Roger Schall

Photographer - Retrospective during the Contact Board Festival in 2018

Bather diving in the waves Deauville summer 1935 © Roger Schall
Children playing on the beach of Deauville, summer 1936 © Roger Schall

Summers in Deauville (1934 > 1950)

Famous French photo reporter of the 30s, Roger Schall was born in Nancy in 1904. Son of a photographer, he was trained by his father and during his incorporation, in 1925, in the photographic section of the army.

1931: Opening of his first photographic studio in Montmartre, avenue Junot.

1934: With the rise of the illustrated press, the Schall studio, created and co-directed by Roger Shall and his brother Raymond Schall, has fourteen employees and operates until 1939 as a press agency. Schall's reports were published throughout Europe and the United States in more than 100 illustrated magazines. The nudes and photos of Paris are published with those of Brassaï and Jean Moral. 

1934: Roger Schall begins his career as an international reporter with a Rolleiflex. First summer report in Deauville, commissioned by Lucien Vogel for the magazine VU. First collaborations with Vogue. Roger Schall photographs fashion in the style of reportage, in movement and in natural settings, whereas fashion photography was then mostly done in the studio.

1935: Report on the Jubilee of King George VI in London, published in the English edition of Vogue . Portraits of Colette. After having made a report on the construction of the liner Normandie in the shipyards of Penhöet, Lucien Vogel entrusts him with the reportage of the maiden voyage from Le Havre to New York. Exclusive photographer accredited by the Compagnie Générale Transatlantique, he shares his cabin with Blaise Cendrars. Short stay in the USA and reportage on New York, Harlem, Coney Island. Second stay in Deauville.

1936 : Reportage in Berlin to cover the preparation of the future Olympic Games, for Vu. Third reportage in Deauville to capture the first paid holidaymakers. 

1937: Publication of Paris de Jour, a book prefaced by Jean Cocteau (Arts & Métiers Graphiques) and the Nude in Photography by Marcel Natkin. Roger Schall's photos are shown alongside those of Man Ray, Laure Albin Guillot and Pierre Boucher. Fourth summer reportage in Deauville.

1944 : Publication of : A Paris sous la botte des nazis, testimony in images of the four years of occupation. This book, with a preface by General de Gaulle, will be published by Raymond Schall with photographs by Roger Schall, Robert Doisneau, Roger Parry, Les Frères Seeberger, Pierre Jahan... 

 1947: Beginning of advertising photography in his studio in Montmartre 

1948 > 1969: Numerous reports in France : Summer in Deauville for France Illustrations. Marcel Boussac's stud farms (publication of Horses of France for Editions Prisma, (1964) races (Longchamp, Ascot), industrial photography (Forges et Aciéries de la Loire, Le Creusot, Saint Etienne, Saint-Gobain factories...), presidential hunts in Rambouillet, new orders from the Compagnie Générale Transatlantique...

Many portraits of painters, writers and actors. 

In parallel to his advertising creations, he continues his fashion reports and carries out commissions for haute couture (Jeanne Lanvin, Jacques Fath, Grès...)

1970: Roger Schall returns to painting and drawing. Solicited by many publishers and museums, he devotes himself to the management of his collection and his photographic fund.

1995: Roger Schall died on December 4 in Paris, at the age of 91.

About the retrospective exhibition on Roger Schall: Summers in Deauville (1934 > 1950):
In the 1930s, the photographer Roger Schall (1904-1995) was caught up in the media revolution that was the birth of the illustrated press. He was one of the first to use the Rolleiflex and its square images. He then established himself as one of the best French photojournalists. Multiplying the reports and the orders for VU, Match, L'illustration, Marie Claire... He discovered Deauville in 1934 and until 1950 he produced numerous images with rigorous compositions that have remained unpublished to this day.
It was at the request of Lucien Vogel, director of VU magazine, that Roger Schall went to Deauville for the first time in the summer of 1934. He captures the rituals and various activities. Exploring the beach during the day, with its bathers, children, celebrities and elegant women, he attended gala dinners and captured the atmosphere of the casino in the evening. He follows the automobile competitions of elegance, the races and sales of yearlings, the golf games and the pigeon shooting. He also strolls the yacht basin and its displays and follows the activities of the Deauville Yacht Club. He is one of the only photographers to have also photographed the religious processions of August 15th. Rarely has a reporter captured so many different and complementary facets of the city. In May 1*935, at the request of the Compagnie Générale Transatlantique, Roger Schall was the only photographer accredited to the inaugural cruise of the liner Normandie. As soon as he returned from the United States, seduced by Deauville and its activities, he returned there in the summer of 1935, then in 1936 to discover the first summer of paid vacations.
Created for Planche(s) Contact 2018, this original exhibition is presented outdoors on the beach. It reproduces 25 large formats, on three-meter high structures, mostly unpublished photographs taken in Deauville between 1934 and 1950. 

Exhibition conceived by Philippe Normand, artistic director of Planche(s) Contact 2018, in collaboration with Jean-Frédérique Schall, son of the photographer. 

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

Roger Schall

Photographe - Retrospective lors du Festival Planche(s) Contact en 2018

Baigneur plongeant dans les vagues Deauville été 1935 © Roger Schall
Jeux d'enfants plage de Deauville été 1936 © Roger Schall

Les étés à Deauville (1934 > 1950)

Célèbre photo reporter français des années 30, Roger Schall nait à Nancy en 1904. Fils de photographe, il est formé par son père et lors de son incorporation, en 1925, dans la section photographique des armées.

