory
Touques tennis / Deauville bowling / Dama Factory

The events

not to be missed under any circumstances

What to do in Touques? Les Médiévales ©Naïade Plante

THE MEDIEVALS

Hear ye, hear ye, good folk! The Middle Ages, their troubadours, their Vikings and their traditions take over the streets of Touques to celebrate the village's history, its peasants of yesteryear and its men-at-arms at the annual Médiévales festival. The program includes a grand ball in period costume, electrifying the audience with pavanes, branles and gaillardes, as well as the traditional fireworks show with a whirlwind of sparks!

When? Every year in June

What to do in Touques Jazz aperitifs ©Sandrine Boyer-Engel

JAZZ APERITIFS

With the arrival of fine weather, weekends in Toulon get off to a musical start with our jazz aperitifs! Under the great hall of Place Lemercier, the sounds of gypsy jazz and danceable swing are sure to get your toes tapping. A musical diversity punctuated by a renewed program every Friday evening, where the musicians carry the audience away with sounds drawn from world music, ideal for enjoying a cocktail and some Norman tapas.

When? Every summer

What to do in Touques Apple Festival ©inDeauville

APPLE FESTIVAL

New in 2022, the Fête de la Pomme celebrates Normandy's most emblematic fruit in all its forms, with a local market run by local artisans, tastings of freshly squeezed apple juice in front of the public, and a competition to choose the best apple pie. For children, there's a treasure hunt, folk songs and dances, an educational farm and horse-drawn carriage rides.

When is it held? Every year in October

Where to eat and sleep in Touques?

Ask for advice

at the Touques tourist office

The Touques Tourisme team welcomes you:
  • February to end of May - Wednesday to Sunday: 10am-1pm / 2pm-6pm
  • June to mid-September - daily: 10am-1pm / 2pm-6pm
  • Mid-September and All Saints' vacation - Wednesday to Sunday: 10am-1pm / 2pm-6pm
  • Christmas vacations - Wednesday to Sunday: 10am-1pm / 2pm-6pm

Come and see us: 20 Place Lemercier, 14800 Touques.

Contact us: info@indeauville.fr / +33 (0)2 31 14 40 00

 

> S'abonner à la newsletter <

Touques Tourism

Getting to and around Touques

BY TRAIN

The nearest train station is Deauville-Trouville, 2.5km from Touques. It is served by TER trains, with daily connections to the Lisieux and Paris Saint-Lazare stations. 

Timetables and fares are available under this link. To book a ticket, go to the ticket office, on SNCF Connect or on Trainline.

BY PLANE

Deauville-Normandie airport is about 6.5km from Touques, in the commune of Saint-Gatien-des-Bois. To reach Touques :

  • Bus route n°111: "Reine Mathilde", "Eglise" or "Croix Sonnet" stops
  • Cabs : Sixt - +33 (0)8 20 00 74 98
  • Shuttles : TSC Normandie - +33 (0)7 81 21 60 35
  • Car: via D74 and D62 (6.5km - 8 minutes)

BY BOAT

The ports of Le Havre and Caen, around 40 km from Touques, offer daily connections with Great Britain.

  • Brittany ferries : Caen-Ouistreham/Portsmouth or Le Havre/Portsmouth +33 (0)825 828 828 - www.brittany-ferries.fr
  • Crossing of the estuary by maritime shuttle (crossings from June to August) from Le Havre and Trouville-sur-Mer. To know more >>>

BY CAR

Touques is ideally located between the sea and the countryside, with two freeways:

  • Paris-Touques: A13 - 200 km, including 190 km of freeway
  • Access A29 north to Amiens (12 km)

BY BUS

  • Route n°111 : Caen - Cabourg - Deauville - Honfleur - Le Havre
  • Route n°112 : Touques - Tourgéville - Saint-Arnoult - Deauville
  • Route n°113 : Deauville - Trouville - Touques

Further information: +33 (0)9 70 83 00 14 - nomad.normandie.fr.
Book tickets for all your trips at all Tourist Information Offices in the Deauville area.

BY BIKE

All bike rental companies just one click away.

Touques is a transit point for national cycle routes the Vélomaritime and the Seine à Vélo.

Finding your way on the map

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

Que faire à Touques ?

A l’épreuve du temps, Touques a vécu mille et une vies. Ancienne porte maritime du Pays d’Auge, la cité fut une terre conquise par les Vikings et l’ancien fief de Guillaume Le Conquérant. De ses 2000 ans d’histoire, son bourg a gardé son âme d’antan. Une atmosphère médiévale émane de sa rue principale fleurie et ses petits passages adjacents composés de maisons à pans de bois typiquement augeronnes. Historique, inspiratrice, insoupçonnable, intrépide, Touques a tant à offrir.

Que faire à Touques ? ©Camille Hermant
Camille Hermant

Un peu d'histoire...

