Entertaining like a dandy

In France, casinos are inextricably linked to holiday resorts. France only officially authorized them in 1806 and only in seaside or spa towns. Bathing is good, but bathing and having fun is even better! People gather there to spend the evenings, to meet, to exchange, to play cards, to dance and to attend shows.

Casino Barrière Deauville, one of the most beautiful in Europe

A first small casino opened in 1864 at the creation of Deauville, about fifty meters from the present casino. But with the fall of the Empire at the end of the 19th century and the temporary desertion of Deauville, it was razed in 1895. It was Eugène Cornuché, creator of the Parisian restaurant Chez Maxim's, and the mayor Désiré Le Hoc who revived the idea of a new casino. Built in 1912, the current Deauville casino, inspired by the Grand Trianon of Versailles, imposes its large and elegant façade, which rises on two levels of concrete covered with a coating and crowned by a floor slightly set back. A place for table games and slot machines, it also houses an Italian-style theater, a large baroque-style lounge, "Les Ambassadeurs", three restaurants, a night bar and a nightclub.
 
Inside the casino, an Italian-style theater, inaugurated in 1912 by the Ballets Russes, was designed from the outset to offer an abundance of artistic programming. Inspired by the Versailles Opera House, it has kept its original composition with its oval room, its vaulted ceiling, its large horseshoe balcony bordered by balusters, its wooden columns crowned with Corinthian sculptures and its walls covered with toile de Jouy depicting rural scenes inspired by the 18th century.
DEAUVILLE

Casino Barrière Deauville

2 Rue Edmond Blanc
14800 DEAUVILLE
France
02 31 14 31 14
The small Italian-style theater of the Casino Barrière Deauville

Casino Tranchant de Villers-sur-mer, a building constantly renewed

Nine casinos have succeeded each other in Villers-sur-Mer since its creation. The first one opened in 1856, in wood near the Place Mermoz, to symbolize the new fashionable seaside resort. With the opening in 1884 of the Trouville-Cabourg railroad passing through Villers-sur-Mer and the galloping urban rise of the town over the decades, other larger, more functional, more modern buildings or to replace those demolished by the war, took their place one by one. The current casino dates from 1988. Its modern architecture, in concrete, tile facing, aluminum and glass, is clearly affirmed. With its facade directly overlooking the sea as a bonus, visitors can enjoy a wide range of pleasures, including slot machines, gaming tables, a cinema, a bar, a restaurant, concerts and shows.
VILLERS-SUR-MER

Casino Tranchant of Villers-sur-mer

Place Lieutenant Fernand Fanneau
14640 VILLERS-SUR-MER
France
02 31 14 44 88

From the casino to the "Paquebot" in Villerville

On the seawall, facing the sea, this building that Villervillais still call "Le Casino" was built in 1939 in place of the old wooden casino of 1886 which contained a dance hall, theater, reading room, small horses and a café-restaurant. Abandoned or operated as a bar-restaurant since the 1960s, the commune chose to sell it in 2018 and accepted the project of a hotel named "Le Paquebot".

The event that marked the history of the Casino de Villerville?

One day in October 1893, a whale washed up on the beach at Cricqueboeuf, a beach near Villerville. Nicolas-Marie Simon, known as Simon-Max, a singer and tenor in Paris (Opéra-bouffe), who owned the casino at the time, had the imagination to turn the whale's interior into a theater. After selling the oil and the flesh of the whale, the skin made it possible to shelter a small hundred spectators and a stage at the level of the whale's head. This was the highlight of the 1894 season! When the season was over, the whale joined the Casino de Paris for the winter, but it burned down in February 1895 in a fire.

 

Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices :

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Résidence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

TOUQUES TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first-aid post)
14800 Tourgéville
See opening hours

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Se divertir tel un dandy

En France, les casinos sont indissociables des lieux de villégiature. La France ne les autorise officiellement qu’à partir de 1806 et uniquement dans les villes balnéaires ou thermales. Se baigner, c’est bien, mais se baigner puis se distraire, c’est mieux ! On s’y retrouve pour occuper les soirées, se rencontrer, échanger, jouer aux cartes, danser et assister à des spectacles.