1931 : Ouverture de son premier studio photographique à Montmartre, avenue Junot.

1934 : A la faveur de l’essor de la presse illustrée le studio Schall, créé et codirigé par Roger Shall et son frère Raymond Schall, compte quatorze employés et fonctionne jusqu’en 1939 comme une agence de presse. Les reportages Schall sont publiés dans toute l’Europe et aux Etats Unis dans plus de 100 magazines illustrés. Les nus et les photos de Paris, sont publiées avec celles de Brassaï et Jean Moral. 

1934 : Roger Schall débute sa carrière comme reporter international au Rolleiflex. Premier reportage estival à Deauville, commandé par Lucien Vogel pour le magazine VU. Premières collaborations avec Vogue. Roger Schall photographie la mode dans le style du reportage, en mouvement et en décors naturels, alors que la photographie de mode est alors majoritairement réalisée en studio.

1935 : Reportage du Jubilé du Roi George VI à Londres, publié dans l’édition anglaise de Vogue. Portraits de Colette. Après avoir réalisé un reportage sur la construction du paquebot Normandie sur les chantiers de Penhöet, Lucien Vogel lui confie le reportage du voyage inaugural du Havre à New York. Photographe exclusif accrédité par la Compagnie Générale Transatlantique, il partage sa cabine avec Blaise Cendrars. Court séjour aux USA et reportage sur New York, Harlem, Coney Island. Deuxième séjour à Deauville.

1936 : Reportage à Berlin pour couvrir la préparation des futurs Jeux Olympiques, pour Vu,. Troisième reportage à Deauville pour y saisir les premiers vacanciers des congés payés. 

1937 : Parution de Paris de Jour, ouvrage préfacé par Jean Cocteau (Arts & Métiers Graphiques) et le Nu en photographie de Marcel Natkin. Les photos de Roger Schall côtoient celles de Man Ray, Laure Albin Guillot et Pierre Boucher. Quatrième reportage estival à Deauville.

1944 :  Parution de : A Paris sous la botte des nazis, témoignage en images des quatre années d’occupation. Cet ouvrage, préfacé par le général de Gaulle, sera édité par Raymond Schall avec des photographies de Roger Schall, Robert Doisneau, Roger Parry, Les Frères Seeberger, Pierre Jahan… 

 1947 : Débuts dans la photographie publicitaire dans son studio de Montmartre 

1948 > 1969 : Nombreux reportages en France : L’Eté à Deauville pour France Illustrations. Les haras de Marcel Boussac (publication de Chevaux de France aux Editions Prisma, (1964) les courses (Longchamp, Ascot), photographie industrielle (Forges et Aciéries de la Loire, Le Creusot, Saint Etienne, les usines de Saint-Gobain…), les chasses présidentielles à Rambouillet, nouvelles commandes de la compagnie Générale Transatlantique…

Nombreux portraits de peintres, d’écrivains et de comédiens. 

Il poursuit parallèlement à ses créations publicitaires ses reportages de mode et réalise des commandes pour la haute couture (Jeanne Lanvin, Jacques Fath, Grès…)

1970 : Roger Schall se remet à la peinture et au dessin. Sollicité par de nombreux éditeurs et musées Il se consacre à la gestion de sa collection et de son fonds photographique.

1995 : Roger Schall décède le 4 décembre à Paris, à l’âge de 91 ans.

A propos de l'exposition retrospective sur Roger Schall : Les étés à Deauville (1934 > 1950)
Dans les années 1930, le photographe Roger Schall (1904-1995) s'engouffre dans la révolution médiatique que constitue la naissance de la presse illustrée. Il est l'un des premiers adeptes du Rolleiflex et de ses images carrées. Il s'impose alors comme l'un des meilleurs photoreporters français. Multipliant les reportages et les commandes pour VU, Match, L'illustration, Marie Claire... Il découvre Deauville en 1934 et réalise jusqu'en 1950 de nombreuses images aux compositions rigoureuses et restées, à ce jour, inédites. 
C'est à la demande de Lucien Vogel, directeur du magazine VU, que Roger Schall se rend une première fois à Deauville en été 1934. Il saisit les rituels et les activités diverses. Explorant la plage en journée, avec ses baigneurs, ses enfants, ses célébrités et ses élégantes, il assiste aux dîners de galas et restitue les ambiances du casino en soirées. Il suit les concours d'élégance automobile, les courses et les ventes de yearlings, les parties de golf et de tir au pigeon. Il arpente aussi le bassin des yachts et ses pavoisements et suit les activités du Deauville Yacht Club. Il est l'un des seuls photographes à avoir aussi photographié les processions religieuses du 15 août. Rarement un reporter aura restitué autant de facettes différentes et complémentaires de la ville. En mai 1*935, à la demande de la Compagnie Générale Transatlantique, Roger Schall est le seul photographe accrédité à la croisière inaugurale du paquebot Normandie. Sitôt rentré des Etats-Unis, séduit par Deauville et ses activités, il y revient lors de l'été 1935, puis en 1936 pour y découvrir le premier été des congés payés. 
Créée à l'intention de Planche(s) Contact 2018, cette exposition originale est présentée en plein air, sur la plage. Elle reproduit 25 grands formats, sur des structures hautes de trois mètres, des photographies pour la plupart inédites réalisées à Deauville entre 1934 et 1950. 

Exposition conçue par Philippe Normand, directeur artistique de Planche(s) Contact 2018, en collaboration avec Jean-Frédérique Schall, fils du photographe.