French Dutch English German Spanish

Menu

Klavdij Sluban

Deauville between the pages - IN 2019

© Klavdij Sluban for Board (s) Contact 2019
© Klavdij Sluban for Board (s) Contact 2019
© Klavdij Sluban for Board (s) Contact 2019

Guest photographer from Planches Contact

Born on March 3, 1963 in Paris, Klavdij Sluban spent his childhood in Livold (Slovenia). He became passionate about photography from adolescence. In 1986, he obtained a master's degree in Anglo-American literature, did a black and white printing course in Georges Fèvre's studio, then traveled. In 1992, he returned to France and devoted himself to photography.
Klavdij Sluban travels successively in the Balkans, around the Black Sea, in the former Soviet Union, around the Baltic Sea, in the Caribbean islands, in Jerusalem, in Latin America and in Asia-China (by the trans-Siberian train ), Japan, Indonesia-Jawa, Bali, Sulawesi.
From 1995 to 2005, he led a reporting workshop with adolescents at the Center for Young Prisoners in Fleury-Mérogis (Essonne). Henri Cartier-Bresson came regularly to encourage them, as well as other photographers such as Marc Riboud and William Klein.
Since 1998, continuing this project, he has worked in a similar way with young detainees from detention centers in the former Soviet Union. In 2000, he created a photographic workshop in Celje (Slovenia) in the only prison for young prisoners in the country as well as in Krusevac and Valjevo (Serbia).
The Bar du Soleil, the casino, the racetrack, the beaches, the cabins, the boards ... are the places that built the novel by Deauville. Klavdij Sluban goes through them in images guided by the writings at Deauville of Georges Simenon, Guillaume Apollinaire, Joseph Kessel, Colette or Sacha Guitry. Each photo is thus accompanied by a quote creating an association more than an illustration with the places and the atmosphere of Deauville.
Outdoor exhibition, Avenue Lucien Barrière.
Free access from October 19 to January 5.

My travel book

Menu

Klavdij Sluban

Deauville entre les pages - IN 2019

© Klavdij Sluban pour Planche(s) Contact 2019
© Klavdij Sluban pour Planche(s) Contact 2019
© Klavdij Sluban pour Planche(s) Contact 2019

Photographe invité de Planches Contact

Né le 3 mars 1963 à Paris, Klavdij Sluban passe son enfance à Livold (Slovénie). Il se passionne pour la photographie dès l’adolescence. En 1986, il obtient une maîtrise de littérature anglo-américaine, effectue un stage de tirage noir et blanc dans l’atelier de Georges Fèvre, puis voyage. En 1992, il revient en France et se consacre à la photographie.
Klavdij Sluban voyage successivement dans les Balkans, autour de la mer Noire, en ex-Union- Soviétique, autour de la mer Baltique, dans les îles de la Caraïbe, à Jérusalem, en Amérique latine et en Asie-Chine (par le train transsibérien), Japon, Indonésie-Jawa, Bali, Sulawesi.
De 1995 à 2005, il anime un atelier de reportage avec les adolescents au Centre des Jeunes Détenus de Fleury-Mérogis (Essonne). Henri Cartier-Bresson est venu régulièrement les encourager, ainsi que d’autres photographes tels que Marc Riboud et William Klein.
Depuis 1998, poursuivant ce projet, il travaille de manière similaire avec des jeunes détenus de centres de détention en ex-Union Soviétique. En 2000, il créé un atelier photographique à Celje (Slovénie) dans l’unique prison pour jeunes détenus du pays ainsi qu’à Krusevac et Valjevo (Serbie).
 
Le Bar du Soleil, le casino, l’hippodrome, les plages, les cabines, les planches...sont les lieux qui ont construit le roman de Deauville. Klavdij Sluban les parcoure en images guidé par les écrits à Deauville de Georges Simenon, Guillaume Apollinaire, Joseph Kessel, Colette ou encore Sacha Guitry. Chaque photo est ainsi accompagnée d’une citation créant une association plus qu’une illustration avec les lieux et l’atmosphère de Deauville.
 
Exposition en plein air, Avenue Lucien Barrière.
Accès libre du 19 octobre au 5 janvier.