Que faire à Touques ? Histoire d'un patrimoine médiéval

Difficile d’imaginer un port et des salines dans le vieux bourg… Et pourtant ! Du Moyen-Âge au XIXe siècle, Touques possédait une exploitation de sel et une zone portuaire tellement fructueuses qu’elle devint le cœur politique et économique du Pays d’Auge. Avec une situation privilégiée sur l’estuaire, les Ducs de Normandie et Rois d’Angleterre s’y amarraient pour rejoindre la puissante forteresse dressée au Château de Bonneville-sur-Touques.

La construction des stations balnéaires de la Côte Fleurie au milieu du XIXe siècle attira bon nombre de vacanciers, en dépit des villages de l’arrière-pays. Aujourd’hui, Touques n’a rien perdu de sa superbe et a conservé les vestiges de son passé médiéval.

Les incontournables

Rencontrer les artisans du Quartier des Arts

Que faire à Touques ? Le Quartier des Arts ©Ville de Touques
Ville de Touques

Erigé autour de l’église Saint-Pierre, le Quartier des Arts est un pôle de création artistique qui s’est établi dans les anciens boxes du Haras de Meautry - gracieusement légués à la Ville de Touques par le baron Guy de Rothschild - mais aussi dans l’ancien presbytère de l’église. Un véritable lieu de vie où sept sculpteurs, céramistes, peintres, mosaïstes et spécialistes d’épis de faîtage cohabitent à l’année ; où l’imagination foisonne ; où une simple ébauche se métamorphose en œuvre d’art. Ouvertes au public, les vitrines recèlent une mine d’or de belles trouvailles, d’objets décoratifs, de vaisselle, de pièces originales en porcelaine et d'un savoir-faire que les artistes n’hésitent pas à partager lors d’une visite de leur atelier ou d’un cours manuel.

A quelques pas des écuries se trouve une belle bâtisse à colombages verts ; il s’agit de la Galerie des Créateurs. Créé par Dominique et Michel Laborde, cet espace permanent d'exposition et de vente valorise la création artistique contemporaine. Leur leitmotiv : exposer le plus de matières possible - céramique, verre, bois, carton, papier - et renouveler les expositions tous les deux mois, pour accueillir chaque fin de semaine de nombreux visiteurs qu'ils ont su fidéliser.

Admirer l’architecture augeronne

Que faire à Touques ? Admirer l'architecture augeronne ©Camille Hermant
Camille Hermant

Blottie au cœur d’une vallée verte, Touques est l’une de ces cités augeronnes qui a su préserver son patrimoine au cours des siècles. Inchangées depuis le Moyen-Âge, les maisons basses sont d’une beauté intemporelle ; les façades, parées de pans de bois, de pierres ou de briques aux teintes variées scintillent sous les reflets d’un ruisseau ; les rues étroites et passages adjacents à la symétrie imparfaite confirment le charme de l’ancien. Un patrimoine remarquable doublement honoré : si Touques fut la première ville du Calvados auréolée du label "Petite cité de caractère" en 2019, elle se félicite de voir cinq de ses édifices classés Monument Historiques.

L’église Saint-Pierre fut la première à recevoir cette distinction en 1840. Considérée comme la plus belle église romane du Pays d’Auge, elle fut désacralisée au profit de l’église Saint-Thomas, elle aussi classée. Directement liés au commerce portuaire de Touques, l’Amirauté et le Manoir du Grenier à Sel abritaient respectivement l’administration pour la gestion du port et deux employés de la Ferme Générale, chargés de contrôler la production de sel. Et parce que les terres augeronnes ont le meilleur sol pour l’élevage des chevaux, le fabuleux Manoir du Haras de Meautry aux briques rouges se dresse face au Quartier des Arts.

Que faire à Touques ? Admirer l'architecture augeronne ©Ville de Touques / Camille Hermant
Ville de Touques / Camille Hermant

Faire le plein de loisirs en famille

Que faire à Touques ? Faire le plein de loisirs en famille ©Dama Factory
Dama Factory

Les lieux récréatifs ne manquent pas à Touques ! Traditionnelle sortie avec les enfants, le Bowling de Deauville dévoile dix pistes surélevées par des écrans. Après avoir enfilé les chaussures et tenter le strike, direction les jeux d’arcade ou les billards. Nouveau-né du divertissement immersif et innovant, Dama Factory propose 6 hectares de terrain pour s’adonner aux sports en plein air et 1000m² d’expériences indoor. Riche d’une dizaine d’activités, on ne sait que choisir entre le mini-golf connecté, l'Action Game et le shuffleboard. Pour se défouler aux beaux jours, l’espace extérieur fait le plein de bonne humeur avec le laser game, le foot à 5 et le parc gonflable. Les amateurs de tennis et chevronnés au revers maîtrisé s’y rendent pour jouer sur gazon au look de Wimbledon, tester le padel ; pour des terrains plus traditionnels, le Tennis de Touques Côte Fleurie et à l’Amirauté Tennis Club sont équipés de courts en quick, green set ou terre battue.

