French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

HENRY ROY

Photographer invited to the Planche (s) Contact festival in 2014

© Naïade Plante

Visions of Deauville

Henry Roy was born in Port-au-Prince in Haiti in 1963 and now lives and works in Paris. He likes color, the soft colors at the end of the spring or summer day. He likes to take his time, seize the moment, an impression and photograph the slowness. From the simplest banality, it leaves an image which will remain in our memories. An experience of "transfiguration of the banal"through the photographic story. In the blog he keeps daily, he writes, aimed at the younger generations:" Photography is a powerful language. Each photo, even the most insignificant, sends you a message. He can be simplistic and vulgar, solicit the most primitive part of your being and slyly manipulating you. "

Henry Roy is a photographer who exudes independence of mind, serenity and extreme gentleness. For him the art of walking is a quest for freedom, he never stops taking photos lightly. He looks at each of them very carefully, and asks the question of its real content. Ask what its true purpose is.

For the Planche (s) Contact festival, he followed the departure of the sailors from the Solitaire du Figaro Eric Bompard cashmere and its preparations between May 29 and June 8, 2014. An offbeat look at a major sporting event which, for the first time had chosen Deauville.

Henry Roy about his exhibition Visions of Deauville :
"I admit that I don't know much about the world of sailing, and I'm nothing like a sports photographer. On the other hand, it happens to me regularly since ten in, to spend my weekends, in family, in Deauville (city that I photographed a lot). When I was offered to work on the start of the Figaro race, I first doubted my legitimacy to cover such an event. But I immediately changed my mind to live this new experience, while reinterpreting a familiar environment. This work accounts for a stroll, on the sidelines of an event of which only fragments appear. While mumming the layman's candor, I photographed there - as one dreams - what caught my attention. All eyes being, by nature, unique, I give little credit to the rules and formulas acquired usually governing the coverage of an event. My opinion is that the faithful restitution of one's own perception of a lived moment, without any other guide which intuition, is the most authentic way of approaching a subject. Each photo, the fruit of deep attention, then becomes a sign charged with its own energy, itself involved in the restitution of a sensation, a feeling, a reminiscence. It is both an offering of chance, and an essential emanation of the photographer. More than style, it is a question of a point of view on the world and oneself, an attitude towards existence. An appearance dominates my memories of this stay: that of the first competitor taking off after passing the last buoy marking the start of the race. Hanging from the bar, he saluted our press crew with his free hand. His boat, tilted in the waves, spinning towards the unknown. I then strongly felt all the admiration and respect that these great sailors inspire in me, adventurers with temperaments shaped by the winds. Unfortunately, you will not see anything of this emotion, which no photo can express. But it remains engraved on the hard drive of my memory. And will no doubt re-emerge in another form, in another place, in an opportune future."

My travel book

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

HENRY ROY

Photographe invité au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2014

© Naïade Plante

Visions deauvillaises

Henry Roy est né à Port-au-Prince à Haïti en 1963 et vit et travaille désormais à Paris. Il aime la couleur, les couleurs douces de fin de journée de printemps ou d’été. Il aime prendre son temps, saisir le moment, une impression et photographier la lenteur. De la banalité la plus simple, il sort une image qui restera dans nos mémoires. Une expérience de "transfiguration du banal" par le récit photographique. Dans le blog qu’il tient au quotidien, il écrit, s’adressant aux jeunes générations : « La photographie est un langage puissant. Chaque photo, même la plus insignifiante, t’adresse un message. Il peut être simpliste et vulgaire, solliciter la partie la plus primitive de ton être et te manipuler sournoisement ».

Henry Roy est un photographe qui respire l'indépendance d'esprit, la sérénité et une extrême douceur. Pour lui l’art de se promener est une quête de liberté, il ne cesse de prendre les photos à la légère. Il regarde chacune d'elles très attentivement, et pose la question de son réel contenu. Demande quel est son but véritable.

Pour le festival Planche(s) Contact, il a suivi le départ des marins de la Solitaire du Figaro Eric Bompard cachemire et ses préparatifs entre le 29 mai et 8 juin 2014. Un regard décalé sur un grand événement sportif qui, pour la première fois avait choisi Deauville.

Henry Roy à propos de son exposition Visions deauvillaises
"J'avoue ne pas connaître grand chose à l'univers de la voile, et n'ai rien d'un photographe de sport. En revanche, il m'arrive régulièrement depuis dix dans, de passer mes week-ends, en famille, à Deauville (ville que j'ai beaucoup photographiée). Lorsque l'on m'a proposé de travailler sur le départ de la course du Figaro, j'ai d'abord douté de ma légitimité à couvrir un tel événement. Mais je me suis immédiatement ravisé à l'idée de vivre cette expérience nouvelle, tout en réinterprêtant un environnement familier. Ce travail rend compte d'une flânerie, en marge d'un événement dont n'apparaissent que des fragments. En momant la candeur du profane, j'y ai photographié - comme l'on rêve - ce qui retenait mon attention. Tout regard étant, par nature, singulier, je n'accorde que peu de crédit aux règles et formules acquises gouvernant habituellement la couverture d'un événement. Mon opinion est que la restitution fidèle de sa propre perception d'un instant vécu, sans autre guide qui l'intuition, est la plus authentique façon d'aborder un sujet. Chaque photo, fruit d'une profonde attention, devient alors un signe chargé de son énergie propre, elle-même impliquée dans la restitution d'une sensation, un sentiment, une réminiscence. Elle est à la fois une offrande du hasard, et une émanation essentielle du photographe. Plus que de style, il est question d'un point de vue sur le monde et soi-même, d'une attitude face à l'existence. Une apparition domine mes souvenirs de ce séjour : celle du premier concurrent prenant le large une fois dépassée l'ultime bouée balisant le départ de la course. Accroché à la barre, il salua de sa main libre notre équipage de presse. Son bâteau, incliné dans les vagues, filant vers l'inconnu. J'ai alors fortement ressenti toute l'admiration et le respect que m'inspirent ces grands marins, aventuriers aux tempéramments façonnés par les vents. De cette émotion là, qu'aucune photo ne saurait exprimer, vous ne verrez malheureusement rien. Mais elle reste gravée dans le disque dur de ma mémoire. Et ressurgira sans doute sous une autre forme, en un autre lieu, dans un futur opportun."