French Dutch English German Spanish

FRANÇOISE SAGAN

Writer

In 1954, the success of Hello Sadness propels ahead of the news a young unknown 19 year old, Françoise Sagan, fragile novelist who immediately becomes the heroine of a generation. She was one of the figures of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, and Saint Tropez of the 60s. The author of Hello Sadness discovered the Normandy coast in 1959 and went to adopt Deauville. Both have a taste for partying, horse racing, vast soothing beaches, game tables that electrify and gang trips that bond friendships.

THE 8 OF FRANÇOISE SAGAN
From July 8 to August 8, 1959, Françoise Sagan rents the Breuil manor, in Equemauville, a property with an 8 hectare park, located between Deauville and Honfleur. On August 7, Françoise Sagan, Jacques Chazot and Bernard Franck leave for Deauville for a last evening which ends at the game tables. The episode is now famous. In the early hours of the morning, after playing roulette 8 several times on roulette, the future author of Happiness, Odd and Pass is delighted to have won 8 million francs (just over 200 euros today). Back at the manor, she finds the owner impatient to draw up an inventory. She questions him to find out if he doesn't want to sell the house. He replied in the affirmative and specified that it had been estimated at 000 million. Françoise Sagan then takes a wad of banknotes out of her purse and hands her before his stunned eyes. "It was August 8, now I won with 8, he sold it for 8 million old, it was 8 am, what did you want me to do against all this? ... I pulled the tickets of my evening purse, which overflowed from it, and I put them in his hand, before going to bed triumphant, in what was going to be - and which has remained so far - my only good on earth, a house still a bit run down, located three kilometers from Honfleur (and twelve from Deauville) »

The return that evening on the road that follows the sea from Deauville to Honfleur, in an old convertible car despite the cold, and accompanied by exultant friends, was one of the most delicious moments of my existence. I had spent a week in purgatory, it had almost ended badly, I had gotten out of it, and the sea was gray on the left, and the dark green grass on the right, and the whole earth belonged to me.
Françoise Sagan, With my best memory, © Gallimard 1984

FRANÇOISE SAGAN PLATE
For the tenth anniversary of his disappearance, the City of Deauville paid tribute to Françoise Sagan on September 27, 2014, in two stages punctuated by the number 8. After the unveiling of a plaque at the Bar du Soleil, a unique evening of 88 minutes in the Casino theater combined projection, readings, testimonies and songs to find Françoise Sagan, her voice, her liveliness, her words and her songs. We can read on this plate:

… In this Deauville of October, abandoned and burning, I looked at the empty sea, the frantic seagulls that razed the boards, the white sun and, against the light, some characters that one would have said were taken from Mort à Venise by Visconti .
And I, alone, finally alone, who let my hands hang down, like dead game, on each side of my lounge chair.
Rendered to loneliness, to dreamy adolescence, to which one should never leave, but which the others - hell, paradis- constantly force you to desert. But there, the others could nothing between me and this triumphant fall.

Françoise Sagan, Bruises to the soul, © Flammarion 1972 © Stock 2009

My travel book

Menu

FRANÇOISE SAGAN

Ecrivain

En 1954, le succès de Bonjour Tristesse propulse au-devant de l’actualité une jeune inconnue de 19 ans, Françoise Sagan, romancière fragile qui devient d’emblée l’héroïne d’une génération. Elle fut l’une des figures de Saint-Germain-des-Prés, et du Saint Tropez des Années 60. L’auteure de Bonjour Tristesse découvre la côte Normande en 1959 et va adopter Deauville. Tous deux ont le goût de la fête, des courses de chevaux, des vastes plages qui apaisent, des tables de jeux qui électrisent et des virées en bande qui soudent les amitiés.

LE 8 DE FRANÇOISE SAGAN
Du 8 juillet au 8 août 1959, Françoise Sagan loue le manoir du Breuil, à Equemauville, une propriété avec un parc de 8 hectares, siuée entre Deauville et Honfleur. Le 7 août, Françoise Sagan, Jacques Chazot et Bernard Franck partent à Deauville pour une dernière soirée qui s’achève aux  tables de jeux. L’épisode est désormais célèbre. Au petit matin, après avoir joué le 8 à plusieurs reprises à la roulette, la future auteure de Bonheur, Impair et passe est toute à sa joie d’avoir gagné, 8 millions de francs (un peu plus de 200 000 euros d’aujourd’hui).  De retour au manoir, elle trouve le propriétaire impatient de dresser l’état des lieux. Elle l’interroge pour savoir s’il n’a pas envie de vendre la maison. Il lui répond par l’affirmative et précise qu’elle a été estimée à 8 millions. Françoise Sagan sort alors une liasse de billets de son sac à main et lui tend devant ses yeux stupéfaits. « Nous étions le 8 août, à présent, j’avais gagné avec le 8, il la vendait 8 millions anciens, il était 8 heures du matin, que vouliez-vous que je fisse contre tout cela ?... Je tirai les billets de mon sac à main du soir, qui en débordait, et je les lui mis dans la main, avant d’aller me coucher triomphante, dans ce qui allait être- et qui est resté jusqu’ici -mon seul bien sur la terre, une maison toujours un peu déglinguée, sise à trois kilomètres d’Honfleur (et douze de Deauville) »

Le retour ce soir-là sur la route qui suit la mer de Deauville à Honfleur, dans une vieille voiture décapotable malgré le froid, et accompagné d’amis exultants, fut l’un des moments les plus délicieux de mon existence. J’avais passé une semaine au purgatoire, ça avait failli mal finir, je m’en étais tiré, et la mer était grise à gauche, et l’herbe vert sombre à droite, et la terre entière m’appartenait.
Françoise Sagan, Avec mon meilleur souvenir, © Gallimard 1984

PLAQUE FRANÇOISE SAGAN
Pour le Xe anniversaire de sa disparition, la Ville de Deauville a rendu un hommage à Françoise Sagan le 27 septembre 2014, en deux temps rythmé par le chiffre 8. Après le dévoilement d’une plaque au Bar du Soleil, une soirée unique de 88 minutes dans le théâtre du Casino a associé projection, lectures, témoignages et chansons pour retrouver Françoise Sagan, sa voix, sa vivacité, ses mots et ses chansons. On peut lire sur cette plaque :

… en ce Deauville d’octobre, abandonné et brûlant, je regardais la mer vide,  les mouettes affolées qui rasaient les planches, le soleil blanc et, à contre-jour, quelques personnages qu’on eût dits tirés de Mort à Venise de Visconti.
Et moi, seule, enfin seule, qui laissais pendre mes mains, tels des gibiers morts, de chaque côté de ma chaise longue.
Rendue à la solitude, à l’adolescence rêveuse, à ce qu’on ne devrait jamais quitter, mais que les autres -l’enfer, le paradis- vous obligent sans cesse à déserter. Mais là, les autres ne pouvaient rien entre moi et ce triomphant automne.

Françoise Sagan, Des bleus à l’âme, © Flammarion 1972 © Stock 2009