French Dutch English German Spanish

Jay One Ramier

Artist

Guest of the 2021 L'Appel du Large festival

Born in Guadeloupe, Jay ONE Ramier currently lives and works in Paris. Contemporary artist from the graffiti scene and inspired by the pioneers of this movement, he painted in public space for eight years at the same time as he visited galleries exhibiting New York artists from the Downtown Manhattan scene and the Bronx. This energy observed during these exhibitions will push him to use painting, installation or video interchangeably in his own interventions. For 30 years, he has exhibited on the international scene. His works are shown in the main galleries and biennials as well as in the largest museums and contemporary art spaces: Galerie du Jour Agnès B (Paris), Center Pompidou (Paris), MUba (Tourcoing), Institut du Monde Arabe (Paris) ), Galerie Noire (Turin), Galerie HVW8 (Berlin), Bronx Museum (NYC), Venice Biennale…

Today, Jay Ramier's work, which revolves around memory and archives, only preserves certain gestures from the graffiti heritage. The tags have been replaced by fragments of texts or quotes taken from songs or referring to the music.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

More information on L'Appel du Large here.

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Jay One Ramier

Artiste

Invité du festival L'Appel du Large 2021

Né en Guadeloupe, Jay ONE Ramier vit et travaille actuellement à Paris. Artiste contemporain issu de la scène graffiti et inspiré des pionniers de ce mouvement, il peint dans l’espace public huit ans durant en même temps qu’il visite les galeries exposant les artistes New Yorkais de la scène Downtown Manhattan et du Bronx. Cette énergie observée lors de ces expositions le poussera à utiliser la peinture, l'installation ou la vidéo de façon interchangeable dans ses propres interventions. Depuis 30 ans, il expose sur la scène internationale. Ses œuvres sont aussi bien montrées dans les principales galeries et biennales que les plus grands musées et espaces d’art contemporain : Galerie du Jour Agnès B (Paris), Centre Pompidou (Paris), MUba (Tourcoing), Institut du Monde Arabe (Paris), Galerie Noire (Turin), Galerie HVW8 (Berlin), Bronx Museum (NYC), Biennale de Venise…

Aujourd’hui, l’œuvre de Jay Ramier qui s’articule autour de la mémoire et des archives ne conserve que certains gestes de l’héritage du graffiti. Les tags ont été remplacés par des fragments de textes ou des citations tirées de chanson ou faisant référence à la musique.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Plus d'informations sur L'Appel du Large ici.