Que faire à Touques ? Faire le plein de loisirs en famille ©Tennis de Touques / Bowling de Deauville / Dama Factory
Tennis de Touques / Bowling de Deauville / Dama Factory

Les événements

à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte

Que faire à Touques ? Les Médiévales ©Naïade Plante

LES MEDIEVALES

Oyez, oyez, braves gens ! Le Moyen-Âge, ses troubadours, ses vikings et ses traditions s’emparent des rues de Touques pour festoyer tous ensemble lors des Médiévales, le festival qui célèbre chaque année l’histoire du village, ses paysans d’antan et ses gens d’armes. Au programme, un grand bal en costumes d’époque électrise le public dans les pas des pavanes, branles et gaillardes, et le traditionnel spectacle de feu, au tourbillon d’étincelles !

Quand ? Tous les ans en juin

Que faire à Touques ? Les apéros-jazz ©Sandrine Boyer-Engel

LES APEROS-JAZZ

A l’arrivée des beaux jours, les week-ends touquais commencent en musique avec les apéros-jazz ! Sous la grande halle de la Place Lemercier émanent des notes tantôt jazz manouche, tantôt swing dansant qui font taper du pied. Une diversité musicale ponctuée par une programmation renouvelée chaque vendredi soir, où les musiciens emportent le public avec des sonorités tirées des musiques du monde, idéales pour savourer un cocktail et quelques tapas normands.

Quand ? Tous les étés

Que faire à Touques ? La Fête de la Pomme ©inDeauville

LA FETE DE LA POMME

Nouvelle en 2022, la Fête de la Pomme célèbre le fruit le plus emblématique de Normandie sous toutes ses formes avec un marché du terroir tenu par des artisans locaux, des dégustations de jus de pommes fraîchement pressés devant le public et un concours pour désigner la meilleure tarte aux pommes. Pour les enfants, une chasse au trésor, des chants et danses folkloriques, une ferme pédagogique et des balades en calèche animent également la journée.

Quand ? Tous les ans en octobre

Où manger et dormir à Touques ?

Demandez conseil

à l'office de tourisme de Touques

L'équipe de Touques Tourisme vous accueille :
  • De février à fin mai - du mercredi au dimanche : 10h-13h / 14h-18h
  • De juin à mi-septembre - tous les jours : 10h-13h / 14h-18h
  • Mi-septembre et vacances de la Toussaint - mercredi au dimanche : 10h-13h / 14h-18h
  • Vacances de Noël - du mercredi au dimanche : 10h-13h / 14h-18h

Venir nous voir : 20 Place Lemercier, 14800 Touques.

Nous contacter : info@indeauville.fr / +33 (0)2 31 14 40 00

 

> S'abonner à la newsletter <

Touques Tourisme

Venir et se déplacer à Touques

EN TRAIN

La gare la plus proche est celle de Deauville-Trouville, à 2,5km de Touques. Elle est desservie par des TER et relie quotidiennement les gares de Lisieux et Paris Saint-Lazare. 

Les horaires et tarifs sont disponibles sous ce lien. Pour réserver un billet, rendez-vous au guichet, sur SNCF Connect ou sur Trainline.

EN AVION

L'aéroport de Deauville-Normandie est situé à environ 6,5km de Touques, dans la commune de Saint-Gatien-des-Bois. Pour rejoindre Touques :

  • Ligne de bus n°111 : arrêts "Reine Mathilde", "Eglise" ou "Croix Sonnet"
  • Taxis : Sixt - +33 (0)8 20 00 74 98
  • Navettes : TSC Normandie - +33 (0)7 81 21 60 35
  • Voiture : via D74 et D62 (6,5km - 8 minutes)

EN BATEAU

Les ports du Havre et de Caen situés à environ 40 km de Touques proposent des liaisons quotidiennes avec la Grande-Bretagne.

  • Brittany ferries : Caen-Ouistreham/Portsmouth ou Le Havre/Portsmouth +33 (0)825 828 828 - www.brittany-ferries.fr
  • Traversée de l'estuaire en navette maritime (traversées de juin à août) depuis Le Havre et Trouville-sur-Mer. En savoir plus >>>

EN VOITURE

Touques est idéalement située entre mer et campagne, avec deux autoroutes :

  • Paris-Touques : A13 - 200 km, dont 190 km d'autoroute
  • Accès A29 nord vers Amiens (12 km)

EN BUS

  • Ligne n°111 : Caen - Cabourg - Deauville - Honfleur - Le Havre
  • Ligne n°112 : Touques - Tourgéville - Saint-Arnoult - Deauville
  • Ligne n°113 : Deauville - Trouville - Touques

Pour plus d'informations : +33 (0)9 70 83 00 14 - nomad.normandie.fr.
Réservez vos billets pour tous vos trajets dans tous les Bureaux d'information touristique du Territoire de Deauville.

EN VELO

Tous les loueurs de vélos en un clic ici.

Touques est un point de passage des véloroutes nationales la Vélomaritime et la Seine à Vélo.

Se repérer sur la carte

Fermer

Nous contacter :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Nos bureaux d’information touristique :

DEAUVILLE TOURISME
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISME
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISME
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

VILLERVILLE TOURISME
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOUQUES TOURISME
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
Voir les horaires d'ouverture

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISME
Promenade Louis Delamare
(derrière le poste de secours)
14800 Tourgéville
Voir les horaires d'ouverture