Casino Barrière Deauville, l’un de plus beaux d’Europe

Un premier petit casino ouvre en 1864 dès la création de Deauville à une cinquantaine de mètres du casino actuel. Mais avec la chute de l'Empire à la fin du XIXe siècle et la désertion provisoire de Deauville, il est rasé en 1895. C’est Eugène Cornuché, créateur du restaurant parisien Chez Maxim's, et le  maire Désiré Le Hoc qui relancent l’idée d’un nouveau casino. Erigé en 1912, l’actuel casino de Deauville, inspiré du Grand Trianon de Versailles, impose depuis sa grande et élégante façade, qui s’élève sur deux niveaux en béton recouvert d’un enduit et couronné par un étage légèrement en retrait.. Lieu de jeux de tables et de machines à sous, il abrite également un théâtre à l’italienne, un grand salon de style baroque, "Les Ambassadeurs", trois restaurants, un bar de nuit et une discothèque.
 
A l’intérieur du casino, un théâtre à l’italienne, inauguré en 1912 par les Ballets russes, est conçu dès l’origine pour offrir une programmation artistique foisonnante. Inspiré de l’Opéra de Versailles, il a conservé sa composition d’origine avec sa salle ovale, sa voûte sous plafond, son large balcon en fer à cheval bordé par des balustres, ses colonnes en bois couronnées de sculptures corinthiennes et ses murs revêtus de toile de Jouy figurant des scènes champêtres inspirées du XVIIIe siècle.
DEAUVILLE

Casino Barrière Deauville

2 Rue Edmond Blanc
14800 DEAUVILLE
France
02 31 14 31 14
Le petit théâtre à l'italienne du Casino Barrière Deauville

Casino Tranchant de Villers-sur-mer, un édifice sans cesse renouvelé

Neuf casinos se sont succédé à Villers-sur-Mer depuis sa création. Le premier a ouvert en 1856, en bois à proximité de la place Mermoz, pour symboliser la nouvelle station balnéaire à la mode. Avec l’ouverture en 1884 de la voie ferrée Trouville-Cabourg passant par Villers-sur-Mer et l’ascension urbaine galopante de la ville au fil des décennies, d’autres constructions plus grandes, plus fonctionnelles, plus modernes ou pour remplacer celles démolies par la guerre, ont pris place une à une. L’actuel casino date de 1988. Son architecture moderne, en béton, parement de tuile, aluminium et verre, est clairement affirmée. Avec sa façade donnant directement sur la mer en bonus, les visiteurs y multiplient les plaisirs entre machines à sous, tables de jeux, cinéma, bar, restaurant, concerts et spectacles.
VILLERS-SUR-MER

Casino Tranchant de Villers-sur-mer

Place Lieutenant Fernand Fanneau
14640 VILLERS-SUR-MER
France
02 31 14 44 88

Du casino au "Paquebot" à Villerville

Sur la digue, face à la mer, ce bâtiment que les Villervillais appellent toujours "Le Casino" a été construit en 1939 à la place de l’ancien casino en bois de 1886 qui contenait une salle de danse, de théâtre, de lecture, des petits chevaux et un café-restaurant. Délaissé ou exploité comme bar-restaurant depuis les années 1960, la commune choisit de le vendre en 2018 et accepte le projet d’un hôtel trois étoiles, nommé "Le Paquebot", dont l’ouverture est prévue dès juillet 2020. Complètement repensé à l’intérieur, le projet conserve néanmoins son aspect années 1930 avec ses lignes, courbes et hublots .à l’extérieur. Les deux étages, transformés en trois niveaux, accueillent 17 chambres, toutes avec terrasse face à la mer, et le rez-de-chaussée un restaurant, un bar et une terrasse de 130 m2.

L'événement qui marqua l'histoire du Casino de Villerville ?

Un jour d’octobre 1893, une baleine s’échoue sur la plage de Villerville. Nicolas-Marie Simon, dit Simon-Max, chansonnier et ténor à Paris (Opéra-bouffe), alors propriétaire du casino, eut l’imagination de faire de l’intérieur de cette baleine un théâtre. Après avoir vendu l’huile et la chair de la baleine, la peau permis d’abriter une petite centaine de spectateurs et une scène au niveau de la tête de la baleine. Ce fut le clou de la saison 1894 ! La saison terminée, la baleine rejoint le Casino de Paris pour l’hiver, mais il brûla en février 1895 dans un incendie.