French Dutch English German Spanish

SKKI

Artist

Guest of the 2021 L'Appel du Large festival

Born in Poland, SKKI lives and works between Paris and Long Island. Considered one of the forerunners of the New York Graffiti & Post-Graffiti movement in Europe, SKKI made his first appearance on the urban art scene in 1983, thanks to the BBC group he formed with JAY ONE and ASH. Working from a wide range of media that allows him not to adopt a unique style, his aesthetic quickly moved away from the style of New York graffiti and, influenced by a stay in Germany in 1987, he returned to the period. of "Directly Operational Element"upon his return to Paris, with more stretched and dynamic movements. Most of his production reflects an awareness of contradiction. He brings about a dialogue between certain themes: spirituality and capitalism, absurdity and realism, abstraction and storytelling.

SKKI exhibited in a gallery for the first time in 1990 in Berlin where he also painted on the famous wall from 1987 until its fall in 1989. His work today has taken a neo-conceptual direction, and no longer necessarily has aesthetic links with traditional graffiti. He uses video, sculpture, painting, writing (spray paint or in the form of neon lights) or digital printing on gigantic PVC format of photos "sampled" on the web and social networks. SKKI constantly enjoys questioning the multiple contradictions and other scandals that plague our contemporary society.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

As part of the L'Appel du Large festival which will take place from July 2 to 4, 2021, SKKI is exhibiting an installation in a beach cabin. More information on L'Appel du Large here.

French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

SKKI

Artiste

Invité du festival L'Appel du Large 2021

Né en Pologne, SKKI vit et travaille entre Paris et Long Island. Considéré comme l’un des précurseurs du mouvement Graffiti New Yorkais & Post-Graffiti en Europe, SKKI fait sa première apparition sur la scène artistique urbaine en 1983, grâce au groupe BBC qu’il forme avec JAY ONE et ASH. Travaillant à partir d’une large gamme de médias qui lui permet de ne pas adopter un style unique, son esthétique s’éloigne rapidement du style du graffiti New-Yorkais et, influencé par un séjour en Allemagne en 1987, il rentre dans la période des "Directly Operational Element" dès son retour à Paris, avec des mouvements plus étirés et dynamiques. La plupart de sa production reflète une prise de conscience de la contradiction. Il fait dialoguer certains thèmes : la spiritualité et le capitalisme, l’absurdité et le réalisme, l’abstraction et la narration.

SKKI expose en galerie pour la première fois en 1990 à Berlin où il peint aussi sur le fameux mur de 1987 jusqu’à sa chute en 1989. Son travail aujourd’hui a pris une direction néo-conceptuell,e n’ayant plus nécessairement de liens esthétiques avec le graffiti traditionnel. Il utilise la vidéo, la sculpture, la peinture, l’écriture (à la bombe de peinture ou sous forme de néons) ou l’impression digitale sur format PVC gigantesque de photos "samplées" sur le web et les réseaux sociaux. SKKI s’amuse en permanence à questionner les multiples contradictions et autres scandales qui taraudent notre société contemporaine.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dans le cadre du festival L’Appel du Large qui aura lieu du 2 au 4 juillet 2021, SKKI expose une installation dans une cabine de plage. Plus d'informations sur L'Appel du Large ici.